1988 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1988 Volvo 740 Turbo intercooler 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97354 kilometres
Most recent distance417621 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Roaring viking

Faults:

Some Electric problems.

ABS sensor fault.

Headliner quality is very poor.

General turbo verification, engine cleaning, water pump replacement.

General Comments:

I still had to give good grades regarding overall reliability marks because of the longevity the car has now shown.

Still no rust, 15 years and 400,000Km driven on snow..

Some find it very hard to drive in the winter because it's a rear wheel drive, but when you get used to it, the car will provide enough cornering stability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

1988 Volvo 740 GLT turbo from Sweden

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

The ultimate car

Faults:

The transmission cable busted at 150 000 kilometres.

General Comments:

Well what do I have to say, I'm Swedish, the car is Swedish. We simply complete each other.

At first the car was slow, but I purchased a modification chip for +50HP, and now it runs like an Indy Car. Top speed is 240 KM/H.

The seats are comfortable, and when I drive, it feels like I'm in total control.

I have also totally changed the front; new seats, side-lists and more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1988 Volvo 740 GLE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired253000 miles
Most recent distance285000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

The only car that belongs on road!

Faults:

Blew the Sunroof Motor

Loose ignition switch (need to toggle a bit)

Headliner falling down in back

Battery (replaced twice)

General Comments:

This car is absolutely amazing! I commute it 90 miles a day, and have since the day I paid under $2000.00 for it! She is dream! A bit of electrical whatnot going on, and the alternator is now going out, pure maintenance on this superior quality machine!

Brakes are amazing, "stops on a dime" saved my children and myself from 60 miles an hour to zero, within 20 seconds (and saved the Elk's life that was crossing the road). Absolutely the BEST car on the market!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1988 Volvo 740 GLE from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

A long lasting stallion

Faults:

The air conditioner went out.

The radiator went out.

The belts had to be replaced.

The fuel injectors had to be cleaned.

The sun roof leaks.

The lining breaks loose.

The head lining falls down.

The leather seats crack.

The automatic antenna broke.

The shocks in the trunk broke.

General Comments:

Even though this car has it's minor problems that can easily and cheaply be fixed, it is the best car I have ever owned. It drives very comfortably, and after 56,000 miles it stills runs like a new car. I love my Volvo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

15th Jun 2005, 11:58

Your car hasn't even hit puberty yet 56000 is nothing wate till it gets into the 400,000's course it will run like new.

1988 Volvo 740 Ti 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A high-maintenance money pit

Faults:

Mysterious oil leak which no one could identify, and was so incredibly severe I had to sell the car because the cost of oil was too high.

Leaked coolant.

Head warped for no reason (didn't overheat) at 155K miles.

Turbocharger failed at 145K miles.

Many, many electrical problems.

Transmission designed very poorly, none of the gears are wide enough.

Headliner made of very poor quality material.

Engine bay heat so hot from poor turbo placement and crude engine design, a radiator hose almost melted.

Horrible, noisy, dirty, crude engine - the 2.3L inline four. Truly awful.

Handled so poorly in the rain and snow, I did double-takes. And this car is from SWEDEN?

General Comments:

The turbo 2.3L four was fast as lightning - 0-60 in about 6.5 seconds or so if timed perfectly.

Handled great in dry weather.

Leather seats very comfortable.

Nice, boxy style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

17th May 2002, 08:36

Well, the 740 is infamous in Sweden for its poor road handling in the winter. Some people call it "ice-princess"!

6th Sep 2002, 20:48

I concur, unfortunately.

My 1988 Volvo Turbo wagon has by far, been the least reliable car I've ever owned. It's also been the most expensive to maintain, far surpassing a Porsche 944 and a BMW 525iT.

I think "Volvo" is Swedish for "junk."

5th Aug 2003, 13:58

With regard to this gentleman's comments; unfortunately you can buy a bad Volvo used. Volvo's are excellent cars, but like any other car, when you buy them used with high mileage, you run the risk that the previous owner did not take care of the vehicle. Never buy a used car without the service records. I made this mistake once.

13th Mar 2006, 21:33

My 740 TI has been reliable, if a little expensive to maintain. Having said that, I've had no regrets. Sure, she suffers from the dreaded sagging roofliner, leaking sunroof, and a few other typical issues, but it has also performed very well. I've driven her for 11 winters in Ottawa, and have never lost any control in snowy or icy conditions. Snow tires are a must (as they should be with all cars in Ottawa...) and there is real benefit to adding weight to the trunk (I keep about 25kg of cat litter for weight and potential traction aid) and keeping a full tank of gas. Jut common sense, really...

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 47 reviews