2001 Volvo S40 Reviews - Page 3 of 9

2001 Volvo S40 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Too bad for Volvo, they should recall

Faults:

The check engine light on my 2001 Volvo S40 keeps coming back on. It came on shortly after I bought the car.

I have replaced: timing belt, O2 sensors front and rear, fuel??? Something sensor.

My Volvo dealer diagnosed these repairs 4 months ago, and had the car for 1 week after all items were repaired, they repaired the last one.

Check engine light is still on and now they want to replace the catalytic converter for $1300. I put a new gas cap on and the light went off... for awhile.

By the way, while the car was at the dealer it was wrecked, and the dealer will not take responsibility and told me to call my insurance company.

Still dealing with the check engine light, and I believe it has something to do with the sensor in the gas tank. Probably will become a Volvo recall. My car passed inspection and all emissions so this is a Volvo issue, not an emissions issue IMO.

General Comments:

The car drive great and gets really good fuel mileage.

There are no drink holders; the one that is in it is located in an unusable place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2008

2001 Volvo S40 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Very poor

Faults:

Brakes and rotors replaced at a cost of $989.00. Was told that rotors will have to be replaced on every occaision of pad replacement. Sun roof will not seal properly (constant wind noise.) Cost to replace $850.00. Fabric of interior stains immediately (from water!) Have had it detailed and stain protectant applied - made no difference. Cup holder (most convoluted design I've ever seen) fell apart almost immediately after purchase. Lights (of all nature) are constantly burning out. In short, this automobile is one of the biggest mistakes I've ever made. My suggestion to any prospective Volvo buyer is... don't!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

2001 Volvo S40 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Vert reliable

Faults:

Climate control had to be replaced, but other than than this car has been very reliable. It is a t

General Comments:

This car is very reliable, fuel economical, and pretty peppy for the small engine it has. The Turbo kicks in when needed, and the hadling is very good for a 4 door sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

2001 Volvo S40 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The 2001 Volvo S40 has endless mechanical problems, and it's an unreliable car

Faults:

Countless repairs in last two years (2006-07), including: Thermostat replacement, head gasket, front brakes, rear brakes & rotors, air conditioner & heater, and now possible suspension problems.

Local Volvo service dealership has a hit-or-miss approach. It took them more than a year to figure out why the heater was blowing during the summer months and cold air conditioner in the winter months.

General Comments:

This is my first Volvo and the first car I've ever owned that's a true lemon! Although extended warranty has covered some of the repair expenses, it hasn't for others. My out-of-pocket expenses have been more than $2,000 and continues to climb!

The Volvo dealer service is mediocre. They sometimes haven't completed the car repair work in a day as promised (the car has been in the shop up to three days).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2007

26th Sep 2008, 13:35

I just returned from the Volvo dealership. The service rep came to me with the estimate - he said: My best advice to you is 'STOP!'. Don't put another dime into this car. Put a sign on it that says 'For Sale - Cheap'. If someone offers you $200 for it on your way home, call a cab.

It needs so many thousands of dollars worth of repairs that it's only suitable, in his opinion, to be sold for parts. (The exterior is perfect, not even a ding.)

My next car will be a Toyota.

20th Jan 2009, 03:53

I have also seen that hot air blows during summer! What is the reason? This was a S40 2001.

2nd Aug 2009, 22:25

To those with multiple / repeat failures:

Blame your dealer, find a new one!

As for hot air blowing in the summer, cold in the winter... well... that depends:

A) A/C temp switch works in reverse

---- if what is ACTUALLY happening is that you are getting

---- cold air when the heater is on, and hot when off...

---- then you have a motor operating in reverse. Probably

---- reversed wiring (DC electricity is funny like that).

B) Problem occurs when A/C is OFF or ON

---- You have a vent stuck open, pretty simple. Outside

---- air is getting in. It is also entirely possible that

---- the aforementioned motor is not a motor on the S40...

My experience rests with the 240 & 850s. I'm planning on buying a 2001 or newer S40, or maybe an S60 soon, though.

--The loon.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews