2001 Volvo S40 Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2001 Volvo S40 SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance31875 miles
Previous carVolvo C70

Summary:

Not my first Volvo, but possibly my last

Faults:

Moon roof leak.

Front passenger headlight not sealed - retained water.

Fuel pump replaced at 12,000 miles.

General Comments:

My Senior Year in High School my 1997 Honda Accord was struck in the parking lot broadside and I began driving My Mothers 1998 Volvo S70, I drove this car until I left for college nearly a year later, the only problem we ever had was a heating issue that was repaired in a day. After my graduation we traded it on a 2000 C70 Lease that had no issues. Finally I decided that I needed a four door and with the Lease coming up I thought I'd trade for a little Volvo.

The S40 is comfortable for my six-foot frame with the exception of when I have a passenger behind me. Then the Volvo feels more like a Mini Cooper. I drove it happily for just over four months when I stalled on the weekend commute from my school to my home that averages 150 miles either way. A call to AAA and a trip back to the Dealer later I was driving off in a loaner with promises to have everything repaired by the next day.

Two months later I got out of class in the rain, and ran to the car only to find that it was just as wet, the moon roof apparently decided that it had a three inch area that wasn't going to seal any longer. Took into the Dealer - two days this time, in which the interior was detailed as well as the moon roof repaired. Driving home I opened the moon roof cover to find several little hairline cracks around the front edge of the glass panel. I returned to the Dealer and argued with the service department about the issue and finally had to call Volvo to have the panel repaired. About two weeks later I was pulled over and given a ticket for a burned out headlamp. Upon inspection the front passenger headlamp seal was no longer holding and the moisture caused the lamp to short out. The new housing was paid for out of pocket, I've stopped going to the original dealer for service and have since had no trouble out of the car.

Beware your dealership they may not like warranty work.

This is the first car I've bought on my own and may well be the last Volvo I own, although The XC90 looks inciting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

10th Feb 2004, 12:29

The S40/V40 can be a bit of a bad advertisement for Volvo. I've found that the Volvo S40/V40's build quality isn't quite up to the standard of the larger Volvos.

Having driven (long-term) both an S40 and a V70, the V70 has much better build quality. This seems to be mirrored in the other large Volvos as well.

2001 Volvo S40 SE 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

Excellent performer, great on gas, A+

Faults:

Brakes were replaced, very inexpensive, and easy to do yourself, rotor replacement is not required unless you allow pads to grind metal. Factory Continentals are very expensive also.

General Comments:

This car is a great overall car, great for families, great for single people, great for anyone, good on gas, cheap for insurance. like I said, I am very glad I purchased this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2003

2001 Volvo S40 T 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo Toyota 4-Runner

Summary:

Pocket Rocket

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Very responsive, quick and nimble handling. It handles very well in both city and highway driving. Lots of guts for a 4 cylinder. I am impressed with the performance and responsiveness of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

2001 Volvo S40 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I will never buy another Volvo

Faults:

The cruise control fails during long trips. Dealer unable to detect any problems.

Air conditioning cuts out periodically. Dealer unable to detect any problems.

Oil Leak at 20000 miles.

Headlight failure at 23000 miles.

Windshield sprayer on the hood keeps coming off. Dealer unable to fix this problem.

Brake light problems requiring additional fluid after recent full service. The dealer apparently failed to top of fluid required under full service option.

General Comments:

Car is sluggish from zero to twenty miles per hour.

Very poor customer support.

Quality problems throughout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2002

28th Jan 2004, 09:17

I am having the same exact problems with my S40. I have visited the dealer at least a half a dozen times now, and I still am having the same problems.

18th Dec 2004, 15:57

I just signed an agreement to trade-in my Volvo S40 (2001). I am SO happy! I had the following problems.

1. All lights had to be replaced.

2. The locks started opening and closing by themselves.

3. The trunk started locking and unlocking on its own during car trips.

4. The CV Boot problem mentioned in earlier listings started. I knew this was the beginning of the end for me.

5. The trunk stuck.

6. The window stuck.

7. The gas cover stuck.

8. The door stuck.

9. I gave up.

10. After a while I knew all the service people by name, and several of the other customers. They were there so often. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER VOLVO! NEVER!

19th Dec 2007, 13:05

I have had some of the same troubles, plus others from other comment listings.

* The Cruise control quits usually within the first hour - no diagnosis.

* The radio is almost always whacked out - random digits on the display, difficulty tuning the station, the CD player turns itself off and then back on, with the volume reset to 0. - no diagnosis

* For a while, my high beam headlamps wouldn't turn on, but they work again. That's a good thing, b/c the alignment has been progressively slipping until the car now has cross-eyed headlights. - I haven't taken it in for this.

* The air system is a bit unreliable as well; the blower frequently pulses and the AC sometimes turns itself off. - no diagnosis

* When I turn the four-way flashers on, I have to press the button several times to turn them back off - and even then sometimes they'll switch themselves back on a few seconds later. - no diagnosis

* The car has randomly stalled out at intersections 3 or 4 times in the past 2 years. Now, on cold mornings, I have to give it some gas to start it and then hold the gas to keep the RPM's around 1500 for about a minute to keep it from stalling out. - no diagnosis, the mechanic keeps saying it doesn't give them any trouble, so they can't figure out what's wrong!

I have been to three different mechanics and have no answers for any of this!

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews