2001 Volvo S40 Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2001 Volvo S40 1.9 T from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 T Automatic
Previous carEagle Summit

Summary:

Less than what was expected

Faults:

I have had to replace the headlights twice in less than 2 years. The check engine light comes on constantly. If I leave the car on too long, without out driving it then the car will start shaking. If feels like for lack of better terminology, the car has gas, and then it will turn off. Recently the arrow light that comes on when you use the low gear is flashing and the check engine light is on, AGAIN. Which makes no sense to me. Unless the car is stuck in a lower gear (it does seem to be hesitating, which I never us. By the way the car is an automatic. I honestly couldn't tell you the number of time the check engine light has come on in the last year and a half or so. Bought the car in May of 2003, it's a 2001 S40.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

4th Feb 2005, 23:33

The check engine light problem was the subject of a recall notice, at least with my 2000 S40 model. Until the recall fix, the dealership kept making minor adjustments that did no good.

Good luck.

24th Oct 2010, 03:53

I also have a S40 2001 1.8A, and it gives no problems for so many years. Once the check engine light was on, then I removed the bulb and no warning, but runs without a fail.

2001 Volvo S40 Sport Car 1.8 i from Spain

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 i Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Poor post sale service

Faults:

Relent malfunction.

General Comments:

After a very happy experience the surprise has arrived. The car at ralent varies from 500rpm to 1500rpm without any reason.

I've been to the dealer's garage several times without success, the car still behaves strange. The last comment from the garage was that it was difficult to set the proper relent as the air filter was cleaned. In addition, they say it is very difficult to access the setting point in these Mitsubishi origin engines. Unbelievable!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

2001 Volvo S40 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

My S-40 is a true lemon

Faults:

Car stalls frequently near idle while in drive position.

Check engine light and other informational lights on frequently.

Cruise control replaced.

Radio replaced.

Brakes replaced prematurely.

General Comments:

Numerous fixes have been attempted for the stalling problem, however it has not been corrected.

The overall computer-electrical system seems confused. Incorrect engine lights illuminate. On a summer day while the "arrow" light illuminated, the outside temperature monitor said it was -44 degrees.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

23rd Jul 2009, 10:21

That "arrow" light means overdrive is on. Volvo's are notorious for having problems with the overdrive relays.

24th Jul 2009, 04:02

The arrow light also indicates that a low gear hold has been selected (knocked into 3rd gear hold instead of Drive for example) - so you will probably find that was driver error rather than car error!!! Also, the temperature thing is probably just a dodgy sensor located behind the front bumper. I've never heard of overdrive problems on the S/V40 range - especially as I didn't think they had overdrive!

2001 Volvo S40 1.9Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9Turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance13880 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Comfortable, smooth riding car

Faults:

Gas Mileage lower then anticipated.

Required rear brake at 13800 miles.

General Comments:

Beautiful looking car, fell in love with it on dealer's floor and brought immediately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

2001 Volvo S40 2.0T from Turkey

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

We expect better car from Volvo

Faults:

Spare parts are very expensive: RH headlight wiper engine is 300Euros. Automatic transmission fluid is 17 Euros per liter. Also interior plastic mechanisms are not working well. Performance is reduced after 50000 Km because of defective turbo compressor. All bearings are working noisily. We paid 70000 Euros for this car, but we could not find what we expected.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is around 10 Lt/100km. It is good for 170hp engine.

Performance is acceptable. Steering is good except during acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

2001 Volvo S40 1.9L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A car you love to hate

Faults:

The turbo line and gasket needed to be replaced due to excessive leakage of oil.

Brakes needed to be replaced after only 20,000 miles of driving. Approximately 50% highway, 50% city driving.

Window regulators were replaced on both the driver and passenger sides.

New steering rack installed due to excessive noise.

The paint on all top panels has severe oxidation. My car color is red.

General Comments:

The paint on my Volvo S40 has been an extreme disappointment.

The regional representative for Volvo North America would not even look at the car saying only it is not covered by warranty.

I am looking to sell/trade this car in the near future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

8th Dec 2003, 13:09

In response to the Volvo S40 comments - I don't think any of them are low enough to describe how I feel about mine.

I now its all safety and keep to the speed limits - but the Volvo S40 I have is a disgrace to the world of cars because it never has the chance to perform. I know it has great potential and can hit 140 mph +, but it will never do it because it's against the law.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews