2001 Volvo S40 1.9 turbo from North America


I love it


I bought an S40 with 155,000 miles on it, and it runs great. I have had absolutely no issues.

The paint is great, along with the gas mileage. My previous car was a 2001 Audi A6 2.7t, and the torque converter went out, along with a bunch of other problems.

I would definitely purchase another Volvo, and would recommend it to people.

General Comments:

Handles great, and is very quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2010

2001 Volvo S40 1.8 from Turkey


Cheap but respectful


Front axle revision. There was shaking when accelerating. One of the front axles was loose. Repaired.

Steering power was noisy, repaired.

Cooling fan was not working properly. Actually there is 2 steps for working. First one is for normal heating, second for over heating. In my car the first was not working.

Steering wheel leather is badly worn, I will change it.

Front light wiper engine (left) is not working. It costs like 200 euros here. So I just unplugged it.

Interior door coatings are not stable, I glued them back.

Looks like my car did not receive much attention from the previous owner. Up to now I spent 1/4 more money than the price I bought it for. I am feeling everything is okay now, we will see...

General Comments:

Looks nice, cheap buying price, good reputation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2010

2001 Volvo S40 from North America


The car is okay, but the fuel problem is quite serious


Car stalling hard when accelerating or when giving it gas.

Headlight electrical problems.

Bad paint job (white).

General Comments:

But, so far the car is still running and hasn't died yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2010

2001 Volvo S40 1.9 t from North America


MY car is a LEMON!!


A lot of things have gone wrong. One sensor after the next with these cars. And even the sensors that get fixed, may go out again a year later with no help from the dealership.

The car vibrates at low speeds and will drive you insane.

Honestly, my dash looks like a Christmas tree with all the lights illuminated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2010

2001 Volvo S40 Base 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


Good prospect for second-hand buyers


Suspension degraded severely after 70000 miles.

Dirty crankshaft sensor after ~57500 mile. Required roadside assistance, corrected without replacement parts.

Alternator failed at 80000 miles.

General Comments:

Solid, stable motorway cruiser. Good ergonomics and comfortable seats make it an easy car to drive for long distances.

Prone to body roll in corners, increasingly so as the car ages (see note about suspension above).

Can't fault the car for reliability.

Trim is generally rock solid with a satisfying absence of creaks. (Varies with temperature - in real cold the trim contracts!)

Interior trim and other cosmetic details such as clear headlights on the 2000 - 2004 models look much more modern than the earlier models to my eye.

No rusting evident anywhere on the car.

'Peacock green' paint scheme still looks excellent, despite a cavalier attitude to car care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2010

2001 Volvo S40 1.8 from North America


It continues to run, but far more trouble than what it's worth


I bought my 2001 S40 brand new, thinking I wouldn't have to buy another car for decades, as long as I took care of it.

Having said that, I took my car in to the Volvo dealership every time the check engine and brake light came on, oil changes, tire rotation, replacing the tires. You name it, I have taken my car into the Volvo dealership.

Every time I took the car in, I could pretty much planned to spend at least $300. If I took it in for an oil change, they found something else that needed to be adjusted. If I took it in because of the serivce light, I was told I needed a diagnostic test to determine the problem, for a small fee of $150 of course.

I've pretty much replaced the brakes every year since I've had the care.

I've replaced the gasket twice!!!

I have to replace the headlights just about every fall.

The cupholder broke the first year I bought it.

Yesterday was the first day of fall, and the temperature was drastically low. In perfect, S40 2001 Volvo fashion, the car is now smoking whenever I pump the brakes or accelerate.

I will be getting rid of this car as soon as possible!

General Comments:

I will never buy another Volvo. Before I bought this car, I had a Toyota Celica for 10 years. I replaced the brakes once!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2009

24th Dec 2014, 17:15

RE: Even when getting an oil change, the dealer always finding stuff that needs adjusting and such, so the bill is always at least $300...

You're a victim of dealer service ARO quotas and a certain business model.

Dealer service managers are graded/fired on whether or not their average repair order is over a certain amount, $350 was what I read in a trade publication once.

When waiting at a small local oil change place, I was enlightened by accident; I saw a magazine dedicated to dealer service personnel; it went on and on about the importance of the ARO, and how it must be kept about about $350 or your dealership is in big financial trouble...

My old Volvo was great, but a nightmare to take it to the dealer... I had an independent mechanic who knew Volvos... once he retired, I knew I would have to sell my Volvo, or be at the mercy of the dealer/stealer's business model.

27th Dec 2014, 22:01

My mom had always driven Lincon Town Cars until 2003. She then decided to try a Volvo S60. It was a horrible disappointment. Mediocre looks (people mistook it for a Honda Accord), poor performance and not as comfortable as our Ford Fusion. She only kept it a couple of years and went back to Lincoln. We've never figured our why Volvo is considered an upscale brand. It had nothing a Ford or Chevy doesn't have, and cost twice as much to service.

30th Dec 2014, 18:26

I am a Volvo driver who was once a Ford driver and has never looked back. The strange thing is that Lincolns are so good they don't even sell them over here in the UK! Can't be that good if only the American market really buy them?

Anyway, pretty much every independent dealer over here can fix Volvo's fine. They aren't that complicated and mine have never gone wrong too often - by the way, all mine have over 150k miles on them and I can't rate them high enough for value for money when you consider the package of practicality/safety/comfort/build quality/style etc.

My current S60 is great in many ways - it's not huge great barge like a Lincoln, and that's what the chap misses when he slates Volvo without knowing the facts. The Lincoln is designed for wafting all over the place, but the Volvo can actually go around a bend, and you leave it with a smile on your face!