1999 Volvo S70 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1999 Volvo S70 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Awesome trouble free delight!

Faults:

I have had absolutely no problems or malfunctions with this car in over 22,000 miles of driving. Flawless.

General Comments:

Fantastic car! Loads of character compared to my Lexus ES300. The comfort of the seats are second to none. The base engine with the new electronic controlled transmission provides quick pick up and quiet operation. What really makes this car is the safety features and ratings. The car is loaded with airbags and other safety items that make driving in this ever increasing nightmare of day to day driving much more comforting. I have not had one single problem with my S70 and with regular dealer maintenence believe it will last for 20 years of driving enjoyment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2001

23rd Jan 2005, 11:07

The S70 T5 250BHP Auto must be driven with respect, it's The Turbo charged engine is ideal for pulling 4 birth caravan with Tons of power in reserve.

On the motorways it powers you out of trouble with the rapid but smooth Turbo, hauling you and caravan easily over 60mph to over take those slow moving vehicles.

With out the Caravan the power is awesome "on tap" you are the king of Speed if you dare hold you foot down 100mph plus is Seconds away!

However ice conditions can fool you, the traction control will give you instant grip and you quickly run over 30mph.

The anti-lock brakes then work over time stopping this 0ne and a Half ton machine, you can easliy run over your stopping distance!

14th Jul 2008, 00:26

S70s are truly, and simply one of the best vehicles on the road. My 99 has 296k on the original trans, and engine. I have had no major problems with this vehicle, it runs like new. Should be good for another 50k.

Only regular scheduled maintenance seems to keep it running like a champ.

I give credit to Volvo with their achievement of creating such a wonderful car. I truly am impressed. For anyone out there looking to buy an S70, if it's been well maintained and is in good shape, get it! It won't let you down.

14th Jul 2008, 10:30

Ditto, mine has 'only' 140K and runs like new. Can't fault it an any way! Superb machine.

1999 Volvo S70 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

An electrical nightmare

Faults:

Anything and everything electrical. Have burned out 6 bulbs (both headlights, 2 turn signals, and 2 brake lights) in less than a year.

Rear passenger side window no longer works.

Driver's power seat does not move forward unless moved back first.

Seal around the windshield had to be replaced (air leak).

General Comments:

I love the powertrain, the ride, and the comfort, but the general lack of attention to electrical items makes me question the reliability of the ABS and airbags, should I ever need them to activate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

25th Mar 2001, 12:54

1999 S70: Have replaced many headlight bulbs and turn signal flashers. Can't be normal, even with daytime running lights.

This is my third Volvo. Still pleased with all three.

3rd Aug 2001, 19:42

The 2000 models had three recalls to fix these problems. Did the 1999?

30th Oct 2001, 22:28

Idles rough and the automatic transmission shifts up and down rough. Sold the car because of this.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 20 reviews