1st Mar 2010, 15:27

I have a 2002 MDX and 1999 TL. Both had transmission problems. Both were fixed under the Acura recall. The MDX tranny collapsed again after their fix. This time my extended warranty paid for the rebuilt tranny.

Right now I have an oil leak on the MDX. I have had leaks last year and had them fixed. Now I believe it is the main seal.

I have owned and driven a Toyota, Mazda 626 and 323, Nissan Pathfinder and now Acura's. I have never experienced oil leaks before. My Pathfinder was sold with 151,000 miles. I am extremely disappointed at Acura's quality. I will definitely be visiting showrooms other than Toyota and Honda next time, and I will urge all my relatives to do the same.

2nd Mar 2010, 20:20

"Car is 8 years old. Why not sell in 3 years and buy a new GM as we did."

I wonder if your GM is capable of turning? GM has recalled 1.3 million vehicles due to power steering failures. That's not what I would call "quality". A 100,000 mile warranty doesn't really help if you smash into a tree because you lose power steering.

3rd Mar 2010, 09:50

15:18 I agree go for a 100,000 mile standard warranty, which you may achieve as you drive a lot. That's why I switched to GM. If you want a Hyundai or others offering a 100,000 mile standard warranty, same scenario.

3rd Mar 2010, 15:14

I never said go for a 100,000 mile standard warranty. I said that I didn't really care how long my warranty was, because I drive so much that I just blow right through it. Warranties are nice to have if you drive the national average. I clearly don't, and the warranty a car comes standard with has never been the reason why I bought that car or not. I've never once needed the warranty on any of my cars either.

As for my older Honda's, they went about 5 times the 36,000 mile warranty (about 200,000 miles) before needing anything outside of basic maintenance. My older domestics (domestics used to have the same 3 year, 36,000 mile warranty as everyone else) usually would last just past the warranty before requiring both minor and major repairs.

3rd Mar 2010, 15:48

My first Honda trans went at 28,000 miles, so mileage as far as post 2000 models is a real factor in our household. I want a standard 100,000 mile warranty, not a flimsy warranty. I saw a lot of issues on ours. 70-90's were very good. I have no idea what happened, maybe we got some bad ones. You buy again and then even again based on history, but I am over that anymore. I saw quality drop for us. I had a new Legend no issues til 100000 miles and then felt the TL model would be outstanding as well. Maybe glance at a few reviews on here if you doubt us.

3rd Mar 2010, 22:44

The key words were old Hondas. Mine was crap at 28000 miles. No way I am going to keep 200000 miles and fill my carfax report with issue after issue. I liked the old Hondas much better as well, but not the new ones.

4th Mar 2010, 16:24

I don't doubt you. But since I never had a single issue with any of my Honda's, I wouldn't think twice about buying another. I took care of my Honda's however. I can't see how anything would fail in 28,000 miles unless it wasn't cared for.

I'm done with this argument, because I don't own a Honda as of right now. As I have already stated I own a Hyundai Elantra. I would've loved to buy another Honda, but the model I was interested in, the Civic, was redesigned and I don't particularly like the new style.

5th Mar 2010, 07:00

My Honda (Acura TL Type S) was always dealer maintained, senior driven sensibly, and garage kept, never neglected, and mint in and out appearance wise. Oil and filter every 3000 miles, and the dealer car wash no less as part of the service charge...

The transmissions are a serious concern; if you look up on Car Survey, we were certainly not alone.

I praised the new Legend and earlier Hondas we had as well... the basis on recommending is sticking to the model years you have first hand knowledge about. If you have not owned any Hondas since 2000, a whole decade has since transpired.

I can only speak on ones we owned as well, but we are not buying them now in 2010. I could praise the Legend was the best and all Hondas are perfect, but we bought ones after that point. If you follow where I am coming from.

8th May 2010, 15:37

Original owner of 2002 Acura MDX Touring without Navi and paid over $40K. Check engine lamp came on while driving on the freeway yesterday afternoon of 5/7/2009. Prior to this, I have been noticing the transmission lock up and noise when driving at slow speed of 10-35 miles/hour, especially when going up the hill.

Took it to the dealer today, and the service manager said its transmission needs to be replaced and the transmission recall was done in 2004. It currently only has 69,800 miles, which is very low. He said since I haven't gotten the 60,000 miles major service, I need to prove that I have had this major service prior to the 60,000 miles, otherwise, Acura may not pay the full or part of the transmission service. I am going to call Acura Client Service at 1-800-382-2238 myself to find out what they have to say. This is very upsetting and needless to say very disappointed at Honda/Acura quality. This is especially so because I previously purchase/owned their brand new 1994 Integra before, and that consequently lead to my decision on the 2002 MDX.

16th Jun 2010, 11:30


I purchased the 02 MDX touring in 2006 with 48K miles. I currently have 131,500 and have been hearing the tire tread noise, and some jerking during acceleration. I haven't changed the trans fluid and have just read the history of this recall. My question is has anyone has success with the transmission fluid changes?

29th Jun 2010, 13:38

Prior to the expiration of my manufacturer warranty, I reported a problem to my local dealer. Upon acceleration, between 35 and 40 mph, there was a noticeable vibration or grinding noise that would occur for 5 to 10 seconds. The dealership said they could not reproduce the problem.

The problem continued until I took the vehicle in for service in June 2010 and reported the same problem. This time I presented the dealership with over 100 reports of the same problem occurring in 2004, 2005, 2006 Acura MDX's and Honda Pilots (same transmission). In all cases, it was determined that the transmission torque converter needed to be replaced. Out of 29 complaints filed with the NHTSA for the 2005 Acura MDX, 14 complaints involved transmissions and 11 involved the 35 to 40 mph vibration/shudder problem resulting in torque converter replacement. Additionally, there was an NHTSA service bulletin #6003 issued in August 2007 (#10022468) stating "torque converter shudder or vibration between 35 - 40 mph" for the 2004 Acura MDX.

It is apparent that this is a wide spread problem that crosses several years and both the Acura MDX and Honda Pilot. I do not understand why there has not been a recall or a class action suit to force a recall???