1998 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 13 of 13

1998 Audi A4 TS 1.8 turbo from Sweden

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance49000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A4

Faults:

Water pump defective twice.

Water hose leakage.

Defective horn.

Condensation in the turn signal unit.

General Comments:

Even after replacing brake pads and fitting an underbody spoiler, to channel water away from the brakes, the brakes still lose their grip in certain winter conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

1998 Audi A4 2.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good riddance its almost gone

Faults:

Transmission, seals, every electrical item you can name.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of crap. I had to get it towed in my first month of ownership. My BMW never gave me this kind of trouble. I was warned that Audi and VW are electrical system nightmares and this just proves this. Terrible car.

The Quattro feature is nice but now BMW has an Xi 3 Series that's where I am going once this Audi garbage goes into the scrap heap. My 993 Porsche never gave me these problems either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

21st May 2001, 15:30

Give me a break. You obviously got a lemon. The majority of A4's have had great reliability. There is no need to bad mouth this car the way you have.

11th Jul 2002, 23:41

If his car is a lemon then he has every right to say all the bad things about it. He has probably paid nigh on £20000 for it so he should expect a good car.

21st Nov 2011, 17:42

The majority of ALL reviews show this car to be a lemon.

In my opinion, after doing my research, I DEFINITELY do not want one.

1998 Audi A4 T 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

It would be a better world if all cars were like the A4

Faults:

The sun roof switch failed shortly after I obtained the car. It was quickly repaired.

General Comments:

What a great car. It is sporty, safe and economical. The Quattro all wheel drive is amazing in the snow and ice. The fuel economy is very good. The Turbo is peppy and the car is fun to drive. The quality of engineering and manufacturing is the best I have ever seen. It is very reliable.

The only drawback is the limited size of the back seats. They are OK for kids or shorter people, but for tall/large people it is too tight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carBMW M3

Summary:

A4 + Quattro + 1.8t + Greedspeed chip + sport package = one awesomely fun auto

Faults:

No faults with the car.

General Comments:

Best car I ever owned. Quattro is a blast, and is the option that sets it apart from my previous BMW. Great car that I can't say enough about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

1998 Audi A4 Sport 1.8t from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8t Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance75500 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

If we all had Quattros, the world would be a safer place!

Faults:

Ash tray problems.

Front end boot.

Rear wheel bearing.

General Comments:

The car is best driven near 3500 to 4000 rpm's.

I love the low pressure turbo.

16" wheels are a must for handling enhancement.

Quattro may be the best option available on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2000

1998 Audi A4 T 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900 S

Summary:

The most satisfying car for the money

Faults:

I found out that if you go "off roading" with the car, mud may get stuck inside the alloy wheels and result in steering wheel vibration on the highway.

General Comments:

Best car I've ever owned. It's great fun running circles around Jeep Grand Cherokees on icy roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2000

1998 Audi A4 Avant 1.9 TDI 110hp from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI 110hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Comfortable, good car with an excellent engine

Faults:

Climatronic - no stable temperature, fixed 5 times, no result!

Cruise-control acting strange for some time; disappeared automatically.

The dealer was of no use.

General Comments:

Excellent comfortable car with a superb engine in power, fuel consumption and torque!

Space in the back/trunk is smaller then you think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2000

8th May 2001, 11:01

My brother has a 97 1.8 T Sport and I have to give him credit as it is an awesome all rounder, both in performance and economy. Braking is superior, and only downfall is that the rear leather seats are extremely small and hugely uncomfortable. Horrendous on long journies, so remember to take a cushion.

24th Apr 2005, 09:20

I don't agree with them being strong performers... In Australia, we have commodores and I own a 1987 one (100% stock), and I raced my friend who owns a 1.8t A4 and beat him like 20 times! Id say they are slow - my car isn't any Ferrari either. It probably does 0-100km/h in about 9 seconds, and it's an auto!

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has actually gone wrong with it. It's been keyed, hit while parked, and in a 9 car pileup on the turnpike. It was never damaged very badly.

General Comments:

I really like this car and since I'm trading it this fall, I will truly miss it. It is a bit too small and sporty to fit my tastes, but it has smart styling, exterior and interior, and is very reliable, especially with AWD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 1999

1998 Audi A4 SE 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.4
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Radio had two fuses inside jammed inside which meant tape cassette would not work on delivery.

Goes through front tyres every 8.5k miles. Dunlop DP2000.

General Comments:

Car drives very well but is tiny in back seat. Has a huge boot.

Climate control is nice.

Fuel economy 27mpg average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

1998 Audi A4 2.8 30 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.8 30 valve
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Front armrest rattled, replaced by dealer without any problems.

General Comments:

Excellent car, excellent quality. Gets many looks and drives very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1998 Audi A4 t Quattro Sport 1.8t petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8t petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

I'm trying, but so far, I can't think of anything.

General Comments:

What a car! With the manual shift, the dunlop Zs, 7-spoke sport wheels and mica blue coat, this car looks and rides like a beloved toy. The simplest errands become time for freedom and meditation. My only question is what chip to use, to exploit an engine that, although peppy, wouldn't mind a jolt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

1998 Audi A4 2.4 SE 2.4 V6 30V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.4 V6 30V petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Had a tiny clicking noise when depressing the clutch, took it straight in and they looked at it and changed the part there and then. (Rubber bush on clutch area? Sorry not very technical) Solved anyway.

Recall on air pressure meter 07/98.

General Comments:

This car is beautiful.

Azure blue.

Ecru leather interior.

CD player (6 changer).

Walnut dash.

On board computer.

Satellite navigation system.

Go out and get one now.

I have just ordered the 2.8 quattro for next year.....can't wait...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 1998

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 60 reviews