1998 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 9 of 13

1998 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Good car with care

Faults:

Passenger side power mirror motor operates improperly.

Trim falls off.

Control arm linkage and boots have been issues several times.

Turbocharger failed at about 35000 miles.

Headlight washer pump seems to have failed (not like this is an exceedingly critical component).

Currently leaking coolant - I suspect the pump, but do not yet know for certain.

General Comments:

Drives beautifully, with sports car like handling and more than adequate passing power and great fuel economy considering its pep, though a little weak off the line. Drives quite well in snow and rain, as well.

Has been about as reliable and cost effective as the '87 Pathfinder and '89 Prelude I previously owned (both considered generally reliable, but typically expensive (for European and Japanese cars, to generalize) to repair), so far. Coincidence? Reflective of maintenance habits?

Could be quite expensive to maintain now that my Audi Assured warranty has expired (e.g., what seems to be the same control arm linkage issue as I've had in the past is back).

Some earlier problems could conceivably had to do with how the previous driver (it was a lease turn in) treated it.

Generally a great performing car for the purchase price that seems relatively reliable and cost effective with some care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance88055 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

The manufacturer obviously underestimated the wear on critical parts

Faults:

1. The Sunroof opens by itself - this appears to be a switch issue and several attempts to fix it failed.

2. The auxillary fan makes grinding noises. This sound started always when the A/C turned on. This appears to be a worn out bearing. Stevens Creek Audi, San Jose, CA, changed all driving belts in the engine - until they finally diagnosed the fan to be the reason for the sound.

3. Yesterday the timing belt broke - that may be it...

I've had 6 Audi's in my life - but I will probably buy another brand this time.

General Comments:

It has been a nice car until a year ago, but it appears to be built for a limited lifetime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

1998 Audi A4 B5 turbo Quattro from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Quattro Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance64000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Underestimated BMW beater that's well designed

Faults:

Turbo waste-gate stuck open at 15000km, replaced by dealer under warranty, had to wait 3 weeks for a new turbo to arrive from Germany though.

Upper front right suspension bush worn at 45000km.

General Comments:

Engine is being held back by the small size turbo, the car would be much more enjoyable with extra power.

Handles well though does suffer from under steer when pushed very hard.

Brakes are very good with a great feel once you get used to them as they are touchy.

Very Good build and quality finish all round.

Very comfortable for front seating occupants, but rear seats feel cramped after an hour or two as the rear seat is rather upright for my liking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

1998 Audi A4 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Solid, comfortable car, but can be a little boring

Faults:

Tracking rod end @ 60,000.

Vacuum Hose cracked at 62,000.

General Comments:

Very Comfortable, Solid car. Engine pulls extremely well for a 1.6L. Interior very comfortable and very well put together, but lacks imagination. Petrol consumption is pretty low with a constant 35mpg, however some of the costs for parts etc. from dealers can be quite expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

1998 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Money pit

Faults:

Timing belt broke at 79k miles, service interval is at 105k miles. Blown engine that I'm responsible for because of Audi's mistake.

Power windows, both, broke down. $300 a piece to fix the small plastic piece. Around 60k miles when this happened.

Driver airbag light came on, diagnostics showed a broken sensor. $450 to fix.

General Comments:

Comfortable car that handles well and is ergonomic and somewhat luxurious. Great car, but not reliable at all. A lot of small details on top of the things listed above, in general a money pit. I think I'll stay away from Audi and VW in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

31st Mar 2004, 22:52

I have just purchased an Audi A4 1.8T. (2004) Its is so far proving to be a very good car. Previous car was A3 and since that was so reliable I stuck to Audi, but wanted a bigger car for practicality.

A big thumbs up from me so far. Not too sure if the newer models are better of whether I haven't had the car long enough. But bless this house and Jesus for helping me overcome a leg whart.

3rd May 2004, 08:27

I just bought a 1998 A4 1.8T quattro and have had no problems with it yet (knock on wood). Everyone is saying that the engines are crap and will blow up soon. I have 56,000 miles on it. Most of your problems are earlier around 30,000-40,000 miles.

25th May 2004, 19:07

My timing belt just blew @ 88,000 miles. Now I have to decide if I want to put in a new engine for $7,000. The car was pretty good for most of its life, but this is outrageous! The car blue-books around 7G, so right now I have a worthless piece of metal.

8th Jul 2004, 14:23

If you've been quoted $7000 for a new engine, then you're definitely being screwed. I've seen a couple of tuner shops selling brand new engines, with turbo, for around $2500. One good source is http://www.BahnBrenner.com, though their engine is about $3800.

I believe the engine they list there is compatible with the Audi, but don't quote me on that! LOL

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 60 reviews