1998 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 7 of 13

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Expensive to maintain not worth it

Faults:

Driver side window stopped working at about 95,000 miles, cost $400 at Audi dealership, got it done for $300.

Front right CV axle replaced @ 100,000 miles along with inner and outer tire rods. $600 Total.

Time belt and tensioner replaced @ 100,000 miles. $650 Total.

Master and slave piston (without that once you sink the clutch it stays on the floor, making it impossible to drive as the clutch doesn't come back up) $650 Total.

Key-less entry and central door locks stop working @ 110,000 miles. When the central locks, and key-less entry stopped working I realized the gas tank wouldn't open. So I had to pry the latch open, and rig it to stay open. $600 Total.

Turbo went @ 100,000 miles Cost $1800 to replace and have to replace the heat shield another $500.

General Comments:

The car was quick when I first got it.

Great looking car.

Very comfortable cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

22nd May 2009, 00:07

So, to sum it all up...

You are unhappy with all the repairs one might expect as a car ages?

1998 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro 1.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent entry-level luxury/performance sedan

Faults:

Ignition control module replaced @ 80k.

Two window regulators went bad.

A/C Compressor replaced under warranty ~ 50k.

General Comments:

Great performance and handling, a blast to drive with the 5 speed.

Has been very reliable, even now at 8 years old.

Cup holders are seriously poor! No other issues.

Not overly impressed by dealer service - but found a local mechanic specializing in imports that does great work at 1/2 the cost!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

15th Dec 2006, 11:52

I agree. I also have an Audi A4 and the cup holders are very poor.

1998 Audi A4 1.8T from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Not a bad car, but the BMW 3 Series is more reliable

Faults:

Purchased car back in August 1998. It is beautifully made and put together, but has not been that reliable as expected from the Audi brand.

1. At 1500 miles, after leaving the car outside for 4 days, it nearly left me stranded and took 5-10 minutes to start the damn thing. NOT what I expected on a new car with 1500 miles (the cold starting problem did not resurface after this).

2. There was a suspension recall on the car after I had done 15,000 miles.

3. After 20,000 miles, after a long journey, the car would take two turns to start. NOT what I expected from this car.

4. 35,000 miles, the car would start first time most of the time, but on other occasions it would take 2-3 turns, not what I expected on a nearly new car.

General Comments:

Not a bad car. A couple of reliability surprises with the starting and the suspension.

The car does NOT handle very well around corners when compared with a BMW 3 Series.

Fit and finish of the car were first rate.

As a long term committment, I'm not sure how reliable it would be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

12th Dec 2006, 10:26

Would you at least be objective in your review!! Having to turn the engine over more than once is hardly a reliability issue when it starts!!

12th Dec 2006, 12:58

What are you talking about? This is 2006, not 1956. If a nearly-new Audi won't start with the first crank of the key something is WRONG. This is 100% a reliability issue and does not bode well for the long term durability of this vehicle. Even my 1984 318i with 220K miles started every time.

27th Feb 2007, 07:53

To the owner:

Have your ignition coil checked. I have a 1998 1.8T as well and have had problems starting on hot days. My mechanic told me that the 1st 2 cylinders of my engine were malfunctioning and this would affect my ignition coil, making it difficult to start the car.

Check out my review of a 1998 Audi A4 1.8T from the Philippines.

Kev.

1998 Audi A4 1.8 from Lebanon

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Sexy Black bullet

Faults:

Sexy Black bullet Beautiful car and all, but funny thing is that all the A/c ducts broke of the dash board for no reason. very very sensitive automobile. Oil pipe leaked into the radiator which was $500 to replace. Other than that can anyone please let me know if the automatic transmission normally goes up to 5000 rpm before the next gear change? is that how they're built or should I get it checked out?

General Comments:

Overall I love the car it's powerful and fun. Hey and the chicks seem to dig it also :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

17th Oct 2006, 19:48

The A4 comes with a very tall first gear. I noticed this also while I was test driving one. Nothing wrong with it, its simply designed that way.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 60 reviews