1998 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 8 of 13

1998 Audi A4 1.8 T turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Timing Belt Nightmare

Faults:

Timing Belt broke at 50K

Transmission problems

Electrical Problems

Ignition Control Module replaced at 80K.

General Comments:

Does anyone have any information regarding a class action lawsuit being filed against Audi for the timing belts on the A-4's? Mine broke at 50K and cost me so much money, that by the time it reached 80K, I couldn't afford the car anymore. I am still paying on a loan I took out to put a new head on it due to the fact that all exhaust valves were bent when belt broke at 50,000 miles. Service interval, to my knowledge, is 90,000. clearly a defective part. Many have experienced this same problem and I'm glad to hear a class action was brought. I need to find info regarding this. Can anyone help?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

7th Jun 2005, 13:24

Class Action Suit filed in New Jersey for the timing belt problem. Many engines were destroyed because of the defect. Hooray! Take that you stupid Mechanic.

10th Jun 2005, 17:30

Do you have any information on how to join this lawsuit? My daughter has had a bad experience with this issue? She has a 99 Audi A4 with 44,000 miles.

1998 Audi A4 1.9TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

A great experience

Faults:

MAF Meter just given up at 130,000 miles, and a catalytic converter.

This is to be expected as they are very delicate pieces of equipment.

My experience of Audi's (I've had 3 with a combined mileage of almost 1/2 a million to date) is that they are pretty much bullet proof. However if regular and correct maintenance isn't carried out problems will arise.

General Comments:

Wonderful motorway and b-road car. The car has brilliant handling and stops on a dime. With the proper and undelayed maintenance the car will easily hit 250,000 miles before any engine work i. e injector replacement. they don't NEED to be replaced, but 250,000 miles of pumping diesel can take its toll! Saying that, the engine is very quiet for 135,000 miles. I'll certainly be getting another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

1998 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Poor Reliability and Very Costly to Maintain

Faults:

My timing belt broke two days ago at 72k miles leaving me stranded on the freeway blocking traffic during rush hour. Boroscope inspection revealed that engine replacement is required. Current estimate is $7000 - $8000 depending whether or not the engine core is bad (to be determined tomorrow).

The tie rods had to be replaced at 60k miles.

Interior "pleather" seat material has started to tear.

This car has had many additional minor problems (electrical, sensors, etc), leaving me seriously questioning whether or not I will ever buy an Audi again.

General Comments:

The car handles well, although the 1.8T of this year is under powered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2004

2nd Sep 2007, 06:07

62k Miles, the car's timing belt should be replaced by 60k Kilos. Do your maintenance before you complain.

1998 Audi A4 1.8 T Quattro 1.8L turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L turbo Manual
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Good car, but poor manufacturer service of defects

Faults:

Timing belt failed at 80K miles (short of 90K service recommendation)

Wiring harness shorted out - caused failure of factory CD changer and radio/controller unit. Note: Audi did replace this at no cost after much haranguing.

General Comments:

Had been very pleased with car to this point, but experience w/Audi on timing belt replacement and subsequent engine head failure is disappointing to say the least.

Note: car was bought as Audi certified used car and all service performed by Audi dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

10th Aug 2006, 22:57

I had a broken timing belt after warranty expired, but before recommended service interval on same car. All service was done by Audi dealer and after timing belt went the car needed and new engine, head and turbo, $13,000.00 worth and Audi paid. I'm impressed and thankful that they stood behind there car and the service they performed. Sorry to hear about your experience, mine has been good.

1998 Audi A4 1.8T 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carHonda S2000

Summary:

Nice looking car with LOTS of problems

Faults:

Two of the four front control arms making lots of noise - replaced ($400 each) at 80,000 miles. Right Front wheel bearing failed at 82,000 ($200), Electrical issue in instrument cluster ($900) at 78,000, emission control charcoal canister failed at 75,000 miles ($500). Radiator overflow container went bad at 70,000.

General Comments:

The A4 is a great looking, comfortable car, with good performance. However, I will never buy an Audi again that is not new or under warranty. Audi's lack of quality is the reason they are so reasonably priced compared to comparable used BMW's. Of the 14 cars I have owned this A4 depreciated faster and cost much more to operate. A good friend of mine is having similar issues with an A6 4.2 with 80,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 60 reviews