2006 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2006 BMW 3 Series 325xi 2.5 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

Owning this car is like having a supermodel as a GF. Too much maintenance, it's hardly worth it

Faults:

I bought a 4-year extended warranty for the wheels/tires of the car. When BMW sent out a "service bulletin" (a fancy way to say "recall") on the tires about a year later, they didn't honor the extended warranty, which defeats the purpose of getting a warranty.

The onboard computer is also very finicky, I have had brought this to BMW service at least three times because it just won't start with a "red steering wheel lock" on the dashboard. Sad to say, but this is NOT an isolated problem (http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1038819). My dealer's service center is not a pain to deal with (so far), but they could not explain why it is happening; they would just "reset" the computer, hoping it would be OK.

I am getting rid of this car, not because it doesn't perform as advertised, but the reliability is questionable. It almost feels like that once the 4-year warranty expires, the headaches will start pouring in.

BMW USA is also not very helpful. After the pains I've gone through to own this beautiful machine, one would wonder how the company can survive with such arrogance.

General Comments:

Drives and handles like a dream. BMW designed the AWD in such a way that handling is not compromised. One should really get this car with a MANUAL TRANSMISSION, otherwise you will not going to get its full potential... and to be honest, the AT is very sluggish (this from driving the "loaner cars" when my car is in service).

The cabin design is OK but not GREAT. It's quite apparent that BMW had to cut corners for more profit margin (this is compared to the previous generation E46?)... oh I said "more profit margin", because the 3-series hasn't gone cheaper. ;-)

I know the new styling is love-it-or-hate-it... but I personally love the new design, it's an evolution in the right direction... that said, the designer (Chris Bangle) probably took his unique design a bit too far for the other models (the Z series is kinda over-the-top).

But, alas, having all that said ... it's not enough reason for me to keep the car... I believe owning the Ultimate Driving Machine need not suffer such compromise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2009

6th Apr 2009, 10:13

Buy an e46, or a well maintained e36, you'll be pleased.

6th Feb 2010, 20:44

The E46 is the best built BWW ever. I have 2002 325xi. I've owned it 3 years now, and living in Canada, winter is just a joke for this car, plus I found a block heater original one for E46, now -45'C doesn't do anything to car...

The car is 8 years old, 180K on it, only one thing failed; thermostat, which is cost only $280 bucks.

I paid for this car 24k, brand new price was 58k... I love it and I'll keep it for 2 or 3 more years...

2006 BMW 3 Series 320d SE Touring 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10800 miles
Most recent distance11800 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Overpriced prestige car built on the cheap

Faults:

Remote locking failed due to faulty seal on receiver letting in water. New clutch and flywheel due to distorted flywheel. (both faults known to BMW and fixed under warranty.)

New driver door latch (rattles) New throttle pedal assembly (rattles)

General Comments:

Build quality is inferior to the previous E46 320d Touring.

No water temperature gauge.

Plastics are hard and feel cheap.

No storage for rear seat passengers (seat nets/door pockets)

Run flat tyres expensive to replace, cannot be repaired and make for a hard ride. No spare or jack supplied.

Radio/CD, poor sound quality.

Poor quality leather seats/trim.

Silly cheap cover over brake fluid reservoir.

Cruise control stalk too close to indicator stalk.

Don, t forget that with metallic paint, panoramic sunroof, xenon lights and leather this car cost over £30,000 new. Not good enough BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2008

21st May 2010, 07:10

Agree with all the comments. Have just changed from 2001 manual 320D - 120k trouble free and quiet miles - to 4 year old 23k miles 2006 auto 320D touring and am shocked at noise level from road and in back seat area (from transmission?). Run flat tyres are not an improvement and fuel consumption rate is terrible. After 6 BMs and 30 years, maybe this is the end of the road for BMW and me. VW is getting the plaudits these days.

13th Sep 2010, 11:56

Had an 06 320d M Sport manual. Note, had.

This was the most unreliable car I've ever owned. Transmission failure at 21k, two dual mass flywheel failures, ESP module failure, and various rumbles and clonks from underneath which I don't believe were "normal".

Not a patch on my 320d E46, which covered 130,000 miles without a hiccup, and felt as fresh at the end as it did at the start.

24th Nov 2010, 14:53

With all this talk about the plastic breaking, did you folks know that BMW uses recycled plastic? It is a cottage industry and it's on their website. My 1995 Bimmer has tough strong plastic that has stood the test of time. Why cheapen a luxury, sports car? It's like shooting yourself in the foot. BMW has a reputation to uphold, Right??? If it ain't broken, don't fix it!

25th Nov 2010, 17:43

BMW is not the only carmaker to use recycled plastic. Many of their rivals do too, but do not publicise it.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 15 reviews