2002 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 8 of 25

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

This car has some major defects and is a drain on my purse

Faults:

Brakes have been replaced twice.

A/C issues twice, not sure what the problem is and no one seems to be able to tell me.

Power window motors gone out on 3 of 4 windows.

AWD had to be repaired.

Broken grille plate near head light (seems to be caused by a defect in the design.

Fuel emissions problems repeatedly.

Seems I am always buying new tires because of wheel bearings.

Power steering issues remain constant problem.

General Comments:

The car looks good; it is comfortable and roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous LX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

Crapola

Faults:

We have recently bought this 2002 Rendezvous from my father.

The wheel bearings had been replaced already.

We have recently replaced the air conditioning condensor, drivers door regulator, the head gasket, and front left wheel speed sensor.

The cost of repairs is $3,400.00. We are now on the hunt for a new vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL 3.4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Very nice SUV

Faults:

ABS light came on

AWD light came on

Found wires to front passenger wheel to be broken. Fixed the wires and all is good.

A/C just stopped working now. The compressor does not come on anymore. What the heck? What to check now? I don't like going to the garage. Any help out there for a do-it-yourself kind of guy?

General Comments:

Our family of 5 really likes this Rendezvous. We bought a loaded AWD with leather and the third row seating. I'm kinda hoping we won't have the problems I'm reading about that other owners have had LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous cxl from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The Buick Rendezvous CXL is an unreliable money pit

Faults:

We had to have the wheel bearings replaced, brakes and shocks, blower motor (I lost all heat/defrost capability while driving in the middle of a Buffalo blizzard), and now the rear springs are broken. We have also had the engine quit while driving, for no apparent reason. Later it starts up, and mechanics find no explanation.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, and I love the heated seats in the winter. However, we've had so many problems with it, and it's clear we're not the only ones. I will never buy another Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

54,000 miles and it needs bearings? Called GM; no help, and will not have a recall, even though everyone I talk to with the same car has the same problem.

Heating and air don't work, paint is pealing, rust on inside wheel well, pull down strap for back hatch door broke.

I will never buy a GM car ever. I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau.

General Comments:

Junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Too expensive to keep

Faults:

At 28,000 kilometers replaced rear seal, oil pan gasket, head gasket.

Had already replaced battery twice.

At 30,000 kilometers replaced transmission and transfer case.

Rear wiper has never worked.

Drivers window sounds like it is open but isn't and has always been like that.

Warranty covered the gaskets but not the other problems.

Have spent over 11,000 dollars in repairs so far.

Paid 34,000.00 for the vehicle (new)

Never Again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

Nice idea, terrible reliability and value

Faults:

Front wheel bearings went summer of 2007 just after the extended warranty ended.

Fuel pump went July, 2008.

Have had numerous electrical issues/part issues - luckily while under warranty.

General Comments:

Horrible reliability and terrible service from GM, especially once the warranty was done.

Expensive car bought brand new; now maybe worth $8k. Will be getting Toyota or Honda next. Too bad, because the features are good and I like the car itself, just hate the reliability.

Have learned not to buy a model the first year it is produced, and not to buy GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Cumulative negatives outweigh the positives

Faults:

Now in shop. Third major air conditioning repair, at least second condenser, besides new cycling switch and other related A/C issues.

General Comments:

Like the handling.

Fed up with repeated A/C expenses.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Faults:

We have replaced most recently:

Driver window regulator

Passenger window regulator (in for now)

Rear differential (in for now)

Rack and pinion

A/C air flow

And many more $$$$ spent

Thank God we purchased an extended warranty; still racking up dollars.

Knocking noise from engine/ leaking something. Will ask garage when I get it back after the differential is replaced.

Did not know about this site, but have 12,000 miles left. You can be sure I will be checking all components before the time is up... have a family to feed, so have to budget in for repairs. I guess hubby was right about this SUV piece of crap.

Email me if you know of a suit jpclarkesr@aol.com

General Comments:

Love the look, but afraid that is all.

So many problems with my baby. I am just disappointed in Buick.

First car was a Buick, and I'm just really sad to have to hear all this stuff.

We will be OK; God will provide what is needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2008

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 98 reviews