2002 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 9 of 25

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL AWD 3.8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Never buy one

Faults:

Door Hinge

Head Gasket

Wheel bearings

Air Conditioning

Rear knuckles

Rear ball Joints

Rear Shocks

Air bag Sensor

ABS Sensor's

Driver side power window and control pad

Strange noise from right front side apparently Transfer case

$1000 dollars of work to find problem to no avail.

General Comments:

The car is Junk and I could have bought a more reliable car

I'm taped out!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I will drive a Honda once again

Faults:

Fan switch gone out soon after 1 month of having it off the lot.

Started to use oil at 50,300 miles found out that GM quit using lock tight on intake bolts and oil was going out the exhaust.

70,000 puked a head gasket.

92,287 condenser is shot.

General Comments:

GM is crap I will never buy anything GM

Over payed management along with workers.

Union brothers give the public the shaft.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Faults:

We bought the vehicle off-lease with 32,000 on the odometer.

Within the first six months, the A/C condenser went out and the vanity light on the drivers side went out, as well as the lights on the rear view mirror.

Now the ABS appears to be activating whenever we turn left with it, and the traction control comes on intermittently for no reason.

Just today the traction control light came on and stayed on. Have taken it to the dealer and they found no error code with the traction control or the ABS.

This thing is going in on Wedesday now that the lights have come on. Luckily we bought an extended warranty that has 1k left. We love the vehicle, good on gas and lots of room. We will trade or sell soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL 3.4 gas from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 gas Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance88450 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Good design, but very poor manufacturing

Faults:

It was still under warranty when the air conditioner condenser went out.

The right wheel bearing went out.

The transmission went out at 43,857. Buick helped because we had it checked at a dealer, and couldn't find what was wrong before it went out.

Power steering pump howls to this day.

Intake manifold gaskets had to be replaced.

Electronic module that operates lights and door locks failed and had to be replaced.

Windshield cracked for no apparent reason. It was sitting out in the sun.

The second transmission went out and transfer case at 88,460 miles. The warranty time was up but not mileage; company refused to help in anyway with this transmission.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable and drives good, but is a money pit. Buick will help a little bit and then drop you.

Have always tried to buy American, but this car has driven me to buy a foreign car.

Sad that this company has come to this point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Would not buy another buick

Faults:

AC compressor at 82,000 miles.

Both front wheel bearings at 94,000.

General Comments:

We bought this car used for the fuel mileage... but have have to replace both front wheel bearings and the AC compressor.

My sister-in-law has a 2003 w/50,000 miles on it and had to change her front wheel bearing too! I am thinking I better dump this car before more goes wrong!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2008

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL 3.4L V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Before the car was 5 years old, and with less than 44,000 miles on it:

It has had the gas tank replaced.

Both front window regulators replaced.

The body control module replaced.

For a total of about $1,700.00.

Then it started leaking coolant, and the temperature gauge was all over the place, and we were told it was coming from the block.

Last week we got a letter from Buick saying that they would reimburse us for the gas tank.

General Comments:

I wrote to Buick at Buick Customer Service PO Box 33170 Detroit, MI 48232 on 1-12-08. I got a message on our home phone about my letter on 1-22-08 and a case #.

1-866-790-5700 x42431 or 42773 This is in Argentina so brace yourself. Seems the point is to wear you down. I had 10 conversations from 1-23-08 to 2-6-08.

Once "Buick Argentina" had my Vin # & called the dealer where the work was done, they found out I had traded it in on 1-21-08 and they were done and said there was nothing to be done for me - per the local Field Manager who told that to the rep in Argentina. Seems Buick doesn't care about satisfied customers or quality American cars.

We lost $ by trading it in rather than selling it to a private party, but that would have been unfair to the new buyer. There were things Buick could have done to make me not bad mouth Buick's so badly, but they chose not to do anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 98 reviews