2002 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 25 of 25

2002 Buick Rendezvous clx from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

Very disappointing

Faults:

The rear hatch does not work properly. It is like the wind, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

The head gasket did start to leak and I had to have it replaced to the tune of $600. When the mechanic took it out after fixing this, we noticed that there is a howling in the front wheels.

The front wheel bearings are going out. This is very disappointing. We did not purchase the extended warranty figuring that a vehicle that we paid over $25k for should run without these major problems.

We had to replace the tires after only 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

I am very disappointed in this vehicle.

This is our first Buick and probably will be our last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2004

11th Jan 2004, 08:05

Sorry for all the problems... that sounds like a lot of hassle.

Question for you.. was everything fixed under warranty?

13th Feb 2005, 10:34

I have had to replace both front wheel bearings at 80K. new from buick, $490/ea., from the junk yard $70.00/ea. and $35.00/ea. to install.

Everything else is fine.

8th Apr 2006, 08:58

This person must not be driving a Buick Rendezvous. We bought a 2002 new, and now have 57,000 trouble free miles on it. I plan to buy another in a year or two if Buick hasn't changed them too much. We replaced a minivan with this car, and know that we made the right decision. it's ride, fuel economy, and quality are outstanding, almost Le Sabre like. The BEST automotive value is provided by Buick. You can spend more for something a little nicer, and you can spend less for near junk, but there is no better value. The Rendezvous meets all of our expectations - roomy, versatile, comfortable, economical, luxurious, trouble free, fun to drive. Did I mention versatile and trouble free? Everyone I know who owns one would buy another.

4th Aug 2006, 09:52

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the first comment. I've had to replace both front wheel hub/bearing assemblies (~$450 each), replace the air conditioning (~$1000), and I'm on my 3rd computer (all those were under warranty). All this happened with less than 70000 miles (the air and one bearing with less than 40000). I like all the features of the car, but I may have to go back to foreign - my Honda and Accura have run without any major problems for years and more than 150000 miles.

17th Feb 2007, 20:20

Funny I think someone is making excuses for a GM product.

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX six cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18900 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A major disappointment

Faults:

Fuel pump replaced at 17000 miles.

Fuel pump acting up again.

Front ball joint replaced, after only 18,000 miles.

All four tires replaced, after only 18,000 miles.

General Comments:

Too many problems for a family car. Stranded us once with a bad fuel pump. The front ball joint was replaced after only 18,000 miles. All four tires were replaced as well. The dealer did this under warranty, but was very vague & elusive when we asked why. I'm guessing the tires (Firestone) were part of a secret recall. Could no longer trust this vehicle to safely transport my wife & infant, so we dumped it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

16th Aug 2005, 18:21

I am getting ready to dump my 2002 Buick Rendezvous. Have had lots of mechanical problems with it. Will never buy a Buick again.

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carBuick Rendezvous

Summary:

A lot of style, space and comfort for the buck

Faults:

The windows make noise when they are lowered and raised. We have an appointment with the dealer to service this problem.

The car seems to get fairly warm, past the half way mark, when idling in traffic.

General Comments:

Overall, the Buick Rendezvous has proved to be an excellent SUV/van/car! The look of the Rendezvous is dressy from the grille to the soft leather seating. The strong vertical lines give a sportier look from the rear and side views.

Entering and exiting the vehicle is easy. The ride is smooth and luxurious, and the sound system is above average.

The gas mileage is what you would expect from a vehicle of the Rendezvous' size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

A more comfortable ride than a SUV, more stylish than a van

Faults:

The Rendezvous had only one minor problem at approximately 8000 miles where the odometer display failed. This was corrected by the dealership, but required a week of repair time. The problem has not re-occurred.

Air vents make too much noise when set to heat and set to blow out of the upper vents.

General Comments:

The Rendezvous gets approximately 26 to 28 miles per gallon at 65 miles per hour on the highway. Very respectable. In town mileage is approximately 21 to 22 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

It's a truck. It's a car. It's a van. It's a Rendezvous!!

Faults:

The check engine light came on after I forgot to put on the gas cap. My local Cambridge MN dealer promptly serviced it for no cost.

General Comments:

My wife and I are in our fifties and needed a vehicle to transport stuff to the kids, haul wood for fixing the basement, haul grandchildren, and take the boat to the lake. This vehicle does it all and has good looks and great millage. We opted for the base Rendezvous with no options, and purchased a new 2003 for under $19,500 plus tax and license--and no we don't have an uncle in the car business. I personally have not noticed the lack of power reported by some others. Of course the vehicle is not perfect.. the heater vents are unusually loud on high fan speeds. We like our RDV!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 98 reviews