2002 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 20 of 25

2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL 3.1 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carBuick Olds Alero

Summary:

Not good

Faults:

The AC stopped working and had to have the compressor replaced. Cost was $700. Last year the computer failed and that cost a bundle. I am generally quite dissatisfied.

General Comments:

The vehicle is nice to drive, but the cost of maintenance is outrageous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

Fine for intial 40,000 miles. Lots of problems since

Faults:

Condenser on AC unit cracked at 62,000 miles. $989 to repair. Head gasket blew last year at 55,000 miles. Vehicle is becoming a money pit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st June, 2006

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Faults:

Same as everyone it seems with the Rendezvous.

BCM was replaced.

Tires replaced too soon.

Front brakes replaced too soon.

Front wheel bearings replaced too soon.

Now looking at $1000 + to have A/C condensor replaced next week. (I didn't have any cold air all of last summer).

About 50,000 miles old.

Sarnia, Ontario, Canada.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

11th May 2006, 15:17

Wow all the problems you just mentioned are the same products I have with my Buick rendezvous. Air Conditioner out $1000, front brakes replaced too often. What gives.

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance57700 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Buyer beware, she will cost you more than you realize!

Faults:

Manifold Intake Gasket 45,000 ($500)

A/C Compressor 45,000 (not yet repaired)

Head Gasket 57,700 (still in shop... waiting on price... estimate at $1400)

Side mirrors don't work.

Stopped working 2 months after purchase.

Driver's side window extremely noisy - always sounds like it is open, but it is not!

3rd row seat... nice feature, but very claustrophobic!

General Comments:

It's funny... I absolutely LOVE this car. It makes me sick to think of how it has become a money pit.

It is so comfortable, and offers a beautiful ride. I feel very secure in this car and love the moon-roof.

I am very sad knowing we have to trade this in ASAP. I just cannot live in fear everyday that something else major is going to go wrong.

I think it is a shame that GM knows this car is a lemon, and has not done more about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.4L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance108660 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Poorly built and engineered!

Faults:

Wheel bearings went right before warranty (59750km) but were replaced under warranty. Rear tailgate was recalled, interior trim was never replaced properly, Wheel bearings are making noise again. This time will likely be at my expense. This should not happen to wheel bearings! Interior is cheap. my wife talked ne into this lemon. It won't happen again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

2002 Buick Rendezvous cxl from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Most recent distance50400 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

This vehicle does not live up to neither my expectations nor the manufacturer's claims

Faults:

Reoccuring problem with the suspension's air stabilizer... leak in the line so it intermittently starts up even when no additional weight is added to the vehicle.

Poor standard issue tires worn before 20,000 miles.

Transmission went out without warning after just exceeding the 50,000 mile mark... the car stopped accelerating just as I crossed a major intersection and I was able to coast to the side of the street. My dealer towed the car in and rebuilt it.

We were never totally satisfied after the transmission problem. Things were never the same.

In the warmer weather, the trans would seem to catch. And accelleration seemed poor.

Now supposedly the problem is not the transmission, but something with the lower intake valve... and the engine need to be pulled apart!

Heated seats run too hot.

Now the airbag sensor needs replacing under the drivers seat. Is this tied to the heated seat problem?

Now the drivers window mechanism is burned out (never had that one before).

General Comments:

Total repairs for this round is $3,800!

GM customer assistance was not helpful since no problems are on a recall list.

Mileage has always been poor. (12mpg/city;19mpg/highway)

The comfort of the vehicle has been a poor trade off for lack of reliability and high maintenance.

I will never buy another Buick and I am not impressed with GMs customer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

9th Nov 2006, 14:08

I have had similar experiences such as both front window power controllers going out. Tires wear out very quickly. The air conditioner condenser got a small hole in it due to poor placement by the engineers. And the worst one was that a tiny, tiny, tiny wind caused the driver's front door to misalign and hit the body when it closed. $900 in damages. And to all this Buick says "tough luck". This was the final straw with GM. I have purchased two Japanese vehicles since.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 98 reviews