2002 Buick Rendezvous Reviews - Page 16 of 25

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

The looks are not worth the necessary upkeep

Faults:

I have had to replace manifold gasket.

I have had to replace the AC Condenser.

I have had to put on new brakes and rotors.

I have had to replace the driver window motor.

I have had to replace the gaskets.

I have an unknown problem. If the key is in the ignition, the door cannot be opened or the door dinger will continously go off until the battery cable is removed and reset. There are no fuses that will cure this problem nor can we find a wire to cut.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2007

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Three things are certain: death, taxes and rendezvous are junk

Faults:

A/C had to be fixed

Brake problems

Tires worn down quickly

Service traction system problems had to be fixed

Overheating

Leaking fluids repeatedly

Sensor problems

Security problems

Window on Drivers side fell out

By the time one thing is fixed, the Service Vehicle light comes on again.

General Comments:

Began having problems with the car at 45,000 miles, now at 57,000 problems are growing in severity and cost.

I am very sorry that I took out a loan to buy this car. I feel stuck, and I'm so sick to my stomach over it that I could just puke!

I want compensation already! What a lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

9th Apr 2007, 20:54

All I can say about the included comments about the Buick Rendevous is GM, what were you thinking about to make this outdated antiquated car or SUV? The design is about as bad as a Pontiac Aztek.

Wake up GM, Toyota is biting at your heels!

9th Mar 2008, 19:36

This vehicle basically is an Aztec.

GM still uses cardboard/paper type gaskets in this and the Rendezvous. They did this with Astro/Safari vans and 4.3L engines a decade earlier causing thousands of blown engines or antifreeze leaks.

They know these gaskets don't work; they're designed to fail.

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carBuick Wildcat

Summary:

GM Junk

Faults:

Where does a person start-Wheel bearings-steering wheel part-heater-AC-overheating-using too much oil-check engine light-doors need to be adjusted-fingers are getting sore!!!

General Comments:

Big Lemon- How does a person get rid of such a thing-no car dealer will touch it for a trade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carBuick Olds Cutlass

Summary:

Stay Away

Faults:

My air conditioner went out at 40,000 miles that is going to cost about $350.00.

I have had to replace rotors twice at 45,000.

My airbag light won't go off and now I need to get that checked.

I have an oil leak due to leaky seals that happened at 50,000 miles.

I had to have the a control module replaced at 36,000.

General Comments:

I don't recommend this car to anyone. It has not been reliable and I am still paying on it. I have worked with mechanics in the past and I have been told to basically get rid of it. I thought that Buick was going to be better than what it has been I am really disappointed.

There are some good things about this car is that it rides nice and the seating is comfortable, also for as big as a vehicle it is good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2007

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Faults:

I have replaced the condensor twice. From reading the reviews here on this site, it looks as if this is very common with this car. Yes indeed I smell a recall!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

2002 Buick Rendezvous from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres

Summary:

Wish I had never purchased it

Faults:

Traction control sensor.

A/C sensor.

Fan modulator.

Electrical short due to exposed wire above driver visor.

Front wheel bearings.

Rear brake assembly.

Coolant leak, probably cracked gasket.

Two recall repairs.

Front hood repainted due to flaking paint.

General Comments:

GM does not stand by this vehicle in any way. They should be ashamed and should be recalling this vehicle for the problems that seem to be recurring. This vehicle purchased new at $40,000 is barely worth $10,000 4 years later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2007

2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.3 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

This is the worst car ever - never buy it no matter how great the deal is

Faults:

So far the repairs include the A/C fan motor, A/C condenser (twice), Body Control Module, driver's side window motor, wheel sensor, harness wiring (ABS kept activating during slow turns) and now the cracked intake manifold.

General Comments:

This car is a worthless hunk of junk. I can't in good conscience sell this car and I can't get much for the trade in. Buick refuses to acknowledge the serious problems with this vehicle. Writing to them is like banging your head against a brick wall. My next step is to spray paint "LEMON" on the side and drive it around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2007

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 98 reviews