2002 Buick Rendezvous CXL from North America - Comments

24th Apr 2008, 16:17

I own a 02 and have only had it for 6 months now. A few days ago my "service traction control" light came on. It does not stay on all the time but, I have noticed when I turn it feels like the brakes are gripping (like they would if I was on ice). Seems like a few people have mentioned this problem with theirs. Can anyone tell me what it is and how much I am looking at to get it fixed? I love the comfort and the room but, I am terrified of the problems I am going to face in the next few years! Please email me if you know what is causing this -thanks akessler@norwalkreflector.com.

29th Apr 2008, 02:15

I just purchased a 2002 CXL and already I am having problems. I wish I checked this website prior. My heating gage all of a sudden just went up the next day I bought the car. They replaced the water heater and the problem is still there. After reading these reviews I am so Unhappy with a purchase that I don't think I can get out of.

1st May 2008, 09:23

2003 Buick Rendezvous.

I purchased my Buick used with 14000 miles. My first problem started around 25000 miles when the drivers side wheel bearing and trans axle had to be replaced under warranty, thank God. Since then I have replaced the axle again, and now I am replacing the passenger side wheel bearing. I have replaced the passenger side axle just a month ago. Not under warranty. The drivers side door hinges are failing and the door is now mis-aligned adding to the already profuse amount of wind noise. The blower motor is going out and makes a terrible noise when started and when on low. But even though it works the heat is so inconsistent it doesn't really matter which eludes me as to why. I have done a flush and fill, there's no leaks, the engine reaches operating temp. and the thermostat opens at the correct temp. The rear wiper, no matter which brand I purchase doesn't hit the glass all the way. The drivers side door window motor cable snapped like a gun and even though the motor works you have to purchase the entire assembly. This is a GM product problem because I have had the same thing happen on my 2002 Impala and my sister's Pontiac and all drivers side. With all that, Why no recall on the bearings and axles?

20th May 2008, 10:46

Just another to the list 2002 CXL - 87000 miles condenser 910.00-- Thanks Buick for a fine product, and you wonder why your sales are down...

23rd May 2008, 08:53

I bought a Rendezvous in 04. I love it but have a problem with the heating and cooling. When we stop some place and start again the s/c will not come on. The whole panel is black. Then all of a sudden it will start again. This has been going on ever since we bought the car. By the time I get to the GM dealer it starts again, except when we are on trips and then it can stay off for 30 minutes or longer. Driving in 95 degree temps is not a lot o fun. Does anyone else have this problem? I have taken it in many times and they tell me they can't fix it until they catch it doing it. Isn't there mechanics anymore. Can they only use machines to trace down problems. Couldn't they just trace to see if it is the electrical system to see if there is a short? If someone can give me any idea how to fix this please e-mail me at conrttnhs@bellsouth.net.

28th May 2008, 14:30

I have a 2003 XL. So far, the wheel bearings and axles have been replace under warranty. The intake manifold seals were replace by GM under a 50% customer courtesy. Now the head gasket needs to be replaced. Estimated cost $3,200. I have filed a customer complaint with GM. I was told that I will hear back from them in 2 business days. After reading the articles hear, I am more that concerned about future issues with the AC, electrical, and transmission. No wonder Consumer Reports calls the Buick Rendezvous one of the worst used car buys.

14th Jun 2008, 14:09

I purchased a 2002 Buick Rendezvous from a dealership about 6 months ago. I was so happy to see that it had a 3rd row, leather seats and only 57,000 miles. Along with this it had a Certificate "Bumper to Bumper Gold Check".

Immediately, I noticed that heater did not function on 1 and 2 level settings; luckily the Dealership fixed this for me with no problems.

Within 2-days we noticed it had no spare tire, after about 2-weeks we were able to get it back to the dealership to install one in for us.

It is now 5 months later and I have no AC; the first day the temperatures reached 86 degrees I turned it on, only to find that it did not blow cold air, we added some and still nothing. We called dealership and they told us we should have noticed this when we purchased it. Well, you really cannot tell when it is winter and temperatures are sitting at 20-30 degrees. They were no help to us. Imagine that, buy a vehicle from the dealership that you think you can trust and this is what we got.

Today, I am having my battery tested because it is acting funny, and it won't start unless I get a jump.

Having problems with the security light staying on. I was told my positive cable had melted and that I would have to have it towed because the work was going to be too difficult for them to fix. Not what I wanted to hear.

I thought this was going to be the car for me after driving a 1995 van for years. My van performed better, and to think I sold it just because of the mileage 263,000 miles. I see it in town, and it could not be enjoyed more by the people that bought it from me. Sad.

I am going to try the GMC Dealership and see if they can help me. From what I read, I don't know that I will have a chance. My sister and mother bought new ones in 2006 and 2005; I am going to make sure they know what I am going through before it is too late for them.

Norma Matamoros

Idaho.

15th Jun 2008, 18:14

'02 was the first year for the Rendezvous. Most of the bugs were worked out by '05-'06. It is never a good idea to buy a vehicle in it's first year of production, in many ways they are guinea pigs for the consumer.

2nd Jul 2008, 21:30

Well I guess I will join the club. Just bought the Buick from my brother who just loved it. He has done the wheel bearings, air con, now the electrical problems are starting. The ABS activates just because it wants to and the traction control does the same. Dealer says to me today that he hopes I have a lot of money because I will need it. I informed him that this is the first and last GM product I will ever purchase, so much for his smile. I have owned Dodge for years and have never seen a vehicle with such a huge amount of problems.