2000 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 3 of 8

2000 Cadillac DeVille Northstar from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

What is wrong with GM... don't they WANT to sell more cars?

Faults:

My 2000 Deville gets the P0741 code (Torque Converter Clutch Stuck On). Car shifts great... no problems.

General Comments:

Am told I need a new tranny (cost of ~$3500). Others say it could just be the solenoid (less expensive fix).

I've been seeing this a lot on Caddy chat sites. Any ideas?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th November, 2009

9th Nov 2009, 09:23

Dealer would always tell you that it's most likely the worst case scenario. A solenoid would be included in the kit when a transmission is replaced I believe. Also, majority of dealers carry parts for cars that are 7 years or newer. Now there are some differences where a few engines use the exact same parts. But, in your case the car might sit in their shop for a month before all the parts are located and labour has been done.

I would go with solenoid or solenoid fuse replacement. Take it to a tranny shop and have them specifically replace that part. Please follow up.

9th Nov 2009, 15:40

I've seen this numerous times. Try replacing the solenoid first, but it may or may not be the problem. You may end up replacing the transmission anyways. If you do end up having to replace the transmission, you might as well just get rid of the car.

10th Nov 2009, 01:19

OK, so let me get this straight. Your car works fine, but you are going to take it in because of some idiot light? Me and my family have driven many domestics for many miles and just let the idiot lights shine away, as do most people. Sometimes the light will even go off after awhile. In many cases those lights are just money grabs.

10th Nov 2009, 02:48

No Cadillacs made after 1992 are going to be any good. Never again. Get used to it.

Either find a good old low-mileage late eighties Brougham and invest $5-10 grand to keep it around for fun, or just give up and drive some kind of soul-destroying anonymous Japanese/Korean/whatever egg-shaped clone car.

22nd Nov 2009, 18:51

You need a torque converter. You can get that done for under 2k. Just don't wait until you notice it's not driving right because then you will need a transmission. This will cost you 3k at your local transmission shop. You do not need to go to the dealer for this repair.

2000 Cadillac DeVille from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Great Car!

Faults:

I have owned other Cadillac before this one, but they were purchased new. This one I bought used, one owner. It is a beautiful car, runs great, has lots of power, and gets good gas mileage.

The month I bought it I had the alternator go out (on a trip - somewhere in West Texas). I went to a Cadillac dealer, they replaced it at great expense to me, but with a lifetime guarantee including labor. I could have gone cheaper, but didn't want to have to pay for another replacement, just in case. That would have been at about 65K miles.

The next thing that went was the water pump. It was just a minor leak, but had it replaced. Any work done on these cars is expensive, and a lot of it has to do with labor due to hard to get to items.

At about 92K the Service Engine Light came on on occasion. A local shop said it was nothing to worry about, another customer of his had the same problem.

I thought I would have it tuned (spark plugs, etc) at about 100K, but when I found out how much it would be (over $400), I decided if it wasn't broke, don't fix it.

General Comments:

I now have over 130K, still the same plugs, still get fantastic gas mileage (always on regular), great power, smooth and quiet ride.

The previous ones I had, an 89, a 94, and a 99, I never had a wrench turned on them.

It would be very difficult for me to consider any other car than a Deville.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2009

1st Oct 2010, 06:27

Thanks for the insight on this car. I have noticed a very strong smell inside one I have looked at. Could that be the interior materials? It smells somewhere between ammonia and a turd laying in the car somewhere.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews