2000 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2000 Cadillac DeVille DTS 4.6 Northstar from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6 Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113700 miles
Most recent distance115800 miles
Previous carLincoln MKZ

Summary:

Great car. Please Cadillac, don't dump the V8.

Faults:

I am second owner. As with others, I found out it had a bent wheel. I replaced with a new wheel, but also had to replace right front tie rod and ball joint, $432 later, and $358 for the wheel.

Had to replace another wheel, that was bad a casting, another $358.

Leaking drive shaft, so I replaced both, and one rebuilt was bad, and the car shook on takeoff. Replaced by a tire dealer and no more problems.

I would advise some people with vibration to check the drive-shafts, even if not leaking, also possible out of round tires, and rotate 180 degrees to see if vibration disappears.

I am learning by repair, and would like to compare notes with others with similar problems.

General Comments:

I learned to drive with my dad's 1954 Cadillac Fleetwood new, and this is the first Cadillac that rides with comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2009

2000 Cadillac DeVille 4.6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance123800 miles

Summary:

A thing of beauty

Faults:

I own a 2000 Cadi Deville. Bought it in 2003 with 53,000 miles; never had serious problems other than coil pack replacement ($150 used part), crank shaft positioning sensor, camshaft positioning sensor, mass air flow sensor, and the usual oil changes and tune ups, but never done at the dealership.

Mine didn't get the vibration until I decided to follow the young crowd and put 22 inch rims on it; then the vibration started, put the stock tires back on and the problem persists. Oh well, that's the price we pay to ride Cadillac.

Time to buy a new model and sell this beauty for $3,000 because we lose so much value so fast...

General Comments:

Awesome car, no complaints, all wear and tear on this beauty. Sensors are the only issue with this big body beauty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2009

6th Oct 2009, 20:23

Do you still have the Cadillac?

2000 Cadillac DeVille Base 4.6L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Wouldn't spend a lot for one

Faults:

Bought this car 1 month ago. Beautiful ride, great road performance, but alas, General Motors cheap parts.

The car has 2 windows that don't work.

The A/C crackles like popcorn, the cheap base speakers crackle like popcorn.

Got in the car one day, the rearview mirror was dangling in the air by the electrical cord, took a chunk of glass with it from the windshield.

I smell something burning sometimes.

The car stalls all the time (believe it's the dreaded crankshaft position sensors).

The rear A/C for the rear passengers blows cold air no matter the setting.

The torque converter clutch solenoid code is on with the check engine light.

Have I missed anything?

General Comments:

General Motors has the right ideas, but their quest to mass produce vehicles in volume with cheap parts will always be the downfall of the company.

It's a shame, the car is beautiful, but my 1997 Taurus was more reliable, and my 1987 Ford pickup was more reliable. No wonder you can get them for cheap used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2009

2000 Cadillac DeVille 4.6L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

What a shame!

Faults:

Can't open one of the rear doors from the inside.

Broken map light button, broken manual driver lock button, dash warped, front seat heater, rear climate control vent broken.

Wipers won't work some times if set to intermittent, steamed up windows.

Coolant light warning keeps coming on, traction control warning light keeps coming on, burnt out LEDs in center tail light.

Drivers rear window regulator.

General Comments:

The car has just under 70k on it. I have not had the problem with the front end. I am however a victim of the shrinking dashboard. What a shame for a 40k car.

Lost the drivers rear window regulator. I had the local window shop replace it for half the dealer price.

Driver's seat heater replaced under warranty; now the back of the seat doesn't heat up.

I keep getting a check coolant warning, I keep checking it & it's still there. I had the system pressure checked; no leaks, but I've never owned a car with such a window fogging problem. I live north of Boston, it gets cold & damp up here. When it's cold and damp, I must leave the temp on high & the defrost on, or I can't see.

Now I've having traction control problems. Yellow warning light comes on after a few minutes of driving. Not all the time, just when it's wet or snowing out! Local garage pulled a brake light switch code. Changed that with no luck.

Now for the good, it's a great looking car, it gets incredible gas mileage for the size & it's quite fast. But nothing makes up for the uncertainty of what's going to break next, & how much it will cost.

If anyone has any idea as to what's causing the fogging up & the traction problems, I'm all ears. Be quick though, I'm considering an Infiniti as I write this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2009

3rd Jul 2009, 01:18

Don't know what's causing the window fogging problem. But it sounds like you bought a flood damaged vehicle. It could've come from Hurricane Katrina area or some other flood damaged disaster area.

3rd Sep 2009, 09:19

This car was a one owner old lady. It never left the state of Ma.

26th Dec 2010, 13:55

With you mentioning the defroster problem, you may want to check your heater core. When the heater core is going out, it's really difficult to defrost the windows.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews