2005 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America


Good value for the money


I have had no major problems with this car since purchasing it new.

Two minor problems:

(1) The suspension is pretty noisy (lots of creaking). I've had it into the dealer for this several times and they say it is normal.

(2) The air compressor used to make a very loud rattling noise whenever it was used. Had it fixed while under warranty.

General Comments:

This car is the most fuel efficient car I've ever owned. Never less than 35 MPG HWY (and I monitor it closely). Highest has been 37 with little stopping.

Perhaps the biggest flaw is the engine size. When running the A/C, performance takes a big hit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2008

2005 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America


Garbage, a waste of money


For starters, the alignment is garbage, always needs to be fixed.

The rear wheel bearing need to replaced already.

The suspension squeals like a dying pig all the time.

The dash clock resets itself constantly, and the anti-theft alarm started going off randomly, so when I stopped arming it, it just died.


General Comments:

I find it sad that after 2 years of driving the bloody thing, it's already at this point. Maybe you get to save money on gas and insurance, but I'll trade this thing in for a beast SUV any day :)

Anyone have advice as whether I should just get a new car, or attempt to fix it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2008

6th Jun 2008, 16:48

Just sell it and get something better- GM products are miserable.

6th Jun 2008, 23:52

The Aveo has been at the absolute bottom of every review I've read concerning comparisons between compact cars. Sell it and buy an import.

16th Jun 2008, 21:46

But the Aveo is an import - it's made by Daewoo in Korea.

31st Dec 2008, 23:25

Get a Japanese import; I like Toyota's. Never have a problem with them.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo from North America


Great gas Milleage - 40mpg


My 2005 Aveo now has 110,000 miles on it and climbing by 170 miles a day. The only issue I had was the oil pressure switch went out and oil was pouring out of the car which was a easy fix and I am still on the original back tires!

The car has been so reliable I plan on buying a second one once this one reaching 200,000 miles. I change the oil every 3,000 miles and I did the air filter twice. The best thing about my Aveo is I average around 40 mpg which is a manual trans. My friend also drives a 2005 Aveo a lot and has 125,000 on it and his has never been in the shop, but he is on his 3rd set of ties.

General Comments:

Great car for the price, you really can't go wrong for a $10K car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

16th May 2008, 15:27

Thank you for this review. I have been interested in the Aveo as a possible better-mileage replacement for my current GM compact second car in a few years. I've driven the Aveo and found it to be a very smooth and comfortable small car. Finding anything that gets over 30mpg is hard.

We've had experience with a Honda Civic and the constant repair costs would offset any savings on fuel. The Toyota Corolla gets good mileage, but Toyota's quality has gone to the dogs and their Yaris is on the "10 Worst cars" list.

It's good to know that the Aveo is a reliable high-mileage car. I'm not ready to trade yet, but when I do it will be a top choice, along with the solid and reliable late model Cavaliers.

13th Aug 2011, 13:08

I have a 2005 Aveo. Only small issues here.

Driver's side door lock fell inside the door.

Thermostat housing cracked, and head light bulbs and general maintenance like timing belt replacement and rear wheel bearings; all easy repairs.

I'm now approaching 196000 miles, it doesn't use any oil, and I change it every 6000. Great car for the money.