2005 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America


I still love my car


I have had my Aveo for almost 4 years, and have had no problems besides the locking mechanism on the gas tank door breaking off in the first year.

And now out of the blue, my key gets stuck in the ACC position and won't turn off. I found that if I disconnect the battery, my key will turn to the off position and I can remove them, but this is inconvenient. I found this out because I work the graveyard shift and didn't want my battery to die, so I disconnected the battery and then showed my co-worker what I was talking about, and as soon as I showed him, the keys came out.

And now starting today, it takes a couple of tries to get it out of park. This better be the end of my problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2009

15th Jun 2009, 10:36

It's probably the beginning of your problems. I mean, even Aveos get older.

15th Jun 2009, 16:04

You might need a new ignition lock/switch assembly.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo from North America




This car needs an exorcism. This car in the year and half or so since I've had it has been in the shop 15 times. They replace the bearings 2 or 3 times now. There is still some undetermined noise under the car.

It costs me 50 bucks to replace the gas cap, only to find out later it was recalled.

It spit out the whole timing belt assembly when I backed out of the yard.

Now it is broken down because the PLASTIC thermostat housing completely came apart riding down the interstate during rush hour.

DO NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT buy one of these cars. They are lemons!!!

General Comments:

Crap!!! Lemon!!! Money sucker!!! Do not buy!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2009

2005 Chevrolet Aveo 1.6 from North America


Small car, big value


3 recalls on the throttle body, no big deal, the service took no more than an hour each time.

Only real problem was a line on the clutch master cylinder leaked and had to be towed to the dealership and repaired under warranty. At about 55,000km I believe.

The stock sound system is rather weak.

General Comments:

Fuel economy is pretty good I find, especially when using care in driving. I surpass the advertised fuel economy numbers on a regular basis when doing so.

The vehicle's handling is nothing to brag about, but is reasonable for the purpose it's meant for, a commuter vehicle. But it's worth mentioning that it can be fairly capable when pushed to reasonable limits in various weather climates; snow (especially with winter tires), rain, dry pavement, gravel.

The air conditioner works as well as the day I bought the car.

Well equiped for the price, with power windows, heated/ power mirrors, and A/C.

My one peeve with the interior is how when driving with a passenger in the front passenger seat, I occasionally bump their knee when engaging fifth gear. But I rarely have passengers.

Though anytime I do have passengers in the car, they are always impressed with the roominess of the vehicle.

The oil filter is a bit of a hassle to get at, same with a few of the air filter box bolts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2009

2005 Chevrolet Aveo LS 4 cylinder 1.6L from North America


Very poor


There is a rattling in the steering column, door rest rattle, bushing on the control arm has gone out 4 times, A/C compressor went out at 50,000.

The key got stuck in the ignition and the car wouldn't go into park 60,000.

Front speakers sometime don't work at all.

Seat belts are fraying.

General Comments:

You can hear a lot of engine noise and tire noise in the cabin.

I have never been able to find out if they even sell an Aveo with cruise control. This is not a long distance travel vehicle.

The only good feature about this car is its size. Easy to park, and easy to get in and out of traffic.

The motor is underpowered, and the interior is just to cheap for what I paid for it. You can nick the door panels just by hitting it with a clip board.

Paint job is terrible. I carefully set a clothes basket on the trunk and the paint scratched.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2008

21st Oct 2008, 21:09

It's a GM, which would explain all of the trouble. I feel bad you got stuck in one.

22nd Oct 2008, 15:12

It's possibly worse than a GM, since it started life as a Daewoo...

'Nuff said!

22nd Oct 2008, 23:16

Rented an Aveo.

Drove at night; got 45+ miles per gallon on the freeway. Cold air packs more oxygen, hot air does the opposite. Expect higher miles per gallon in cold weather than in hot one.

Someone put too much oil in crankcase. The RPMs were going up and down all the time. Do not know if it was related, or something else. Otherwise, worked great. Best MPGs ever.

Do not know if I would own one. I do not trust cheapo American car electronics.

All I know is if you take preventive measures, most cars go a long way.

I have never heard of frayed seat belts before.