2005 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America


Good value for the price


Recently my car alarm has been randomly going off. My headlights started flickering about a week ago, and now they won't go on at all. Any ideas or comments would be REALLY helpful!!!

General Comments:

No complaints. I am a college student, and it gets me back and forth from school and work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2008

8th Oct 2008, 06:46

I own a 2004 Aveo, and the headlights burn out constantly.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo lt 1.3 from North America


I am unhappy with the Aveo


6 months after I purchased the aveo the front end started squeaking.. took to dealership 2 times, they say nothing is wrong. the brakes jerk around, and the shifting into 3rd or from 3rd to 4th when its hot or cold it staggers or revs up way too high and when I let off the gas it might shift.. takes it about 1/4 to 1/2 mile before it shifts...doesn't happen so much in the summer as it does in the winter. had to replace tires already. the door handles have to be tightened every 6 months to a year. they start rattling. the radio and speakers sucks!

The seats are uncomfortable... too hard. the blinker when turning right will not shut off, I have to use my finger to turn it off.

I have had to replace the 02 censor in it too.

I am not happy with this car at all... it is cheaply made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2008

2005 Chevrolet Aveo LS 1.6 from North America


Bad car. I bought this brand new in March of 05. Come December of 05 I took in as the gears were sticking in 3rd gear. It did not shift to 4th until 45 minutes down the road off racket. Still have this problem during the winters, dealership can't find problem or fix it. I have taken it back every winter since 05.

Still under warranty, nothing wrong, well come this June I experienced new problems. It started missing and cutting off when I would go out and start it. We have done all the maintenance such as oil changes, filters and spark plugs. The thing that gets me is I still have the same exact problems as before, and nothing is being done or they can't find the problem.

So to everyone, Chevy Aveo's are cheap but cheaply made as well! Beware, I will never own a Chevy or Aveo; should've stuck with Ford. I'm an owner of a Ford Ranger 98 with 210,000 miles and it still runs like a champ!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2008

12th Aug 2008, 10:45

It should be noted that automatics in OBD-II vehicles DO NOT shift to overdrive until the car is warmed up due to emissions requirements. Forty five minutes is excessive, but may indicate a sensor or thermostat problem - especially if the motor remains cold or below normal operating temperature most of that time.

Not good in a relatively new car, but not as bad as a faulty transmission.

12th Aug 2008, 12:47

Please don't blame CHEVY for the problems with the Aveo, as it is a Korean import, not a GM product. We switched to GM some years back due to horrible service at our local Ford dealers. We had one Ford that topped 300,000 miles with virtually no repairs, and I've owned 4 Rangers, all of which have been totally flawless. I can't complain about Ford, just the dealerships.

Our GM cars have really blown us away, however, as the performance, reliability and even gas mileage (24 highway out of a 275 horespower SUV) have all been incredible. In 8 years one of our GM vehicles has required front brake pads. The other has required absolutely NOTHING in the way of repairs.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo LT 1.6 liter from North America


Good economy car


Nothing has gone wrong.

I didn't like the tires so I replaced them at about 25000 miles with BF Goodrich Traction TAs. It made a real difference with handling.

The car is great. For 14000 it does what I expect it to.

General Comments:

Good car, would buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2008