2005 Chevrolet Aveo 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

The rear seat belt became jammed within a year of purchase.

The daytime lights need to be replaced at least 3 times a year. You can't turn them off (not good).

The front end suspension creaks and rattles, this also started within a year of purchase. I took it to the dealership I purchased it from, but I was told it wasn't leaking, so they wouldn't replace (it was under warranty at the time).

When I spoke of the other issues I wanted to have checked, I was told that I would be charged per complaint (absolutely ridiculous).

There is a funky odor that comes from vents when the heat is on, and I've noticed gasoline smells as well. There is so much, I could go on and on but my head is starting to hurt so I will stop.

Oh, and to the people who talk about test driving, your time will come...

General Comments:

It got me from point A to point B, but its time has come to an end. In the shop for timing belt issues (engine) and I still owe money on it. OMG... really!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2010

21st Oct 2010, 13:18

123,000 miles? Is this your original timing belt? You may have broken a record if it is. You are supposed to be going onto your third one at 120K miles, since they recommend it be changed at 60K miles. Not sure why so many people with these cars don't know about this major service interval, since it can really affect your engine when it breaks.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo LT from North America

Faults:

Repeated gear shift lock issues. Need to use the key to release along with the brake lights not working.

Read this link: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_you_fix_an_Aveo_that_will_not_let_you_shift_out_of_park

Easy fix, but the problem has happened twice already on my car in less than 40K miles. Many threads and posts for this issue. Chevrolet should consider a recall and resolve this issue, rather than reflect poorly on their quality.

Head gasket also went, but they do have a higher quality replacement part available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2010

2005 Chevrolet Aveo from North America

Summary:

Never will buy one again

Faults:

Timing belt needed to be replaced after 62,000 miles with no warning.

Engine light seems to go on for just about anything.

Stop light switch went bad after purchasing the car.

Thermostat housing needed to be replaced.

After just getting an oil change, the car is knocking pretty hard, among other little noises. Oil looks fine, but it looks to me like fresh oil lining the whole motor, but nothing on the ground. I am taking it in this week to have it looked at.

Seems to me like this is a problem for way too many people, and it worries me that I will have to purchase a new motor!

General Comments:

Although my Aveo has wonderful gas mileage, I have had nothing but trouble since I purchased the car in 2007. For a new car, it certainly makes a lot of noises when going over bumps and such. And like other people, I just thought it needed to be lubed up or something.

I have also noticed that the tread on my back tires wear unevenly, because it looks as if the tires are inverted in the back. In 2 years, I have gone through 3 sets of tires.

The A/C in the car has not worked since shortly after we got it. For a newer car, it has way too many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2010

12th Oct 2010, 12:19

"Timing belt needed to be replaced after 62,000 miles with no warning."

The recommended change interval is 60K miles on the timing belt for this car. Now you know why!

13th Oct 2010, 20:50

"The recommended change interval is 60K miles on the timing belt for this car. Now you know why!"

Yes. 60,000 miles is the recommended change interval. However I would say this person actually got VERY lucky with their Aveo. Most Aveo's snap their timing belts at 40,000 miles. This person managed to get an extra 22,000 out of it!

14th Oct 2010, 08:28

Yeah, well if they recommend it's changed at 60K, and mine broke at 40K, they'd be paying for it! Just another example of GM junk... or Kia/GM junk! I'd never own one of these cars...

14th Oct 2010, 16:17

Don't bash Kia - they build great cars these days.

The Aveo is a piece of crap made by Daewoo and GM just had the good sense to buy over that bankrupt company and sell their models re-badged as Chevrolets or Holdens (depending on where you live).

15th Oct 2010, 17:43

"Timing belt needed to be replaced after 62,000 miles with no warning."

There is NEVER a "warning" that a timing belt is going to break. It just snaps. With a 60,000 mile change recommendation, I'd definitely have it changed at or before that. Japanese and Korean cars are built with little or no margin for error. Domestics can often go twice the recommended change interval without breaking, but Japanese and Korean car makers take the cheapest route.