1995 Chevrolet Blazer LT from North America


Too expensive to buy and maintain!!!


I have had the tranmission replaced and my tilt steering wheel, the wire fused together. The motor went out in the adjustable drivers seat as well as the dash board went blank. I've replace the alternator, the battery and the oil pump.

Something else, I don't even know what the name of the part is, but it has something to do with controlling the transmission it went out to the toon of just $247.00 for the part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America


I love my Blazer!


As usual with this year, the front brakes are bad. I've had to replace the pads (about 6 times) and rotors (3 times). I'm still on the original rear brake pads! Had the recall work done on it, but that hasn't helped.

Rear wiper gear stripped out, but I don't use it anyhow.

Had to have 2 freeze plugs replaced at about 120,000 miles. Supposedly they rusted from the inside, but I was driving on the beach quite a bit before and the salt probably did not help.

Replacing fuel pump tomorrow.

General Comments:

Considering the mileage and age of this truck, I've gotten great service from it. I really enjoy the ride! This is my 3rd GM vehicle that I've driven for over 160,000 miles (78 Chevy van, 86 GMC Jimmy).

Lube, Oil and Filter changes every 3,000 miles (or so).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

27th Nov 2003, 22:25

I am amazed I stumbled upon this site and I have a 95 s-10 and I believe my freeze plug is bad I have 120 k miles and mine is rusted out too! do I have to take out the engine to get to it?

5th Feb 2010, 02:15

I like our little "chick truck" I try to pretend I don't. Am dealing with leaking oil filter lines. Have to jack the motor up? yikes..!..

1995 Chevrolet Blazer S-10 from North America


A Piece of Junk


I have had problems as other owners on this website... Erg valves, oxygen sensors, brakes, you name it it has happened and it has cost me plenty. I will not recommend this type of vehicle to anyone, I will tell them to steer away from Chevy products. This has been one bad experience for me. So far is has cost me over 3000.00 in repairs in the last two years and my service engine light has come on once again. That light just means for me to pay another 1000.00 for repairs so I can bring it back next year. Either the machine is a piece of junk or the mechanics do not know what they are doing. My next one will be a FORD!

General Comments:

The SUV Rides nice.

Have a Repair Bank account opened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

9th Sep 2009, 14:24

Fords are worse than Chevys. My dad has a Ford and it is already starting to fall apart. My boyfriend has a Chevy from the same year and it's running great. Don't go to Ford. You just have to treat a Chevy right and it will do great.

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America


Buyer beware!


Fuel Pump, water pump, alternator (twice), ABS master computer, transmission, EGR valve, injectors, radiator, oil cooler, ac, seat belts, 4 x 4 switch, ignition, complete dash wiring meltdown including steering column, & exhaust system (twice).

General Comments:

Maintenance nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

3rd Oct 2004, 19:01

I would agree with you. My blazer has only 139,000 miles on it and I have had to rebuild the engine and the transmission.

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America


Like a Rock?


Rear windshield wiper didn't work when I bought the truck.

Front brakes wear to easily.

Fuel injectors had to be replaced at 120,000 miles. ($600.00)

Exhaust replaced at 100,000 miles.

Serpentine replaced at 110,000 miles.

Starter replaced at 100,000 miles.

Oh yea. Engine seized 2 weeks after fuel injectors were replaced, at about 121,000 miles. (brand new engine with 3yr GM warranty $3,000 installed)

ABS haven't worked since I bought the truck, GM did have a recall for something to do with this, but they fixed that part and claim my problem goes further.

Shocks are a bit soft now... replacing soon, also needs new breaks within weeks.

General Comments:

My truck does look great. I keep up on the body, have put a few accessories on, and it does turn heads.

Reliability sucks. Creeks and rattles a bit too much.

Stock sound system is crap..3 of six speakers "sometimes" work.

The only reason I have not sold this car is because although it's been a headache and expensive. With only a few more minor repairs it should be ready for me to drive into the ground for several more years. Chevy's expression "Like a Rock" or "We'll be there" should say in small print..."after several thousand dollars in repairs, and several rental cars."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

5th Mar 2004, 11:35

The repairs described above are the normal mileages to be changed. And an engine seizing has nothing to do with fuel injectors. Was there oil in it? Anyone can seize any engine if you push it too hard without enough oil. Normal repairs at normal mileage. If you expect to go 200,000 before any repairs then wait about 20 years when the technology has got there.