1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS 2WD 4.3 from North America


Have a good nest egg (Blazer Repair Fund)


Replaced the transmission at 53000 miles, and of course did not have the extended warranty. Cost over 2,000.00.

Replaced the alternator at 80000 miles.

Fuel injectors started misfiring just before I got rid of it, not my problem any more.

Back hatch released while travelling down the highway at about 60mph, now it leaks.

Also had problem with the anti-lock brakes which the dealer could not detect.

General Comments:

When the Blazer ran it was quick on the start, and had a quiet, smooth ride. Cruised at over 90mph like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

27th Feb 2002, 17:00

The ABS problem has been recalled, its an ABS switch that is malfunctioning.

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3L V6 from North America


A typical American made product


Oil hose to the oil pump blew at 69,000 miles or a month after the 5 year engine warranty was up. This caused the engine to seize up. Cost of replacement $3,000 (using a GM refurbished engine).

Refurbished engine under warranty was using a quart of oil every tank of gas. Engine was overhauled with no charge by Chevrolet.

Computer fuel injection module had a crack in it dumping fuel into the cylinders. Cost of replacement - $375. Mileage, 67,000.

Service engine soon (SES) light comes on while towing. Fault code points to the Oxygen Sensor. Mileage 69,000.

High brake pad wear. Brake pads replaced on the front every 30,000 miles.

Transmission fluid leaking into the transfer case, seals had to be replaced along with a sensor switch. Cost of repair $290. Mileage 75,000.

General Comments:

Overall, I have been happy with the Blazer until the engine seized up. This is a "known" problem. There are 10 entries on the NHTSA Defects page and I'm sure Chevrolet has more examples of this.

The truck/SUV can carry just about anything. Plenty of cargo space.

4WD works fine and have towed a camper repeatedly the last 3 years for trips up to 600 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America


OK when it's not broken down


O2 sensor 3 times.

EGR valve 2 times.

All the ball joints 1 time.

Idler arm 2 times.

Alternator 1 time,

S.E.S lite is still an on going problem no one can fix.

And now I have a loud clunk when backing out of the garage that no one can fix.

General Comments:

I think car makers are putting too many bells and whistle on cars and the mechanics can't keep up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1995 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 from North America


Can be high maintenance!!


My transmission went out after a trip at 60,000 miles.

Recently, took the vehicle in for a service on the 4WD & replaced the oil cooler line. I was told the actuator for the 4WD was worn due to an acid leak from battery, and the water pump was leaking. And by the way the vehicle was getting harder and harder during cranking. Was told this was a fuel pump problem and need replacement.

General Comments:

And yes, all this happened after last payment was made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

17th May 2001, 13:10

We purchased a 1995 Chevy S-10 Blazer less than a year ago. Have had only minor problems until yesterday. The OIL COOLER HOSE supposedly burst and in the very short distance it took to get off the road, we now have to replace our engine. I'd be interested in hearing if anyone else has had this problem. Our mechanic tells us we either drove over something or something flew up and hit the hose.

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America


Clunk... clunk... clunker


Brakes (twice in 2 years and I don't take long trips).

A CONTINUOUS engine light problem that has never been resolved.

The torque converter was replaced by MY mechanic after the dealership said the problem I was having was an oil pump (and MY mechanic saved me 1500 bucks).



Can count on both hands the number of technical recalls I've had.

Front passenger side door lock jammed.

Is that enough?

Not to mention a lack of satisfaction when dealing with dealership personnel.

General Comments:

I can't WAIT till my lease is up and I can give this hunk o'junk back.

Driving wise, comfort wise, I will admit it is nice. But the negatives FAR outweigh the positives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

27th Dec 2003, 12:13

We have had numerous problems with our 95 Chevy Blazer. The fuel system, we had the ERG valve unclogged many times and the fuel pump changed. Now it's back in the shop again due to the spider system. Have you had any problems with this also?Please advise, thank you!

21st Dec 2006, 08:43

Yeah I have the exact same problems with my car, I replaced the EGR valve, the starter, brakes, and the alternator, and then I replaced the spider unit and it was riding find for a week or so and it started giving me the same problems, my 1995 chevy s10 blazer is in the shop now, the mechanic states its my computer that went out.

29th Dec 2006, 05:46

You guys are complaining about a vehicle that is more than 10 years old. You have had plenty of time to weigh the cost/benefit. Any vehicle that old or with more than 75,000 miles on it is a nickel and dimer.

9th Jan 2007, 14:11

We bought a 1995 Chevrolet Blazer in 1994, one of the first ones. Aside from some ticking noises caused by a wiring harness routed too close to the transmission, and a minor transmission leak they fixed under warranty, we have had no problems other than normal maintenance items, and items that have worn out over time. Heck, it's a 12-year-old truck, with 137,000 miles on it, and we take it off road quite a bit so it gets shaken up a lot. We have been very happy with our purchase.