1995 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 5 of 20

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 CPI V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 CPI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Built well and keeps running

Faults:

EGR valve kept clogging.

Catalytic Converter was clogged.

Most of the steering linkages had to be replaced.

Heater core leaks.

General Comments:

It handles as you would expect an SUV to handle, but the V6 has enough power to fight traffic.

The leather has held up really well, 12 years old now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2007

19th Sep 2013, 03:14

Ours has the leather as well, which is in superb condition.

We've experienced same problems with the EGR valve; they get clogged with carbon (my 98 & 99 Luminas with the 3.1 V6 had same issue, thanks GM).

Ours has 170k on it and is still going strong, and the 4.3 sounds SO good with a Flowmaster exhaust. I have a 351W V8 in my Lincoln, and the Blazer sounds and runs better than that now.

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4X4 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Great power, simple, yet good looking vehicle and reliable when maintained properly

Faults:

Tranny went out at 135,000.

Water Pump went out at 105,000.

General Comments:

I actually got on her to give a good comment about the Blazer. Everybody only gets on these websites to complain. Blazers are not that bad of a vehicle! MAINTAIN them properly and they will last forever. I would still be driving mine if I didn't roll it 3 times and I am positive I could have gotten well over 200,000 miles on it before anything too serious happened. I would recommend this vehicle to someone as long as you know if was takin care of by its previous owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2007

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LT four door Four wheel drive 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A complete waste of money! NEVER buy one!

Faults:

Oil lines have gone three times many oil leaks. Frost plugs have gone bad (very expensive.) Starter has gone bad four times Alternator has been replaced eight times. Check engine light is constantly on! Replaced seven various sensors, some repeatedly! All Ball joints, and bushings have been replaced. Transmission was replaced! Fuel Pump was replaced three times. Four Wheel Drive system was replaced, $800.00 Power seat failed, a faulty wire. EGR Valve has been replaced five times!!

General Comments:

The Blazer has a very powerful engine, I could always beat most cars from a red light! The ride is very comfortable with the LT suspension, Handling is mediocore, It never lets you forget it is a truck! And has a roomy interior! However this vehicle is the biggest piece of junk ever!! There is always something wrong with it! Constant trips to the dealer on a flatbed! I have wasted more time and money on this vehicle than I care to remember! It will be traded of for a brand new Land Rover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2007

19th Sep 2013, 03:19

We have a '95 Blazer with 170k and it's been great. The EGR can be be cleaned and re-used. As for your replacement, how's the Land Rover working out as far as repairs and expenses go, I'd LOVE to hear now.. ;-)

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LT V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance218550 miles

Summary:

The best SUV I have owned!!

Faults:

We have had a reoccuring problem with the EGR and O2 sensor.

General Comments:

With 218,000+ miles what is there to say. Except for regular scheduled repairs we have had little or no problems (see above). Replaced the serpentine belt at 125,000 miles. Replaced the muffler system at 210,000 miles and a new fuel pump at 212,000 miles. All other equipment is still original. VERY reliable SUV!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2006

1995 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChery G20 Van

Summary:

Don't risk it

Faults:

Almost everything.

I bought the car for $5200 and put probably double that into it to keep it running. All the usual - ball joints, $600 tune up, cat converter, exhaust, power steering, on and on.

I think ABS was going.

Window motor.

Always hated the power steering feel and the brake power.

The gas pedal makes you pivot your ankle so your leg hurts. My wife could not drive the car long distances for that reason.

It was in the shop A LOT.

Should have read the reviews here before buying.

I think the only Chevy products worth the money are the G series vans, Caprices, and Suburbans.

General Comments:

THe back seats were too small, and the seat slants up like many small SUVs. The kids hated the back seats. The rear hatch and fold down seats were convenient. The car is a nice size and idea, but just poor construction.

I thought the 4.3 Vortec was going to be a winner. My opinion is that it is a good engine, but shrouded in a poor "rest of the car"

AC always worked, thankfully.

For the money I put into this car, I would have been better off buying a much better car to start with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2006

22nd Feb 2007, 12:35

Yea they don't build blazers like they use to

84-94 Blazers are defintly the best.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 84 reviews