1985 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 2.8 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Piece of Crap, But I love it

Faults:

T-tops leak.

Windshield wipers don't turn off.

No door locks (Big holes)

Rust holes on entire body.

Engine Blew after a week. Thus making me VERY VERY ANGRY!

Cassette player on radio doesn't work.

Rear shocks need to be replaced.

Very loud... Would be too loud even if it was a V8.

Even MORE of those STINKING rust holes...!

General Comments:

For $750, I really got ripped off..

My Friend has an '89 Grand Am and that thing will Smoke the pants off this thing even when it is running... He got his for $400... Hmmmmmmm..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

23rd Mar 2003, 12:35

Alright, I got a 1985 berlinetta camaro. I bought it with 62,000 original miles and it runs like a dream. You need to get something right, it's a 2.8 v6, and after reading your review it sounds like your car is just a rust bucket anyways. Unless you're an idiot, you'd be able to tell if a car was going to blow its motor after a week when you bought it.

21st Nov 2005, 09:38

I also have a '85 v6 Berlinetta and my car runs great, you shouldn't've bought it if you didn't research and inspect it a whole lot, I'm a chick and I know that!!

4th Oct 2010, 19:50

I also have a 1985 Camaro Berlinetta with a 305 V8. She runs great, looks beautiful. No rust or huge cracks or dents. It has been treating me just fine since I tuned her up. I put 14,000 miles on her just within the past 6 months.

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 305 High Output from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 305 High Output Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired234509 kilometres
Most recent distance254638 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A speed demons love Monkey

Faults:

Bought it with a broken exhaust pipe.

Needed new oil pan.

Rear tires are bald.

Needs new passenger side fender.

General Comments:

With this car you can really pound the pedal and feel the power behind you.

This is a great motor to work with. It is really easy to add a lot of power doing the easiest things.

The Z28 is a great looking car. If you want some sex appeal I suggest you look into buying one.

A great car to drive day to day, and if you want a great car to take to the track.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

16th Jun 2008, 15:22

I'm looking into an 84 Z28, and I hope the deal works out so I can have as much fun with it as you all have.

And in the oh by the way category, I wonder why only the rear tires are bald. *sniff sniff* I smell rubber.

1985 Chevrolet Camaro 2.8 MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200021 kilometres
Most recent distance228585 kilometres

Summary:

I'd stay away from a Camaro,

Faults:

Had to replace the following: fuel filter, wires, rotor, distributor cap, O2 sensor, accelerator coil, both valve cover gaskets (leaked oil on both sides), master cylinder (brakes), rebuilt my transmission ($900), new radiator, water pump, brakes, mass air flow sensor ($411), heater blower motor.

I did most of this work myself, everything except physically rebuilding my tranny. I did take it out myself, got it rebuilt, and put it back in my car. Then something else went (didn't fix the tranny right, so I had to drop it out, get it fixed, again, and put it back in.

General Comments:

This car is a lot of work to keep it running. Not reliable. Not good on gas. Not very much power. The only good thing about a Camaro is the looks, and the hatch area that is perfect for a custom fitting sub-box. It does however start good in the winter. Even without it plugged in, and -30, it will start. It handles quite nicely, and is fun to cruise in. It is a rough ride though. Not a very good suspension system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

17th Nov 2003, 04:46

Being the proud owner of a 85 camaro, I can tell you that a lot of the problems you are having comes from a lack of care and upkeep of the car. If your transmission is the 700R4 and is exposed to a lot of racing it will not last, it is built for fuel economy, but it do still have bugs in it. I would suggest that you try a performance upgrade if you chose to build it again. As for the suspension, in 85 not many cars had good ones, but there are a lot of aftermarket parts avail. now that will really smooth out the ride. I will agree that it is sometimes a hard car to maintain, but it is very inexpensive to repair, (compared to a lot of vehicles today), the good thing is it is possible to do most of the work yourself with limited knowledge of mechanics. To sum this all up, you must be a lover of classic American muscle to do the car justice.

11th Oct 2004, 21:52

Here's my little story about Shevy Camaro 1985, 4 cylinders. I bought it in 1996-second hand and it did serve me for the next 8 years.

Just recently the mechanic has told me that the frame rails wore out and cannot be replaced or welded because they are made of alloy.

So I guess the car is ready to be sold for parts which all are good.

Any suggestions?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 29 reviews