1985 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Sport Coupe 2.8 V6 multi-port from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 multi-port Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

A good car. Be careful buying a used car though

Faults:

Well I have had the car for a little over a month.

The starter is gone.

The dealer took out my stereo and speakers.

It clunks in the back (shocks).

I am giving it a paint job over the winter.

The speedometer and odometer all of a sudden stopped working. At the same time, my CHECK ENGINE light comes on, that's the speedometer cable.

General Comments:

Overall, it's a good car. It's very very fast, Good power. Can smoke the tires no problem at all!

I bought it on August 17th.

I need to get a stereo for it though.

The handling is great and it runs like the beast that it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2001

4th Oct 2007, 21:17

Your 2.8 auto is "very, very fast"? Someone get this guy a ride in a "fast" car, asap! :)

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Sport Coupe 2.8 Multi-Port V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 Multi-Port V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired108530 miles
Most recent distance108545 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Wished I had it longer

Faults:

I didn't have the car long enough for anything to really "go wrong".

Although, I did notice oil leaking from one of the valve covers, and dripping down onto the manifold, which would begin to smoke once the engine got warm.

Aside from the smell though, it wasn't too big of a deal.

General Comments:

Okay, so here's the deal. It was sort of a love/hate thing with this car.

I only had it for two weeks because of two reasons:

One - I am one of those people who buys things they can't afford, and then gets all annoyed when they can't keep said things.

Two - After my landlord noticed that I was parking it more than I was driving it, he made it known that if I didn't move it within a certain period of time, he would have it towed.

So, I sold it. Mostly because of the money trouble I was having at the time.

Anyway, back to the love/hate part.

I loved this car because it was a blast to drive. That little 2.8 Multi-Port is one good little engine, and the manual transmission made it all the more fun.

I hated it because of the money problems I was having, and buying it made said problems even worse, but as we all know, that's my fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

1985 Chevrolet Camaro 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65500 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Great car to own!

Faults:

I have just gotten it.

It clunks in the back because it needs air shocks, and the idiot dealer took out my stereo and speakers.

The car runs great and performs like a champ, as a matter of fact, I just left a Ford Probe GTS in the dust last night.

General Comments:

This car kicks some serious bootay!! It's very very fast for being a V6. Has earth shaking rumble and power like you wouldn't believe!! I love it, and I wouldn't give it up for the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

2nd Mar 2004, 17:38

Race my cavalier z24 and we will see who is left in the dust.

16th Jun 2004, 08:58

Yeah I got a Cavi z24 and I'm pretty sure I could waste you.

25th Apr 2008, 16:19

My car is pretty slow. I raced a Ford Escort GT and lost!! But overall it's a good car 2 cruise in. I have had to replace my tranny & it needs a paint job. From 0-40 it's pretty slow, but from 40-60 it's nice. From 60-85 it's very slow!

26th Apr 2008, 13:23

A buddy of mine had one of these years ago. It was an okay car for cruising around and regular driving, but "earth shaking rumble"? Probably not unless you cut the exhaust off at the manifolds. "Power you wouldn't believe?" I don't think so. He could usually get it to chirp the tires if he did a neutral drop on an oil slick, but otherwise...

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62300 miles
Most recent distance65412 miles
Previous carFord Galaxie

Summary:

American muscle and style!

Faults:

Turn signal "TAB" contacts broke, resulting in no turn signals.

Driver's side seat belt will not retract into the ceiling.

Just minor repairs otherwise.

General Comments:

This car thinks it's a European sports car, and demands the treatment!! "Give me a tune-up once a year or else!!" On the flip side, it performs like one of those exotics as well. It corners like a sports car should! The ability for rapid acceleration is something that you have to experience at least once a week.

The car always gets noticed by everyone, most with a gratifying envy that only fellow Camaro owners will understand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 15:29

I also had turn signal trouble and paid $150 for an Illinois outfit to repair plus local garage charges for removal and installation. Unfortunately now we find that when I press the headlight switch the dashboard lights go out. Am desperately looking for help on the problem. Please advise ASAP.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 29 reviews