1985 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1985 Chevrolet Camaro RS 2.8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres

Summary:

Gets alot of looks, great car!!

Faults:

Oxygen sensor after 200,000.

Disk + brake pads.

Oil change every 3000.

General Comments:

This is a very good car. Reliable and fast plus it has a lot of power for a V6

It is also very good on gas, unless you kill the speed on the highway in that case you go on empty in no time.

Aggressive look and nice engine sound, specially if you add a 3 inch tail pipe.

Handles very well for a muscle car.

This car is amazing for it's engine size. Obviously if it were the 5.7 V8 it would be a monster. But never the less it packs a good punch and it will last for a very long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

3rd Jun 2006, 17:13

It's funny really, you say just because his camaro is a v6 its not a muscle car, that's cool, so what happens if he drops in say a 383 stroker with 450+ hp then what does that make it? I suggest you think before you post arrogant, ignorant comments.

4th Jun 2006, 08:39

The motor is one of the most important parts that make up a muscle car. A 2.8 or 3.1 or whatever it is, doesn't make it a muscle car.

19th Jul 2006, 16:59

V6 or V8 is not the point, the point is that it's a camaro, and that is a car of it's own. All Camaro owner are in it together no matter what your cylinder size. And by the way a camaro IROC stock can be beat by a Honda Civic off the blocks since its heavy as an elephant. The V8 engine is only good for once you reach top speeds. Next time actually try something before you make a comment.

9th Sep 2011, 17:07

All right, using that logic, what would you call the 303 hp V6 2011 Camaro? 1996 Camaro 3.8L V6 at 200hp can get into the high 6's for the 0-60 and run high 14's, better than the 70's Camaro V8, touted as the best Camaro, and a true representation of American muscle.

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Sports Coupe 350 Chevy from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 Chevy Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62986 miles
Most recent distance73765 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

This car is a great car to own

Faults:

It needed an overhaul when I got it.

I had to replace the power steering pump at 65,000 miles.

I had to replace the shocks and struts when I got it.

I replaced the brakes at 72,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is slick and fast and the handling is great. It gives you a rush to drive it.

The engine in this car gives it a lot of muscle.

This car attracts attention wherever it goes. It's a real eye pleaser.

The Interior is a little uncomfortable on long drives.

The backseats are too cramped for passengers, especially on long drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

14th Oct 2005, 09:57

I bought a 1984 Camaro base coupe new for $ 9,600. Only one trip to the dealer for warranty work, the gear shift knob broke. Other than brakes, tires, and exhausts, never needed any repair in the 71,000 miles I drove it. Probably the best car I ever had, although the V-6 was very underpowered. I sold it in 1993 for $ 2,000.

I think I was the only person in the world that had whitewall tires and wire wheel covers on one of these cars. Correct me if I'm wrong. All in all, a great car.

DPC.

1985 Chevrolet Camaro Sport Coupe 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance77595 miles

Summary:

The best car I have ever bought

Faults:

Only one thing has gone wrong with this car. When I first bought it the computer went out after 600 miles. I wasn't very upset because it was covered by warranty. After that there has been no problems with it.

General Comments:

Even though this car has a 4 Cylthe acceleration is pretty good. When I'm at stop lights people just stare. The paint job has held up very well for the past 20 years. Still shines like new. I am always driving in the mountains and the roads have lots of sharp turns. This car takes on those turns like nothing. The comfort in the car is incredible (for being 20 years old). I would never buy another car ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

26th Jul 2004, 10:24

You must have been driving a diesel Chevette before, to give this 4-cyl Camaro a 8/10 rating for performance!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 29 reviews