1995 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Faults:

The ignition cables went at 80 000 km.

The heater core went at 100 000 km.

The front bearings went around 102 000 km.

The engine & transmission mounts went at 105 000 km.

The defective breaks had to be completely replaced at 110 000 km.

Again, the heater core went at 125 000 km.

The head-gasket went at 135 000 km.

At 140 000 km the car went where it belongs, the junk yard.

General Comments:

Lots of annoying squeaks and rattles.

A nasty sloppy transmission, loose steering.

Horrid interior, tons of road noise.

No tachometer, just a light pops on to say shift up, real clever place to cut corners...

It was pretty good on gas, not a bad looking car.

Had a decent bit of power.

Overall I was not impressed one bit.

The GM service was horrible. Very expensive, poor quality work, that always breaks just outside of warranty. It made me feel like a sucker every time I stepped foot in the dealership.

There is a reason these cars have poor resale value, because its cheaper to buy a new one than maintain it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2007

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance81700 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Great Car for 10 years

Faults:

Motor Mounts went out at around 75K

Air Conditioning Compressor went out at around 75K

Oil Leak - needed new gasket at 75K

Didn't pass emission test at 82K.

General Comments:

Was a great car for 10 years. Almost no repairs needed. Then, suddenly at 75K, everything started going wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

Great Car!

Faults:

Replaced Alternator 2004.

The spoiler cracked.

Paint is starting to peel on the trunk and rust.

General Comments:

This is the first car I have owned. The car overall has been great!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2005

27th Mar 2006, 23:23

It seems that these cars work better as they get older. I've found that people who bought the car before 2000 hated it, and people that bought the car afterwards loved it. Very interesting. Personally, I bought the car in 2005 and love it so far... except for the head gasket repair.

20th Jul 2006, 10:12

Re - previous comment, I think the reason for this is that you can get 5 year old cavaliers for dirt cheap. People tend to be more willing to put up with blown head gaskets and oil consumption from cars that they spend $1200 for than from cars for which they spend $12000. I deal with problems left and right with my cavalier, but I don't complain because I only spent $1500 for it, I don't have to make loan payments, and insurance costs are practically non-existant. All things considered, it's hard to fault myself for buying this vehicle.

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent value at a 1400.00 price

Faults:

I installed a coilpack and a standard tune up, plugs and wires.

General Comments:

I cannot complain at all about this car, runs excellent, work out of it every day. car has remained A1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

The car is a strong, sporty, and dependable machine

Faults:

Speedometer stopped working.

Trunk latch doesn't open anymore.

Passenger seat doesn't function correctly.

Air hose was going out, but I was replacing it with a cold air intake anyway.

General Comments:

Nice healthy car overall, it is an awesome car to apply custom parts too. I have a body kit, neon's, and lots of other dress up and performance parts on my car and it's the best looking car in-town. It runs strong still with 150,000 miles on it. If you are looking for a affordable, dependable, and strong running car, I would recommend the Chevy Cavalier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2005

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier LS from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28031 miles
Most recent distance28770 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

The Car is a LEMON!

Faults:

I had the car 3 hours and the tire went flat. All 4 were rotted out. Cost: $400.

Car had a "leak and a squeak". Took it to my mechanic and had new tensioner belt motor replaced along with serpentine belt. Cost: $360.00.

Another noise a week later: Crank Shaft Pulley was leaking over motor mounts and torque mount. Crank Shaft had to be replaced and new oil put in. Cost: $460.00.

Had the car now 8 months and heard another "noise" under the hood. Compressor this time. Had to be put in and to warranty it had to get accumulator and filter and freon, $877.

Drove out of mechanic's shop and car was bouncing all over the place. Appears I need now a new Idler belt.

I haven't put, but 700 miles on this car, which had 28,031 original miles and I've almost paid in repairs as much as I paid for the car. (paid for car $3,000) Repairs so far: $2,100. I am elderly, disabled and wanted a car to get me around. What a mistake I made. What's next with this car I don't know, but I am positive something will go wrong, it has every month I've had it.

General Comments:

The car is adorable and a good size for a person alone.

The car however seems to need repairs, and major ones at that, weekly.

Great Mileage, but am spending that extra gas money on repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

23rd May 2005, 16:20

It's a GM product, not a Civic or Corolla. What did you expect?

10th Nov 2009, 21:55

Parting out my 1995 Chevy Cavalier. The sub frame is bad.

7th Dec 2010, 14:56

If you got the car used, you must have been scammed. The person definitely knew the problems. Check out the CARFAX next time.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 30 reviews