1995 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

If you've got $17000 to spare, grab one!

Faults:

Six months after purchasing the vehicle used, the water pump failed. Handily, the car was still under warranty, and the pump was replaced quickly and with no hassle.

The engine acquired what I've heard called a "wandering idle" after I'd owned it for about 2 1/2 years (about 5 months ago). For no apparent reason, the engine idle will jump to about 1000 RPM, drop to 500, then go up to 1000, again. Annoying, but not a serious problem.

A week ago, the sunroof had a problem that I couldn't readily identify. The motors sounded strained and the glass wouldn't close flush with the roof. After examination at a dealership, I was informed that one of the sunroof tracks was broken. Total parts price amounts to about $1300, covered under an extended warranty.

The factory Delco CD player tends to skip for no apparent reason, regardless of road quality or disc quality.

General Comments:

On the whole, my Cavalier has been extremely cheap to maintain. I've changed the oil at the normal time, gotten new tires once since purchase, and had a complete brake job.

As with the Hondas in my family, wash it, take care of it, and it will take care of you, as well.

I tend to prefer the front end, front light clusters and rear spoiler of the '95-'99 Z24's over the '00 & '01 models, but that hasn't stopped me in looking at the new models as prospective next cars.

One thing that I really enjoy about this particular car, and the driveline in particular, is the amount of torque to be found in the Z24, which far outdoes any torque numbers from stock Hondas, Fords and similar brands within the same car class segment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2000

10th Feb 2001, 05:48

I agree fully with you that the 00,01's aren't as nice looking!!

30th Dec 2004, 12:53

I don't. I think the 03-04s are nicest, though.

22nd Aug 2006, 17:25

Well I cannot agree with you man about the 00 and 01 models.

I think the 95-99s look a little better.

However, I think the 2003 and 2004 models Headlights are the best around, they look mean and agressive.

Which is perfect in my opinon.

23rd Nov 2007, 14:03

I loved mine, I had a 95 Z24 and it must have been about 231xxx kms when I gave it up. The only thing I had to do was replace the ABS motor pack and replace a ball joint, other than that... it was quite original and still running great. The problem is that I bought it for cheap from a dealer, but it looked really ragged and I didn't like driving it too much. I'm sure I would have kept it if it was semi-pristine in overall looks. Also, it was an auto, so it was a gumshoe.

I'm looking into another Z24. I thought I wanted a 00+, but I noticed that GM got rid of the ground effect blending on those. I love the trunk spoiler and front end, but I hate how it almost has a non-Z24 front and rear bumper. I don't like the look of the next gen due to the back bumper notch. I guess I'm going to set my sights on the 95-99 gen.

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

It's a good car for the price

Faults:

The brakes on this car are always making weird noises and when you take it to a garage it's quiet, they come and go, other than that no problems as of yet.

General Comments:

This car isn't gutsy, you can go fairly fast but it takes a while. It gets good gas milage, about 27 miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 4cyl. from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.2 4cyl.
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

1 - Head gasket replaced twice within first 25K miles (warranty work).

2 - Engine mounts replaced at around 15K miles (warranty work).

3 - Trunk lid re-painted due to corrosion problem (around 30K miles).

General Comments:

This car has been a disappointment as far as reliability goes. It's a good thing we gambled and bought the extended warranty when we bought this car.

Gas mileage is also disappointing (around 20-25 city mpg).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 30 reviews