1995 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carChevrolet cavalier

Summary:

Crappy. stay away, very far away from this car!

Faults:

I would like to start by saying that although it looks cute and sporty on the outside, please don't be deceived. I bought this car used and instantly noticed it falling apart. I referred to the car as my "Crapalier" rather than the Cavalier. I had to replace the head gasket at about 110k and the previous owner had to replace it as well!!! The overdrive transmission went out and I got stuck in a very scary intersection two times before we knew what the problem was. The doors were cracked when I got it. overall it was a poopy car and I would NOT recommend a cavalier to anyone. it cost me entirely too much to maintain for the short time that I had it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

15th Jul 2006, 07:43

I am going to have to defend the Cavalier here. We own a 95 base model, nothing fancy, and the thing is ten years old with almost 152,000 miles on it. It runs wonderfully, with the exception of a few squeaks here and there, and it's even smoother than our '00.

Compared to my friend's Jetta, which is in the shop every other month, this car is immaculate. I also owned a '93 which had 97,000 on it when we sold it, and believe me, you couldn't kill this thing if you tried.

The car was stolen off a mechanic's lot with little or no coolant in the car while it was having the radiator fixed, driven 60 miles and it still ran fine afterwards. (Afterwards meaning after the mechanic replaced the radiator for no charge after car was stolen off his lot -- but that's another story.)

I am not too sure about Chevy's reliability nowadays, but they definitely produced an inexpensive, cheap to maintain car back in the 90's, which has served us well all these years.

20th Jan 2009, 14:58

Almost everyone here that has had a problem with the Cavalier has had a problem with the head gasket. So it IS a problem. It's a design weakness.

22nd Jul 2009, 10:52

"Even my old '87 Toyota Corolla has 187,000 on it and it is still going and the car is 18 years old."

Dude, it's a Toyota. It's no surprise it's still running so well.

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance81929 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

The 1995 Chevrolet Cavalier is a lemon that I would not recommend to anyone

Faults:

Head Gasket leak at 48,505 miles.

Major internal damage to transmission at 48,505 miles.

Low Speed Heater/AC fan blower motor resistor at 60,000 miles.

Water Pump at 78,000 miles.

High Speed Heater/AC fan blower motor resistor at 80,000 miles.

Cracked cylinder head and leaking head gasket at 81,929 miles.

Starter at 81,929 miles.

General Comments:

Many of the interior items, such as console locking clip, sun visors, heater vent grates, etc. have broken, become loose, etc.

The motor on this car has had a head defect from day one, which Chevrolet acknowledged, but did not recall, which it should have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

23rd Jul 2008, 12:07

I just go rid of mine because my frame was busted. I didn't have any major problems with it. The only thing I didn't like about the car was when its cold outside, its really hard to start. I would get another one in a heartbeat. It's a great car.

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

I love this car and enjoyed owning it

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 101,000 miles.

I had to replace the alternator.

The power steering wore a hole in an air conditioning line.

General Comments:

I find this car to have been very comfortable.

Instrumentation is good and convenient for the driver.

I have never been stranded in this car due to a break down.

Good visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance168000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Relient

Summary:

I would NEVER recommend this car to ANYONE!!

Faults:

The Head Gasket blew after 150,000, which was a BIG pain.

The door panels broke right after I got the car!

The brakes don't work (ABS) and never have properly. I've had them looked at several times, and it keeps going back to the same problems.

The Fan on the rad keeps breaking.

The trunk leaks. so now I can't get the smell of rotten carpet out.

The struts were gone, after 130,000.

General Comments:

This was one of the worst investments I've ever had.

I took good care of it, and it still broke down on me, so I couldn't rely on it.

Fast little car, but not worth the maintenance.

I just sold it, for a better, more reliable truck!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

26th Aug 2004, 10:46

You bought the car at the end of its useful service life... what do you expect???

14th Jun 2005, 21:25

First year re-design American cars suck. Those people across the ocean got my 84 Corolla right the first time, which is doubly impressive considering it was the first time that a FWD setup was ever tried in that car. 150,000 miles is NOT the service life of a well made automobile, it is just barely getting started. Do yourself a favor and try out an import and see if you don't like it any better.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 30 reviews