1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America


The 1995 Chevrolet Cavalier is a lemon that I would not recommend to anyone


Head Gasket leak at 48,505 miles.

Major internal damage to transmission at 48,505 miles.

Low Speed Heater/AC fan blower motor resistor at 60,000 miles.

Water Pump at 78,000 miles.

High Speed Heater/AC fan blower motor resistor at 80,000 miles.

Cracked cylinder head and leaking head gasket at 81,929 miles.

Starter at 81,929 miles.

General Comments:

Many of the interior items, such as console locking clip, sun visors, heater vent grates, etc. have broken, become loose, etc.

The motor on this car has had a head defect from day one, which Chevrolet acknowledged, but did not recall, which it should have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

23rd Jul 2008, 12:07

I just go rid of mine because my frame was busted. I didn't have any major problems with it. The only thing I didn't like about the car was when its cold outside, its really hard to start. I would get another one in a heartbeat. It's a great car.

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America


I love this car and enjoyed owning it


My head gasket blew at 101,000 miles.

I had to replace the alternator.

The power steering wore a hole in an air conditioning line.

General Comments:

I find this car to have been very comfortable.

Instrumentation is good and convenient for the driver.

I have never been stranded in this car due to a break down.

Good visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America


I would NEVER recommend this car to ANYONE!!


The Head Gasket blew after 150,000, which was a BIG pain.

The door panels broke right after I got the car!

The brakes don't work (ABS) and never have properly. I've had them looked at several times, and it keeps going back to the same problems.

The Fan on the rad keeps breaking.

The trunk leaks. so now I can't get the smell of rotten carpet out.

The struts were gone, after 130,000.

General Comments:

This was one of the worst investments I've ever had.

I took good care of it, and it still broke down on me, so I couldn't rely on it.

Fast little car, but not worth the maintenance.

I just sold it, for a better, more reliable truck!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

26th Aug 2004, 10:46

You bought the car at the end of its useful service life... what do you expect???

14th Jun 2005, 21:25

First year re-design American cars suck. Those people across the ocean got my 84 Corolla right the first time, which is doubly impressive considering it was the first time that a FWD setup was ever tried in that car. 150,000 miles is NOT the service life of a well made automobile, it is just barely getting started. Do yourself a favor and try out an import and see if you don't like it any better.

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2 from North America


Decent car for the price


TCC Solenoid was disconnected at 105,000 miles due to stalling.

Alternator replaced at 114,000 miles.

Rattling noise from the dash.

General Comments:

This car gets very good gas mileage.

The only thing that needed to be done before the alternator and TCC Solenoid was a brake job.

Was an excellent car until about 100,000 miles, then we had a few things go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L 4-cylinder from North America


A decent looking, reliable, economical car


When I purchased the car, It was making a rattling/clicking noise under the hood. Later diagnosis revealed a faulty Automatic belt tensioner. Fixed myself for under $30.

Motor mounts are almost completely gone. (Have yet to fix)

Windshield wipers won't return to "park" position. (Have yet to fix)

Horribly clogged fuel filter prevented the car from cranking up, unless ignition was held for about 30 seconds. Replaced said filter for about $20.

Interior trim and carpet is worn and cracked, and the dash squeaks and rattles.

Air conditioning is non-functional, due to a compressor problem ($1000 repair estimate).

Driver's side headlight lens is yellowed and dull.

Door panel pins keep breaking, causing entire panel to detach from door.

General Comments:

Decent gas mileage, even compared to the Geo I used to drive.

I expected a lot of maintenance on a higher-mileage car, but this is slightly more than I bargained for.

Got the car for $2200 from a friend, and I've put about that much back into it, taking into account repairs and modifications.

To sum it up, my '95 Cavalier has had a few problems, but nothing severe enough to keep it from operating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

9th May 2006, 15:15

I am a student who has recently bought a 95 cavalier, each time I turn to the right I hear a grinding noise. what could that be due to? I thought it was the bearing, but when I got it checked out they said the bearing was fine. any ideas?

4th Jul 2006, 08:56

Grinding Guy. Ours did that too. It was a CV joint. (The knuckle on the drive axel) cost about $100 for the part.

18th Sep 2006, 15:12

Could definitely be a CV joint, or possibly even the linkage assembly (though I don't think that'd be so much "grinding", I'd have to hear the noise myself). Take it to a good shop and they should be able to find out what your problem is.