1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 13 of 16

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 4-door from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The car has been very economical and reliable for me

Faults:

I am very happy with my cavalier. I travel 130 miles per day 5 days a week. I just now have to replace my water pump. It is the only thing that has gone wrong since I owed the car although it seems mt exhaust is starting to got slightly louder and will need to be replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carPontiac 1997 Pontiac Grand A

Summary:

Great little package of muscle

Faults:

Well I have to replace the uv joints soon, then I have to replace the trans mount, but that's after 90000 miles so it is a very dependable car. It is really fast for a 4 banger, it will waste a 5.0. and mine can beat any other cavalier it will come up to. mine is stock with about 200 horses, but that's after I replaced the front end, cuz I crashed it, oops.

General Comments:

I love this car and I will beat any other cavalier so don't even pull up to me and try to race me cuz I will beat you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

10th Aug 2006, 23:35

Something tells me that this review is not as factual as it should be, lol.

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A great car for daily transportation with ok gas mileage

Faults:

The fuse for my left rear blinker was always shorting out.

Like most Cavaliers, my biggest problem was that the starter went dead around 117000 miles.

My A/C never truly performed well either.

General Comments:

Overall it was a good car, but nothing to really write home about.

It performed when it needed to, but did not accelerate quickly by any means.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired256732 miles
Most recent distance2769231 miles

Summary:

A good car

Faults:

My car smells like gas from time to time.

General Comments:

Anyone else have this problem??? what was wrong with it? please email me at DustysSweety@hotmail.com thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

An amazing little car for it's price

Faults:

My back breaks tend to lock up when the weather is cold.

ABS light is stuck on.

Headlights started to go dim.

General Comments:

This car is amazing to me, I can drive it long distances and not be scared of something going wrong. I have put a performance muffler on it and it really makes the 2.2 liter engine sound powerfull. I also never have problems getting up hills, or cruising down the highway.

Plus my Cavalier is sporty, it's truly a great first car or if you don't have a lot of money to spend on a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

This car was definitely a great buy

Faults:

Thermostat froze causing the car to run hot. Replaced it for $15.00.

The Key Cylinder burned up. I took it to a dealership and had it replaced for $250.00.

General Comments:

My Cavalier has been a great first car. The problems I've had have been minor and cheap.

It is a cute, fashionable, and stout car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64673 miles
Most recent distance97978 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great gas mileage for a great price

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

First of all I am doing this review for my brother. This is a great car we haven't had a single problem out of it the only thing we have done is change the oil. It gets great gas mileage. It has amazing performance and is a very fast car to be so small. Don't tell anyone, but my brother has been up to 90 mph passing someone and it only has a 4 cylinder engine so that is pretty good I think. Sadly on January 24, 2003 the roads were slick and my brother was going to work. He hit a slick spot in the road, spun around in the road hit a fire hydrant and bent it over. Then spun around again and hit a telephone pole and snapped it in two. Then the telephone pole landed on top of his car and shattered the rear window and side back window and cracked the windshield. Sadly enough the car was totaled, but my brother wasn't hurt. But in the end the most amazing thing was the car still started. This is a great car to still start after it was completely totaled. In the end I say it was a great car for a great price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

11th Mar 2005, 02:05

I am glad to hear that your brother is OK, but do you know why the car started up after that? It's American. An American car you can run through a brick wall and it will keep going.

19th Feb 2009, 15:35

Amen to that Brother!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 71 reviews