1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 15 of 16

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129631 miles
Most recent distance149658 miles
Previous carDodge 600

Summary:

The Cavalier was a good value for the money. A very rugged and dependable car

Faults:

The head gasket was seeping when I purchased the car.

The air bag light was on.

The brake rotors were badly warped.

The interior was shabby. The party never stopped with the previous owner.

Engine had the common 2.2L rattle. That was disconcerting due to the fact that my 91 2.2L Cavalier did not have it.

General Comments:

The car is nimble for a base model on 14" wheels.

The engine has plenty of power. There are no curses on hill and no anxious moment merging on the highway.

The base radio/tape deck has a good sound for the non-audiophile.

The Cavalier seats are great for short and long-distance hops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.4 from Saudi Arabia

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired175326 kilometres
Most recent distance357623 kilometres
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

A high performance bargain with a poor dealer

Faults:

The starter fault at 176000 Kilometers. I spent $20 to fix it.

The water pump fault broke at 180000 Kilometers. I spent $200 for a replacement.

I needed to change the whole exhaust line at 220000 Kilometers.

I need to change the brake pads every 20000 Kilometers.

At 240000 Kilometers I had to change the clutch. it was so expensive. Cost me about $800 for a replacement.

I needed to chanage the alternator at 260000 Kilometers. Cost me about $250 for replacement with a rebuilt one.

I had to change the front rotor at 320000 Kilometers. Cost me about $180 for a replacement with used rotor from the junkyard.

General Comments:

The Cavalier was the most enjoyable car I ever owned. I liked its performance so much. Although the dealer was so poor and the spare parts were so expensive, I liked the car so much. It really gives the feeling of a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

I had to replace the whole suspension at 95,000 miles, the belts were cracked and needed to be replaced - very expensive and the engine won't start on the first try, and makes a loud whining noise when accelerating. And the alternator needed replacement at 99,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has good acceleration.

The seats are very uncomfortable on long trips.

This car has a lot of nice safety features like anti-lock-brakes, dual airbags, traction control, power windows, locks, and mirrors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2001

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

A nice sporty looking car with good gas mileage and is built right

Faults:

Had to have a gasket (don't know which one, it wasn't a major thing though) replaced at 108000 miles.

A couple of the interior trim pieces have come off.

General Comments:

This has been a great car.

It gets great gas mileage.

It can get a little uncomfortable on very long trips (over 2 hours).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2 from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It is a good car

Faults:

My transmission failed at 100,000 miles.

Have a coolant sensor on all the time.

General Comments:

I like the car, but the seats are too narrow and the cushions are too thin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd June, 2001

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier G 2.4 155hp 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 155hp 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance86250 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Very fast and very smooth

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car was an amazing purchase.

For a 2.4 litre engine it is very quiet and has brisk acceleration. My previous car was a turbo 1.8 and the Cav would have beaten the pants off it!

The only things I don't like about it are:

- The seats are to hard and too narrow.

- The stereo is designed for pre-schoolers.

- The steel alloys look like crap.

- The shift lever is very stiff to move and the top-mounted shift button is too uncomfortable to push down and requires a lot of force.

In New Zealand these cars are also badged as a Toyota Cavalier so I can benefit from Toyota's recognised quality servicing as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

29th Dec 2003, 21:14

Spend some money and buy a new stereo if you don't like it. It doesn't cost much. So are you calling everybody else who likes the stereo a preschooler and child?

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Good reliable small car

Faults:

Normal wear - brakes, belt.

General Comments:

I really like this economical car for its durability as I use it for commuting every day and it has been reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 L4 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 L4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Ciera

Summary:

Yuck

Faults:

Head gasket.

Spark plugs.

Passenger door stuck closed.

Locks freeze in cold weather.

Trim coming off.

General Comments:

Terrible.

I put more money into this car in one year than I did in my old car in 5 years.

It has poor handling, weak acceleration, and the tires are noisy.

No interior storage space, trunk is small too.

Stereo leaves a lot to be desired.

Check engine light comes on all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

26th Mar 2005, 09:30

Better get the head gasket fixed before it totally stops!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 71 reviews