2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired17900 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

A total loss

Faults:

Transmission, Brakes, Steering and frequently looks like it will overheat, when waiting in traffic, but hasn't gone completely over to the danger zone.

Bought the car as second owner. It had previously been a rental car.

Brakes, too, were a problem, doesn't stop, more like a 'shutter' to a stop, finally. Dealer put new pads on. I wonder if they put new brake pads on bad rotors? Very scary to drive, never know if it will stop if required suddenly.

Lights for low radiator fluid on frequently. I put antifreeze in and it leaks when car is stopped, even after only a twenty mile ride. Car came with only a FM/AM radio. Hard to deal with, should have in year 2000 had at least a cassette. Takes curves very poorly, feels like the car is going to slide off the road. Must slow down a lot to take even gradual curves.

General Comments:

Immediately had problems with the transmission, dealer changed trans oil, pan and filter even though manual states not needed until 50,000 miles. Problem not corrected. Trans fluid looks like dirty motor oil. Two estimates are for $2000 for replacement or repair. At 41,500 transmission is totally shot. Car won't reverse, drive over first gear.

GM's answer to complaint is an offer of $500 certificate to purchase another, when I already owe four years for a car that doesn't run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

24th Jul 2002, 22:17

I have had 2 2000 Cavaliers I have had no problems. I guess that is what you get for buying a car that once belonged to a rental agency. I know myself I will tear up a rental when I get one. The agency is LUCKY it still runs when I get it back to their lot.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 Liter Twin Cam 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Twin Cam 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance22100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

My first car, and it's awesome!

Faults:

I can hear a piece of the trim near the base of the windshield (interior) that rattles a bit.

General Comments:

It has amazing acceleration and can't wait to reach the top speed.

All the controls are easily recognized and operated.

I love the looks of the car the most.

I will be upgrading it in the future. (engine mods, suspension mods, etc)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2002

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L DOHC twin cam (LD9) from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L DOHC twin cam (LD9) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired142 kilometres
Most recent distance55163 kilometres
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

Good performance starting point

Faults:

Plastic wrap found in the A/C air box from the factory.

Fuel sender unit replaced twice (recall).

Low voltage light problem (recall).

Easy-entry passenger seat cable broken twice.

Dome light button fell apart.

(All covered on warranty).

General Comments:

Z24 model looks sharp and has gutsy performance for a 4-cylinder (great torque curve!).

Car is a great starting point, performance wise. Cheap to upgrade and many suppliers for the parts.

Stock suspension is horrible, but easily and cheaply upgraded. My car handles like a slot car now!

Seats are very uncomfortable on long (8+ hour) road trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier 2 door Coupe 2.2 4 cylinder 115 hp from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder 115 hp Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Pickup

Summary:

A cheap first car

Faults:

Brake rotors needed machined.

General Comments:

Chevy should be ashamed of themselves.

Workmanship is lousy.

Suspension is a joke.

Does the term "body roll" mean anything to you?

You get what you pay for.

I must say though that I haven't had the problems that everyone else seems to be having. Only the brake rotors...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

24th Dec 2002, 16:11

You really don't expect to have cadillac quality in a cavalier do you? Cavaliers are really just basic transportation; nothing fancy. That's why their so cheap.

16th Jan 2005, 17:21

I purchased a 2000 Cavalier coupe in the spring of '03 for $6,000. It had only 35,000 miles on it and now has 68,000. I've only replaced the front brakes which seems to be normal for these cars. I did add a set of aftermarket 16" aluminum rims and the car looks great. I am always getting complements on it, mostly people asking what kind of car it is. The car has a clean, sleek shape, unlike some of the boxy, angular shapes in vogue today. I would definitely purchase another one. I appreciate Chevrolets and value.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 - 4 cylinder High Output from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 - 4 cylinder High Output Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired682 kilometres
Most recent distance8652 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A high performance bargain is an understatement

Faults:

Brake rotors warped twice.

General Comments:

Amazing performer (Neck Snapper).

The car looks good, drives good, and I would recommend it to anyone.

The car is my toy, and its appearance shows it with many accessories.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

7th Jan 2008, 13:22

I have this car too and it is really fast.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Standard 2 door 2.2 Liter SOHC 115HP from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter SOHC 115HP Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired236 miles
Most recent distance18600 miles
Previous carSaturn 1992 SL2

Summary:

A disappointing first new car

Faults:

Cracked speaker.

Leaks above the drivers seat.

Passenger seat cover became disconnected.

General Comments:

Alright car, if you can get about $3000 off it.

I dislike driving ever since I got it, even though I got the most sporty car I could without going to the insurance killing Z24. The car is SEVERELY underpowered. When you stomp on it, the engine just gets to about 4500rpm and seems to almost stop going. ALL the power is gone by the time it hits 5200 or so. If you can think of anything to make this car go, email me at prometheus@voyager.net

I plan on not having it too much longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2000

30th Jan 2001, 11:45

You can first put a K&N intake on it... then put some better plugs in it like Bosch Platinum + 4.

Get performance wires and an aftermarket muffler like Flowmaster.

7th Jul 2001, 14:48

If you wanted a performance car, friend, the base Chevy Cavalier 4 banger with 115 HP is not it. What did you expect, a Porsche?

12th Jan 2002, 20:09

The problem with the Cavalier is that you left 4 cylinders at the dealership. If you want performance, buy the Camaro SS. or a Z-06.

9th Feb 2002, 13:44

The problem is the ohv engine, I find dohc have more higher end torque.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 58 reviews