2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 12 of 14

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Biggest mistake I ever made

Faults:

Had security system removed.

Electronic short in fuel pump.

Brakes replaces.

General Comments:

This car was very dangerous, and would shut down on the thruway going 55 miles an hour, four mechanic's later, and a lot of money, they now tell me there is an electronic short to the fuel pump. Let's hope this is the problem before anyone gets killed in it. The 3 previous trips to the mechanic were crazy, no one could fix car because it would run fine for 2 or 3 weeks, then shut down going 55 miles on thruway. This is a complete nightmare of a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

10th Jan 2003, 07:42

I think that I have a similar fuel pump problem, although my car is still stranded on the side of the interstate. Maybe it will work today when I go back to get it? I'm assuming that the solution is a new fuel pump? Auto-zone quoted me $300 (seems like an expensive repair for a car with 43K miles on it). I also got new brake pads put on under warranty at 18K miles.

30th Jan 2003, 23:58

Hi

I have a 93 Pontiac Grand AM. I have had a similar problem as you. My car would run perfectly for weeks or days, but then all of a sudden it just used to stall on the highway and would keep doing that if I drove faster than 50 mile/hr.

Later I found out that the problem was that my clutch was locking up. The mechanic unplugged an electronic plug and this problem never occurred again. Ask the mechanic if it has anything to do with the clutch or torque converter locking up.

I hope you can find a good solution to this problem.

Good luck.

17th Nov 2007, 14:17

I have a 2000 Cavalier that I got from my grandma who only put 23,000 miles on it. I also had to buy a fuel pump and a valve cover gasket. When my fuel pump went bad it sputtered to the side of the road I was getting off highway at about 40 mph. My car after that would start for a second then would shut right off. Eventually it wouldn't start at all. Since then my car has ran great I even raced a 2002 Intrepid and won!!! Granted the intrepid needed a tune up, but I was pleasantly surprised b/c I was expecting me to lose.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2.L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2.L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance48800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A purchasing mistake

Faults:

At 24,000 miles, cooling system died. Broken down 400 miles from home. Had to grind head, replace head gasket, coolant (3 times on this trip), spark-plugs (coolant got in there too).

Two months after purchase radio died took 6 hours with knowledgeable person to replace with CD player.

Check engine light keeps coming on and off.

General Comments:

Worst car I have ever owned. I will be getting rid of this car as soon as possible. I put nearly $4,000 in repairs first year I owned it. Dumbest purchase I have ever made. Please please buy any other car, but this one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

6th Nov 2002, 21:25

If this car is so bad, why would you buy another one from Chevrolet?

27th Aug 2003, 14:26

If this car is so disappointing, why would you rate it high enough to earn a "smiley " face!!!

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles

Summary:

Perfect for college kids

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car. It has always started, even on the coldest of Iowa mornings. I have leased this car now for almost three years and I have had no major complaints.

General Comments:

Considering it's a 2.2L Engine on a 3000-lb car, it has very little acceleration. Even with a 5 speed Manual tranny. Fifth gear has no torque and it takes a long time to get up between 65-80.

It does VERY well in the snow. You have to drive like an idiot before it will even start to slide, and it's gotten me everywhere in snow, ice and rain.

It's a little small, space inside is a little cramped. It's a two door car, so it doesn't have the most rear seat space. The trunk is also a little small.

The fuel economy is also very good. I have spent less than $100 a year on oil and other matiance over the past few years on this little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

8th May 2006, 08:05

I agree. It's an amazing car. It was pretty cheap, but personally, I thought it was the best looking car in the lot. Beautiful color (Cayenne Red) and just big enough for me and my college needs. :D.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 58 reviews