2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 11 of 14

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z-24 2.4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Manual
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4600 miles
Most recent distance45500 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

This vehicle defeats the purpose of buying new

Faults:

Brakes: Rotors worn out prematurely, new pads.

Front end noise: "Clunking"

Struts: Terrible, replaced in the rear, and it sounds like they need it in the front as well.

Engine performance: Stalls in the cold.

Gear pattern: Sloppy, many mis-shifts due to sloppy, and not so tight pattern.

General Comments:

I would never buy another GM vehicle due to all the problems I've had, and GMs less than adequate response and service to me, they can keep their cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance34900 miles

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

The trac-low light came on intermittently.

The trac-off light came on steady.

The check engine light came on steady.

General Comments:

I love this car.

This is my first car and it handles great.

This car maybe little, but it really has some get up and go.

I long for the end of the day so I can drive home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2002

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

I love my Z24!

Faults:

My car is GM certified and when they did the inspection of it, they missed one thing. This one thing happened to be my shift cable that was wrapped around the exhaust manifold. It didn't cost much to get it fixed. Other than that, nothing has gone wrong with my car. I drive all day long and my car has been nothing but dependable.

General Comments:

This car is a little rocket.

It gets a lot of looks.

Handles well.

They make awesome accessories for it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

29th Jul 2005, 20:05

What are the "awesome" after market parts you have put on yours? They may be something I am interested in putting on our 2001 Z 24. Thanks.

24th Feb 2006, 11:56

I got a 2000 z24 I like it a lot I put neon lites under it it drags on everything that is the onley thing I don't like about it i.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Money Pit

Faults:

The trac off light has been a continuing problem.

Loose hub caps caused loud external noise.

Poor design of the windshield wipers cause the spray to be below the wipers.

General Comments:

Problems could not be solved by any of the dealer service shops I took the vehicle to. Now that the warranty is over it is expensive to keep the car going.

When I called Cheverolet they were unwilling to help or admit there were problems with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2002

19th Dec 2002, 18:42

When did you call them?

Was it before or after you were out of the 3/36 warranty?

Were they really unwilling to help?

Or could you just not provide them with 3 good solid business reasons so that they could assist you?

25th Feb 2003, 17:20

I am not surprised to hear of Chevrolet's failure to respond to you. I had the exact same experience with Chevrolet from 1989 to 1994.

I leased a brand new 1989 Camaro from August, 1989 through February, 1994. I had problems with every major component on the car. This included 2 transmission replacements, 4 breakdowns requiring towing, a new paint job, upholstery coming unglued, electrical problems, cooling system defects, and faulty suspension components. All this under warranty. The car spent well over 3 months in the dealer for warranty repairs. This is cumulative for all repairs. I ended up filing a small claims lawsuit against General Motors and Gunderson Chevrolet in El Monte, CA. I received a judgment of just over $1,000.00. The dealer installed non-factory A/C when the car was new. This caused numerous problems. The court ruled against GM and Gunderson because they failed to disclose this to me before I purchased the car.

I contacted the dealer and Chevrolet directly many, many times before I filed this lawsuit. The only concession I received was the extension of my factory warranty. however, this did not help me when I needed a car to drive while mine was in the shop. I was actually told by Steven Brumm, a customer relations manager for Chevrolet, that "there was no such thing as a 'Lemon'". I suggested Mr. Brumm trade cars with me. He declined.

Since 1994, I have purchased a Honda, a Ford, and a Mercury. Nothing but good luck with all 3. My teenage son is interested in buying a Cavalier. I "cringe" at the thought of having to deal with Chevrolet again. I was hoping things had changed in the last 9 years. I guess not...

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 58 reviews