2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 10 of 13

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance16472 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A floor mat nightmare - it's an accident waiting to happen

Faults:

Every time I got in the car, the mat would move up underneath the gas pedal and I would have to move it back. It doesn't have one of those clips to hold it in place that I've seen in other cars. I came very close to getting into an accident because the car started going out of control because the mat was wedged up underneath the pedals.

General Comments:

Other than the floor mat problem, the car is okay. It's a nice ride and pretty reliable, but GM seems to cut corners and uses cheap material.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

24th May 2005, 12:41

I was wondering if whoever wrote this article would write back so that I may get a hold of you because I had the same problem with my 2002 Cavalier. I wanted to know what you did about this problem and if there is anything GM will do.

17th Mar 2007, 19:27

All cavaliers suck so bad. Why WOULD you whine about a freaking floor mat Duh just take it out if its bothering you. You could easily fix this by going 75 miles an hour putting the cruise control on and jumping out the door! Maybe there will be enough centrifugal force to hold the stupid mat down.

6th Nov 2009, 20:40

I just replaced the mats in my Cavalier since I was having the same problem.

4th Aug 2010, 16:59

Has anyone else heard of or experienced problems with the floor mats on the Cavalier? I recently heard about a guy whose mat got tangled in the pedals and caused an accident.

5th Aug 2010, 12:42

I know this may sound difficult to do, but could you somehow learn to get into the seat properly? Do you use the floor mat to help you glide into the seat? Most GM cars do not have tacks for their floor mats and I have never had this issue.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Reliable Economical Car

Faults:

Head gasket blew up after a mechanic had done maintenance on it. Long story!!

General Comments:

This is car has great gas mileage.

The 2-door coupe is very sporty looking. I love my Chevy.

They should be installed with cruise control as standard. They have a CD player.

My front brakes vibrate when I am braking and hitting a hole at the same time. I had it to the dealer when I first got it, but they couldn't find anything wrong, so I just drive it.

I DO NOT LIGHT THE HEADLIGHTS. I have a very hard seeing at night. I just bought the PIAA Extreme White Lights hoping it might help. Not really! I think it is the way the lights are positioned. There isn't room in the front grille to install driving lights.

I would buy another Chevy, but probably upgrade to a Monte Carlo so I have more room and the cruise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

24th Feb 2006, 11:49

I got a z24 2 door I like it a lot it has scerws in the head lites you got to adjust them for your lites.

19th May 2008, 23:54

Sounds like you took it to the same mechanic I did!

My cav does the same thing when I brake and hit holes. It's the ABS not knowing what to do with so much input.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 FI from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 FI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Your basic economy car

Faults:

Warped rotors at 18000 miles.

Rear struts failed at 21000 miles.

Fuel pump relay failed at 30 miles.

General Comments:

The seats lack thigh support and the cabin is overloaded with cheap plastics.

Dealer service leaves a lot to be desired.

Gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2003

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Good if you can find it cheap

Faults:

The strut mounts have came loose twice on my Cavalier in a year and a half.

The spring casing in the back of the drivers seat has broke and been replaced three times.

The brakes and rotors are new, but after they were replaced I have been hearing a rotational grinding noise when the brakes are touched.

When I put the car in gear my daylight driving lights come on, but when I turn on the headlights the drivers side lamp delays coming on.

There is a lot of road noise when you are sitting in the back seat.

The third brake light is melted from the bulbs that were in it when I bought the car.

There is glue seeping through the headliner.

The trunk has been leaking so the carpet is now molded and of course the dealer didn't find anything wrong with it.

General Comments:

The car gets good gas mileage on the highway.

It handles pretty good.

I haven't had any problems with anything under the hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 49 reviews