2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 13

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance65500 miles

Summary:

Runs great and is pretty cheap to buy

General Comments:

This is a great economy car. It is very good on gas, I can usually get 35 mpg out of it on a good day.

It has great acceleration and braking capabilities, especially with fresh tires.

Great car for anyone looking for a first car.

I have no complaints about this car other than the old looking interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2008

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

The pros and cons are equal; can't decide

Faults:

Back right wheel makes a ticking noise... is that common? 0-20 is realllll slow, and after that it floats along.

Interior kind of rattles along with any bumps along the way.

General Comments:

I think that this is a pretty good car. 2 people before me in my family have driven it; unfortunately, the 2nd one dented it, so now it really is a crap-alier.

Great first car if it isn't dented. Good second or third car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Faults:

I have a 2001 Cavalier.

Within the last few thousand miles of so, my TRAC OFF light will come on. Pressing the accelerator does nothing, like I'm in neutral. The thing is, my car will start to jerk when it goes to change gears, and to fix the problem I just turn off the car and turn it back on, and it's fine...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2008

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen jetta

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Both power window motors died.

Headlight connector corroded, needed new.

3rd gear in the transmission made weird noise when shifting into it.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of crap and I suggest no-one ever buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2008

3rd Apr 2009, 14:03

I just purchased a 2001 Z24 about a month ago. It had 160000km and I've put on another 5000.

So far, I love this car. It has plenty of zip, especially in the lower gears and can climb steep hills easily.

The suspension is tight, so it handles well, but you do feel the bumps. The interior is comfortable, but pretty basic.

I picked mine up for 2500 and had previous owner add-ons like a Clarion stereo and a 200w amplifier, a cold air intake and an anti corrosion box. I feel I got a good bargain over all and I love driving it.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

GM: Never Again!

Faults:

Engine Mount at 70,000 miles

Head Gasket 80,000

Check Engine Light - 02 Sensors at 100,000 miles

Timing Belt 100,000

Starter 100,000.

General Comments:

Never Again! This is actually my second (and LAST) Cavalier!

I used to own a 1998 Cavalier Z24, and it never had ANY issues, but then it was totalled in an accident in 2004, and my insurance company cut me a check, so I went out and bought an 01 Cavalier Sedan from the car auction, thinking it would be good like my 98 model.

Boy was I wrong! It overheats when I idle in traffic, gets horrid fuel efficiency because of the mechanical problems, I just had a few major repairs done as well, (see my list of repairs)

And I DO keep up with the manufacturers maintenance, but they found sludge building up around the engine, so this Cavalier's days are numbered.

My check engine light came on steady, and when I went in for an oil change they ran the diagnostic on the computer and saw it was an emissions message, and replaced the 02 sensors.

With the monthly repairs I have been paying for, I've decided I may as well make payments on something new.

GM has just lost another customer for LIFE. I am going to the Toyota dealer next Saturday to pick up my new Camry, and have this headache of a car sent to the scrap yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2008

15th Jul 2011, 14:19

Maybe there was a reason why it was at the auction.

16th Jul 2011, 18:21

People who buy abused and neglected cars that are 11 years old and then gripe about problems and say "I won't buy another GM" are responsible for furthering the myth that domestics are somehow less reliable than imports. Try buying a NEW one and taking care of it, then write a review of it in 11 years.

We bought a new GM vehicle in 2003. The car just hit 100,000 miles. It has not had one single repair to any part of it. The body, interior and mechanicals are like brand new. The total upkeep has amounted to 2 batteries and one set of tires. The brake pads are the originals and still have a good 15,000+ miles of wear left on them at this point. And yes, we drive easy and don't ride the brakes, and we maintain our vehicles very meticulously. We did the same with our imports. None of them even lasted 100,000 miles.

24th Apr 2012, 14:24

In fairness to the reviewer, it appears he/she purchased the car in 2004 when it was 3 years old and had 50,000 miles on it. It seems they posted the review in 2008.

However, as the first comment points out - the vehicle was purchased from an auction. Really, the reviewer buys it at an auction and then goes on the bash the manufacturer?

By the way, our domestics have been every bit as reliable as our imports, and in some cases much more reliable.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 49 reviews