2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 4 cylinder from North America

Faults:

I have owned this car for 10 months now, and I can't get the cigarette lighter fuse to work. When I bought the car, the dealer said the fuse must be bad. Well, he was right. Every time I try to put a fuse in, it just blows the fuse. If anyone has any ideas about why this happens, I could sure use the advice. Thanks. contact me at mcgraw1@sbcglobal.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

10th Jan 2006, 21:53

Try putting in a higher amp fuse. Don't know if that would help put it's a cheap try.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Summary:

Good quality and performance for the price

Faults:

The fuel pump failed at 210,000 km. It was located in the gas tank and cost almost $1000.00 to replace...wow.

General Comments:

This car has good performance and is quite good on gas getting almost 45 mpg on the highway.

Quite comfortable if you sit in the front (two door) but cramped space for any larger person in the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2005

20th Mar 2009, 13:09

That is a lot of miles if that was the original fuel pump! You got ripped off for it only cost of an averange $ 400.00 US dollars to replace it.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2L from North America

Summary:

Very good gas mileage and very reliable!

Faults:

Nothing, as of yet.

General Comments:

I bought this car hoping that it would get better gas mileage than my old Dodge (the Dodge got about 22 miles per gallon). I am getting between 33-36 miles per gallon with my 01 Cavalier! Had to put a CD player in it, because I have the base model and it only had a radio. I had to take out the whole dashboard, but it was well worth it, the installation kit fits perfect! This car handles very well; a very smooth ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L from North America

Faults:

My Z24 is a great fast little car for the buck.

Great on gas.

Had to replace a front strut mount - cost $55; not too bad.

The 2.4L gives you lots of power at the lights - can pass 3.1 V6s like they're stopped.

Cheap on parts - a set of brake pads is fifteen dollars.

Great looking car; turns heads.

Compared to the Monte Carlo Z34 that was in the garage every day, I am very happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Summary:

Good driving car

Faults:

We have just noticed a small hole in muffler, other than that, we have had no problems with this car.

I do find that it is hard on gas and the gas gauge is very unpredictable. I can have almost a 1/4 of a tank and then five minutes later the gas light is on. I find that very frustrating.

The car drives very well and is fun to drive.

General Comments:

I feel very safe driving my kids in this car. It's sporty and fun to drive.

The seats are comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

24th Feb 2006, 11:42

I got a 2000 z24 I like it a lot and mine gets 28 to the gallon.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Z-24 2.4L from North America

Summary:

A mediocre deal

Faults:

Would not go into 1st gear, bad synchros.

Around 2000-3000 rpm, sounded like a diesel truck.

Power steering was making a weird groaning sound.

General Comments:

I bought this car, thinking it would be a nice, newer, reliable car, paid $5900.

On the test drive at the dealer, it drove fine.

Second day I had it would not go into 1st gear from neutral, would have to go 2nd to 1st to take off. Mechanic said it needed new transmission or synchros replaced ($1500) and it started making the horrible diesel sound at 2K-3K RPM's.

I recently sold the car and had only had it a little over a month and less than 1K miles.

It was a sporty looking car, but the 1st gear problem was just too much for me coming for a 99 Civic (76K) with no shifting troubles.

I think the gertrag transmission evidently was the wrong fit for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

22nd Aug 2004, 21:43

Did you get it inspected before you bought it, man? Obviously the transmission was crap, which would explain the price of $5900.

10th Aug 2006, 23:06

I don't think its necessarily the transmissions fault, though I'm not too familiar with the getrag tranny. This sounds like a case of abuse by the previous owner, who like many believe that the z24 cavalier is a race car and as such treat it accordingly.