2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 13 of 13

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Dependable Vehicle, Excellent Value!!

Faults:

Had to replace the front brakes after only 42000 K's.

Paint chips quite easily. Had to purchase a hood protector to minimize the problem.

General Comments:

A very spirited car. The 2.4l engine is surprisingly zippy around town.

Very good looking car, nice styling.

Smooth comfortable ride on the highway.

Overall gas mileage quite satisfactory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier VLX 2.2L gas from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance7500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Good value if you can get them for at least 20% off the list price

Faults:

Mis-aligned hood.

Noisy fan.

"Boomy" engine under fast acceleration, but this is not a defect, just a fact of life.

General Comments:

Bought this car with every possible discount from dealer incentives to discount for cash in lieu of financing to a credit card points program. Without these incentives I would be driving a Mazda Protege. I thought that buying this car in August 2001 would give me a better break than waiting for a 2002, however, due to the economy, I could have bought a 2002 in October, 2001 for the same price as the previous model year.

However, this car does what is is designed to do, which is cheap reliable transportation with a good deal of room inside and a big trunk. These things sell big because they offer value for the dollar and they are reliable. Also, unlike a lot of imports, they can be fixed anywhere.

Nothing really wrong with them, but they are getting a bit long in the tooth. While it is nice to get ABS as standard, I find these low end GM ABS systems a bit crude and very touchy, but you do get used to them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier 2-door sedan 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance12390 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Cheap cost., cheap car

Faults:

Wrecked at 2000 miles, air bags did not deploy.

New set of tires at 3000 miles.

Thermostat went at 5000 miles.

Hub caps make bad clicking noise so I removed them and it looks better.

Annoying rattle at low RPM's.

Leaks brake fluid out of cap.

Loosing antifreeze with no signs of where it's going.

Paint chipping.

Got beat by a Saturn 2 door.

General Comments:

Took a six banger Stang.

Spins some tire when dropped from 6 grand.

Dealer knows me by name and this is not a good thing.

Takes abuse well, but not good enough, should have bought a Ford F-150.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

18th Aug 2002, 01:31

It appears to me that the comments of this individual can be completely ignored. He sounds like a teenager, or twenty something, and his driving habits would probably destroy a Lexus in the first 5000 miles.

18th Aug 2002, 08:52

This driver needs to learn how to drive again. Cavaliers aren't long lasting quality cars to begin with, let alone have the crap kicked out of them. They're cheap basic cars.

But when kids get behind the wheel of a car they seem to think it's the most high powered machine in the world. Drive any car like that and you'll kill it in no time!!! This driver's review should just be disregarded.

(and p.s...Dodge rocks!!)

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Base sedan 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

The best American economy car on the market today!!!

Faults:

Gas gauge just stopped working. It's okay though since I've got the miles per tank figured pretty good.

There is a definite problem with the rotors. Had them resurfaced once already and now it's time again. Probably going to get slotted rotors for better cooling and less warping, since it can get pretty bad.

Alignment seems extremely weak. I don't feel like forking out a chunk of cash every time I hit a speed bump too fast.

General Comments:

Awesome get around car. Have mostly highway miles on it. No major problems so far. Wish I still had my pickup though since trunk space can be limited when traveling. Cool base model, comes as standard with the A/C, stereo, rear defog, and the antilock. You need the anti-lock if you are driving anywhere near snow, ice, or puddles.

Surprised there is space enough to fit 3 full sized adults in the back seat. A little cramped, but they fit.

Nice loud horn!

Changing oil is easy too since the drain plug is so close to the front, I don't even need to lift the car.

Hated the car at first, but I have learned to love it. Didn't like it because it wasn't a truck and it was only a 4 cylinder. Need the sedan now for the family though. So many options for this car make it very attractive. I personally have no add-ons. Trying to keep it as original as possible.

The 4 cyl allows for excellent gas mileage. Anywhere from 350 to 450 miles to the tank, and for 13 1/2 gallons, that ain't bad. 350 is for the city and 450 is the highway. A/C has a lot to do with how the car performs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

25th Nov 2001, 16:50

Best American economy car? I think you need to pay a visit to a Honda or Toyota Dealership. If you think that a cheaply made GM product is good, you'll wet your pants when you drive a Civic or Corolla.

26th Jun 2002, 22:35

Bud, for the price of that Corolla or Civic I could own a Malibu. I'll take the Cavalier anyday. Mine has given me 132,000 miles of troublefree service. It's a good car for the money.

2nd May 2003, 19:47

I love my Cavalier. The only thing I don't like is where the enviromental controls are. Who had the bright idea to put them right behind the cup holders? If you have even one drink in them you can't get to the controls easily. If you have both holders occupied, forget it.

15th Sep 2003, 20:55

I have had my Cavalier LS Sport for 16 months now. I am very happy with my car. It is very dependable, gets good gas mileage. The EcoTec engine has more power than most of the class competitors. The Cavalier is one of the best bargains in the compact class. The Cavalier is a very good car for Thousands less than it's over priced Japanese counterparts.

8th Mar 2005, 17:26

Changing oil may be easy, but don't change the oil filter unless the car is cool. The exhaust pipe is right under the oil filter, and it gets very hot!

20th Jan 2010, 14:49

I've had my Cavalier for 4 years and finally had to replace the water pump. It's been a great, dependable car for me. It's not the roomiest, but with the 4-door I have we make it work!

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love my Chevrolet. Chevrolet rule

Faults:

Absolutely nothing wrong with my Cavalier.

General Comments:

I really love my new 2001 Chevrolet Cavalier LS and would buy another.

It is great on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier Base Sedan 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Good bargain car if you get a good one

Faults:

Car has been to the dealer 4 times in the first month of ownership. That is a little too much for a new car.

Check engine light comes on.

Replaced the gas cap, sensor and fuel pump gasket.

Under warranty but time out of my life to fix.

General Comments:

OK but didn't need the headache!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 49 reviews