1989 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1989 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.8 Litre from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance315312 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

My 'Pocket Rocket', a great vehicle for the market price when well maintained

Faults:

The alternator went at about 150,000k.

The body computer failed about ten years ago. (replaced)

The window seals in the front rotted out. (replaced them last year - cheap!)

The cruise control quit when the switch on the multi-function lever failed. (Replaced)

The wiper circuit board needs replacement. Sometimes the wipers won't delay and sometimes the won't shut off. They still operate OK 80 percent of the time so I am putting it off.

A vacuum tee broke, causing HVAC flow and cruise control concerns (Replaced)

The glass halogen headlight housings keep cracking! (three replaced so far, one on the car is currently cracked; arg)

Rust is slowly creeping up! Cleaned up and repainted about 4 years ago, but once a Saskatchewan car, always a Saskatchewan car. Reappearing around carriage windows and bottom of doors, but I figure based on its speed so far that it will be at least 3 years before it gets too far. It didn't help that the original paint job 'fell off' about 4 years after it left the dealer.

The 4 speed overdrive 440 transmission is starting to slip, but I have no problem putting a re-manufactured transmission in this car. It owes me nothing and the engine is strong.

The most frustrating thing I have encountered is the horn pad. I have replaced it 3 times and it works for awhile, then someone cuts me off and It doesn't work! (Arg)

General Comments:

I love this car, its been a super car and keeps on going. Its been in my family since new, bought in Weyburn, Saskatchewan. Every option it came off the assembly line with still works, including the a/c!

The 2.8 litre V6 is a great engine. I commute 65 km everyday on the highway. Throttle response is always great. I can set the cruise at 100-120 KM/H, get great gas mileage and if I feel the need, I can tip in the throttle and watch most other cars disappear. (Except of course the Crown Victoria's with the flashing lights)

Regular service! Always doing oil changes every 5000 km and following the GM service table really paid off.

At 315,000 km she fires up every time and never misses a beat.

Parts are cheap and plentiful!

Just about everything that has failed on this car can be attributed to expected wear and tear.

A good looker too, in burgundy.

I replaced the front seats with high-backed power seats from a 1991 Cutlass Ciera, they bolted right in and made a world of difference in comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

5th Jan 2006, 14:52

What are you smoking? This was never a good car, even when it was a concept! It was a proud day for GM when this car went OUT of production!

5th Jan 2006, 22:29

What are YOU smoking? Judging from the good majority of reviews of the Celebrity, I'd say it was a good car.

7th Jan 2006, 14:37

Obviously this review is based on personal experience, and this one was pretty good. Before commenting, think about the perspective from which this review was written.

15th May 2008, 15:11

There is a Celebrity in our neighborhood whose door skins are rusted so bad that you can see the window regulators. Obviously rust can't stop it.

1989 Chevrolet Celebrity Sedan 2.8 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned

Faults:

This car had a bad alternator when I bought it.

The cooling fan has never worked.

The front brake rotors are warped and the service records indicate that this is a continual problem.

General Comments:

I bought this car at auction as a retired county fleet sedan. It has received regular service in the past and I continue to have it serviced on a regular basis. At almost 150,000 miles, it still requires no additional oil between changes. The car has been trouble free and runs like a car half its age and miles.

The only downside is that this is a boring four door sedan. But since I am middle aged now, that is not a big problem. I am more interested in reliability than looks or performance.

Yes, people do start to think that way when they are over 40.

The last several cars I have owned were real problems. I even went without a car for a few years because I was so sick of them. This car gives me a feeling of confidence that I haven't felt in a long time. This car came at the right time for me as I can't afford any more problems at the moment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

5th Sep 2005, 22:48

Yes, fixing the fan would be a good idea. It has not overheated yet as I only drive on the highway and almost never below 30 mph. If it were to get hot for any reason I would shut it down rather that ruin the motor.

11th Dec 2005, 14:53

I have owned two Celebrity cars, and on the one I replaced the valve cover gasket, and I should do it on this one as well. Mine leaks about one quart of oil every three thousand miles, and it is all coming from the valve cover.

5th Jul 2007, 23:43

Hi All.

I am on my second Celebrity having traded the old one for the one year model (wagon) newer with all the options. The deal was no money involved, only the guy thought the engine was toast in the fully loaded Celebrity and wanted my other car cause of the running engine. Great deal! I replaced the cylinder heads and got a great running car.

For a living I diagnose electrical/computer systems for garages and dealerships, as well I am a tuner for high performance. And for a little something to do on a afternoon (drinking beer) I wrote a PROM for my 3.1 to improve the power and fuel economy. I have more fun with the car now that I have my foot in it too many times to take advantage of the adjustments I made for fuel consumption. The car hauls!

Great Car!

P.S Change your fuel filters and keep on top of oil changes and it will even outlast a Camry (my wife had one, she now has a Camaro)

Gary.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews