1989 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1989 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport 2.8 multi Liter FI from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 multi Liter FI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64200 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Ugly, dependable, and fast

Faults:

Bad alternator.

Brakes, tires, normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

I received this car from my cousin in the summer. It sat for about 4 months, and even then it started right up. It still starts up every time I need it too. Even though I hate it, and thinks it's the ugliest thing I have ever seen, it has been very faithful to me. It will probably never die. It amazes me how I can fly by people on the highway. That's the one thing I love about it the engine, and acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

11th Mar 2005, 09:40

Obviously, you have never driven anything that really iS fast.

The Celebrity with the 2.8 is a toad.

21st Dec 2005, 21:26

Even though they look slow the are actually pretty quick. on mine the muffler fell off about 1000 miles ago, sounds sweet now. It will keep up with my friend's 1970 delta 88 that has 455 in it. Yeah I know dosen't sound believable, but it does.

1989 Chevrolet Celebrity V6 FI from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 FI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles

Summary:

Couldn't ask for a better car for my first

Faults:

I needed to replace the front engine mount.

The engine coolant is leaking in the passenger side.

The gas gage is not 100% accurate.

General Comments:

This is my first car that I purchased for $280 just over 1 year ago.

I am still happy that I purchased the car.

The car has not given me any problems yet.

Only things I have had to do to that car so far is regular tune up like oil change, spark plugs changed and ignition wires replaced.

Max speed it 85mph and after 15 years the car still goes to the max. enough power to get you around.

The interior of the car is nice nothing to fancy and good spacing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

17th Jul 2005, 19:44

I am not to sure that your car is only going 85 mph! The speedometer may read 85mph, but you may be going faster. Just because it says 85mph doesn't mean that is its max speed. I was able to reach 128mph on a flat track with my 1988 2.8lt MPFI celebrity after some minor repairs!

1989 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.5L 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

If looks don't matter, she's a steal.

Faults:

Have had brakes fail twice, almost exactly a year apart.

Electrical system had several shorts.

Speedometer/Odometer very erratic.

Four-Way lights do not work.

Interior is worn heavily.

Ceiling liner peeling from open-window driving.

General Comments:

It's old, it's huge and heavy, too much so for even the big V4 under the hood. Engine is naturally noisy and acceleration is really awful, but she sails when she's going. She's definitely a highway cruiser.

Tons and tons of interior space.

Nice factory speakers.

Except for issues with the brakes and electrical, the car has been extraordinarily reliable considering it's age. I paid $900 and have put about as much into it (again, the brakes).

I want to replace it simply because I can, but even for it's total lack of aesthetics, it was a much better car than that terrible Sonata I owned previously.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

28th Mar 2014, 18:28

Hey, how you doing? I too own a 1989 Chevy Celebrity 2.5L 4 cylinder. Have you ever had any problems with the roof leaking water when it rains? Mine leaks in the back passenger side.

I currently own the car and it only has 37 thousand original miles. Bought it for 750$. So far I have had no problems with it (knock on wood). I have changed my brake pads, belt and power steering line. That's all. I'm about to make a 1500 mile trip with it down to Florida. I have faith LOL.

1989 Chevrolet Celebrity CL 2.8 Fuel Injected V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Fuel Injected V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75500 miles

Summary:

Best car of the century!

Faults:

When Purchased it needed new brakes to pass inspection.

Alternator died on me at a red light.

Installed new battery and Alternator.

Tape deck was broken when car was purchased. Replaced it with a CD player.

Small area of paint chipping on Roof.

General Comments:

Couldn't have asked for more in a car!

Other than the Alternator failing once this car has never failed me.

Starts every day without hesitation, even in 10 Degree weather.

Most comfortable car I have ever sat in. Velour bench seat is great.

Love the 80's looking dashboard and controls.

Very powerful engine. Drives great on highways and hills. Does 85 MPH with no problem.

The body is in great condition. NO rust after 15 years.

This car is loaded with extra's, such as: Power windows, power door locks, power seats, hood light, cruise control, Max A/C.

Cabin is very spacious. I have fit 6 people in there at a time. Trunk space is very large too.

Car is great on long trips and around town.

Factory speakers are great.

Interior trim looks very fancy. Blue velour.

I have always liked the style of the Celebrity even before I owned one. My father had two of them in the 80's. The visibility is better then most new cars. The engine purrs even when accelerating on highways. I will never part with this car if I don't have to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

25th Jun 2005, 23:05

This car is still going strong at 83000 miles and I believe it will run forever. The only new improvement made was the replacement of the rear brake pads. They really don't build em like this anymore!

1st Aug 2005, 23:57

Update...

This car has recently been in an accident and I don't think the insurance company is going to pay for the damages. Someone pulled out in front of me while I was going through a yellow light and I crashed right into the side of there car. There car was had the back tire smashed in sideways and the frame suffered intensive damage. The celebrity held up pretty well though; considering I hit them doing 45MPH. I only had a busted headlight and some minor front bumper and framed damage as well as a bent hood.

18th Apr 2007, 08:12

Celebrities are good cars.

Don't you have something better to do than make 18th century remarks? Go buy a new car and stay out of it.

25th Nov 2007, 19:30

I agree with the original poster on this car. The Celebrity and its "siblings" (Pontiac 6000, Buick Century, and Olds Ciera) is/are amazing cars. Tough, easy-to-work-on, easy to find parts for and very, very economical. They are capable of 28-30 MPG when equipped with the 4 cylinder/3 speed automatic - even better with the manual transmission. The handling is neutral - neither prone to under or over steer. They do incredibly well in real-life crashes. What's more, they are available in every configuration, but a fastback: 2 door, 4 door, 4 door wagon, and convertible.

These cars were made from 1982 to 1996 (Celebrity last year 1990 / 6000 last year 1991) and have a loyal and enthusiastic following. If you're an "A-body" owner and would like to network, checkout the Yahoo group: http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/chevycelebrityclubofamerica/ or the A-body.net forums: http://www.a-body.net/forums/ - there are many A-body enthusiasts who can share info and advice.

25th Jan 2008, 22:37

1990 Chevrolet Celebrity wagon 3.1 V6 all the way baby!!!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews