1992 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance227500 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Excellent value and reliable car

Faults:

Crankshaft position sensor and 2 electronic modules have been replaced, along with the alternator.

General maintenance otherwise for standard wear items, and tune up as scheduled, along with pressure flush of the transmission every 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

Ride quality is average, with good power from the 3.1 V6.

Interior comfort & quality are good, except for the climate controls, which are not within comfortable reach of the driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2011

1992 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned!

Faults:

Brake pads need replaced often.

General Comments:

This car is reliable, fast, dependable! Love how it handles. It now has 250,000 miles on it, and has had no engine work! I love it so much, that I just bought a 1993 model on Ebay!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2011

2nd Feb 2011, 16:45

My parents have had a lot of cars over the years, but their favorite car ever was a Lumina! Go figure... my dad says the comfort and the smooth suspension cannot be beat, as well it handles great on the highway and is reasonable on gas for a larger car. I once borrowed my parent's Lumina, and had it up to 180 km per hour on the highway, not even flooring it! This is a surprisingly fast family car...

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance255500 miles

Summary:

This car is amazingly reliable and cheap to repair. 255K and 28 MPG

Faults:

ECM went out 220000; $89.

At 250,000 miles, new struts and suspension; $800. This was the most amount spent.

Fuel regulator $500 at 240,000.

General Comments:

This car is amazingly reliable and cheap to repair. 255500 miles and 28 MPG. It was well maintained by the previous owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2010

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Base 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carDodge Challenger

Summary:

Four wheel drive wannabe

Faults:

Replaced the fuel pump.

Replaced the gas tank.

Replaced all brake and fuel lines.

Usual routine maintenance.

General Comments:

It's not fast, just the characteristic small motor punch off the line, then falls on its face. But that's fine, it's perfect for what I do with it, no frills daily driver.

Good on gas, but not a chick magnet.

Not many of these are on the road anymore, so I feel pretty unique.

Typical American build quality, very good, not what you thought I was going to say huh? :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2010

1992 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Alternator went last year; had an extra one off a Buick Skylark in the garage.

The left rear strut blew out a month ago, and because of that, the strut got water in it, which froze up and wouldn't let the suspension oscillate (that was fun!!!).

As well as the usual basic maintenance.

General Comments:

It's starting to get a little rusty, but it's still safe.

Hasn't given me any serious problems.

It's a good overall winter car that has been in the family for 6 years. I think very highly of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2010

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170 miles
Most recent distance188 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

The Perfect Weekend Cruiser!!

Faults:

Coil packs went out too fast. I blame the design of the engine, placing them under the headers.

Starter went out. Not bad, but replacing it was impossible!!!

Timing belt needs replacing far too often, every 25k. Haven't yet done it though.

Alternator went out, $450 fix.

Power steering went out as a result of poor treatment by previous owner (turning without moving).

Dash keeps falling apart.

Multiple cooling system failures.

Engine oil temp skyrocketing.

Motor mounts needed replacing as a result of abuse by the previous owner.

Parking brake gone as well as both back calipers (previous owner).

General Comments:

This particular model, when it was stock, is filled with flaws like the fact that it has a 195 degree thermostat when the lube range of oil is no more than 180.

There is no stock oil cooler besides the tiny water jacket..

That air intake is very badly restricted as well as the exhaust.

I'm not one for floor shifters and it has one, but that's just me.

The brakes are too small for a vehicle this heavy.

Speaking of overweight, this car weighs 3600lbs!!

If you want this car, which I suggest 100% for those willing to devote their time and money for the perfect car, I recommend very serious mods are done before thoroughly enjoying.

As far as suspension, there is a site called Total Engine Overkill that has all suspension and brake mods.

Air intake can be easily done by moving the battery over to the area where the air box used to be, and run piping with a large filter.

Exhaust can be done by removing the cat and mufflers and putting in whatever you like (no headers, just stock).

Engine should be rebuilt with all possible mods including cams and big injectors.

Transmission should be replaced with the 4T65-E or better.

Steering rack should be replaced by a rack and pinion set.

0-60 in under 5!!

After these are done, and before, the car should be personally inspected every week to prevent future failures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2009

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 57 reviews