1992 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 6 of 13

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap car becomes expensive over time

Faults:

First, the alternator broke down and drained my battery (fixed for $200).

Then, fuel pump ($250), starter ($180), both of front wheel bearings ($140 each + labor), exhaust ($70), spark plugs and wires ($130), had to clean injectors ($60),... Pretty much it. Bought the car for $1000, spent over $1500 in repairs - and guess what, the engine ate 3-4 liters of oil in 2-3 weeks and started rumbling.

General Comments:

The worst car ever, very bad fuel economy, poor performance, and so on. Neither heater nor A/C worked well, the only good thing was the suspension. Funniest thing is the car drove perfect when I bought it, and spoiled in a matter of few months.

Will never ever buy an American car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

17th Mar 2010, 01:08

You never replaced the thermostat. Which is probably why the engine decided to eat the oil and die. Your heater didn't work well for the same reason. The thermostat probably got stuck shut, making it overheat and boil all the antifreeze out of it.

28th Jun 2010, 15:19

I bought a 90 Lumina Euro with 32,000 miles on it. Drove it for 5 years. I put about 120,000 on it.

In that time, I didn't have to do much. Brakes, battery and tires don't count. That's maintenance! I replaced a fuel injector myself for 60 bucks.

These vehicles do have alternator issues, which I did rebuild mine for 55 dollars. That's about it.

I bought a 92 Lumina with 54,000 on it. Put 55,000 on it. Replaced thermostat and power steering line. That's it. Decent car for a low budget!

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance208271 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Sounds good with a one chamber Flowmaster

Faults:

Starting from major to least important.

It's on its third transmission. First one went at 106,000. Second at 154,000.

Wiring in the instrument panel has gone awry, i.e. you signal left and right one blinks and vice versa. And if you don't take the panel fuse out, whenever you open and shut the door, the panel lights glow and run the battery down.

Bad fuse box, kept blowing fuses for some reason.

Probably about on it's 10th alternator.

Drivers door is on its 7th power window motor, passenger side is on its 5th one.

Paint has faded even though washed and waxed meticulously all its life.

Broken drivers door handle.

Broken parking brake cable snapped under the drivers side door.

Dash has bowed up at the defrost vent and separated on the underside of the dash.

And the usual busted hoses and gaskets that come with age.

General Comments:

Our Lumina, although all of the faults, the motor has never given any trouble even after 208,000. Not one bolt has been turned to open up the engine at all *knock on wood*.

It's been used like any normal car and still has power and agility that all Euros and Z34's have. This car is really unique, its never had the front end aligned, its only on its 3rd set of tires, the original Goodyear's lasted 105,000, the Nitto's lasted 85,000...and now its on its 3rd set. It needs shocks/struts, still on the originals. Also, these cars with 3.1 sound throaty anyway from GM, but if you install a one chamber Flowmaster, you will be surprised as to how good its sounds, and its not Jap Crap sounding either. I get rev's from Mustangs and Camaros all the time, quite funny actually because they don't know its 3.1 V6 with 208,000..LOL. I would recommend a Lumina to anyone, they last a long time and are reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

1992 Chevrolet Lumina APV from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 kilometres
Most recent distance223250 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A great and reliable vehicle who at 11 years of age, shows no sign of slowing down

Faults:

The starter went last October.

Water pump replaced 3 years ago and fuse lines the day after.

Brake lines were replaced several years ago, but we suspect someone cut them.

The back of a rear passenger seat was cracked.

The pull out cup holder/ash tray has broken off.

Cigarette lighter has been pulled out thanks to the teenage drivers of the owners.

General Comments:

This is a great, reliable vehicle (more reliable than the owner who keeps leaving the interior lights on thus draining the battery).

It is perfect for transporting the four-legged family members as the rear seats can be removed and their anchors can be used to tie down travel crates which is next to impossible in another family members '03 Pontiac Montana.

And while it is not a sports car, this baby has great pick up and power.

However, bench seats would have been better for long distance travel with children who often like to lie down and sleep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

28th Apr 2004, 10:00

Hi there

I have owned a Chev Lumina APV since 1992. I bought it new from the showroom. I bought it because I needed the room.

The vehicle is no doubt the best I've ever owned. I have almost 300.000 Km on it and the engine and transmission have never had a problem. Some cosmetic things have been a problem, but overall this van has never broken down.

It still looks good to. I would recommend this van highly.

Thanks.

Brian.

26th Oct 2005, 10:39

My father bought this car new in 1992. Since then, no major problems. Since the car is made of some sort of plastic, there is no rust. The competitors at the time were the Ford Aerostar and the Plymouth/Dodge Voyager/Caravan. Here in Montreal, we never see Aerostar anymore, and the old Caravans are rare and rusty. We keep seeing Luminas around.

The engine my father chose was not powerful at all, and it has been a problem with a lot of equipment in the back. The car won't go faster than 75 MPH.

Honestly, this car was probably the best car available at that time, and with good care it could be running for another 10 years: no doubt about it!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 57 reviews