1992 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 9 of 13

1992 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12900 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

A dependable car for anyone

Faults:

Nothing was wrong with the car until I spun out with it. As a result, I needed to replace 2 rims, 2 tires.

Used to beat anyone at the light, but now seems to not accelerate as fast. It may just need a tune up.

Speedometer stopped working, but started working a month later without any repairs.

Rear suspension makes noise.

Paint has come off trunk lid.

General Comments:

The car is pretty good. Accelerates fast, but has a limit of 85 mph.

Any problems from the car have been caused by fast and stupid driving.

I've added many after-market items to the exterior and the interior, great look.

Great sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

28th Jul 2003, 09:41

Only 85ph? I beg to differ. I have been able to get that speedometer underneath the dash. I agree, this is a great first car to own. Hopefully it will last a while.

30th Oct 2006, 19:44

I agree mine is a 1992 with a 3 speed auto and my speedometer only goes up to 85mph, but I got mine up to 110mph when the rev limiter cut in. I used my GPS to get the speed reading it did not take very long at all to get the car up to that speed. The 3.1L V6 engine has good acceleration even with 16 inch tires.

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired224000 miles
Most recent distance266500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Extremely reliable car

Faults:

ABS sensor replaced.

Front brakes replaced.

Dog-bone engine mounts blown.

Inner tie rod ends replaced.

Front struts replaced.

Blower motor replaced.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned, and it has been driven hard since I bought it. I originally used it for delivery, putting 100 miles a day on it in city traffic. Since we moved, I use the car to drive to and from work, about 160 miles a day.

On the highway I get 27-29 MPG at 75 to 80 MPH.

Mechanically reliable, but the way they designed access to some of the parts leaves much to be desired. Non standard, non replaceable bulbs to illuminate the climate controls - I asked the dealership, and they told me they usually sent out the whole unit to have the bulbs replaced.

Access to the blower motor is hard - under the dash, and the back bolt has little clearance, turning an easy job into a two hour task.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Z-34 3.4 dual twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 dual twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Faults:

The engine has finally died.

General Comments:

This car is a great car to own if you have deep pockets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Sedan 3.1 electronic fuel injection from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 electronic fuel injection Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A sporty sedan, with enough power to take most cars around where I live.

Faults:

The fuel pump went out at 109,000 miles.

Service engine soon light comes on.

General Comments:

This car is pretty fast, and can burn out really well.

The car looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

3rd Mar 2003, 07:54

Man, I can't believe the only thing important to most people I've read reviews on is whether or not their car/truck can outrun the next person at the light. How pathetic.

You'll think that it's of importance, til you blow an engine. No, I haven't blown an engine - but some guy did a few days ago trying to outrun my 97 Isuzu Rodeo V6 off the light. I wasn't even hard on the throttle, as I'm generally the last person to even think about screwing up my engine.

I too have a 107K on her now, but I take damn good care of her as I'd like her to last - I don't care about the next car/dodge durango beating me off the line. That just goes to show that persons immaturity, and their lack of respect for their car.

23rd Jan 2006, 17:06

To the dude above: How do you bust on a racer, by telling a story about racing?

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Great, reliable, quick car, for a nice price

Faults:

I just bought this car for $3500 and it needs a synchronizer for the transmission, a $1500 paint job, passenger side door won't open for some reason, and the engine surges if you ask for a lot of gas. We assume fuel pump/filter (hopefully!).

General Comments:

Great car! Handles like a dream! 5 speed transmission makes it as fast or faster then the '92 Mustangs and Camaros. It's a bad car if you know what I'm saying. Seats are VERY comfortable, the front seats are deep buckets that hold your body in a natural position. It had an option for a tilt and that made it even more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 57 reviews