1992 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 11 of 13

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 Fuel Injected 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Fuel Injected 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

A great car for every day use

Faults:

The oxygen sensor went out on it and new brakes were recently put on it.

General Comments:

This is a great car. I was very reluctant to buy a used car, but tis was a great choice. Excellent gas mileage (27 miles per gallon). It is reliable and has very low outside noise. It is reasonably fast for such a big car and has decent acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

1992 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Faults:

Brakes need replaced often, however, they are very easy to do, and they are rather in expensive.

Front door handles (both) are currently inoperative.

Driver's window mechanism broke.

Replaced 2 alternators (60,000mi-106,000mi)

Replaced 2 starters (67,000mi - 105,000mi)

Replaced Ignition control unit (I blew the old one up)

New water pump at 70,000mi.

General Comments:

Basically normal wear and tear. I drove my Lumina hard. Very hard. My parents bought me the vehicle, first thing to go was the catalytic converter, so I removed it, and replaced it with a piece of pipe, then added a turbo muffler. It sounds NICE.

The factory stereo is even good.

This car is built like a tank. I recently bought a Pontiac Grand Am GT. I hate to say it, but my lumina (which I have no intentions of giving up,) will easily smoke it.

This is an EXCELLENT car if you have the time and the mechanical ability to do simple maintenance. Parts are in expensive, and the car will NOT let you down if you keep it happy.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a reliable, and comfortable means of transportation. Add a little parts to it, and you have a car that will toast most Mustangs, and any Honda on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired204000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A very reliable car that will run forever if you take care of it

Faults:

Door handle broke 208000 - someone tried to break into the car.

210000 - occasional check engine light, code 32.

General Comments:

The car drives quite pleasantly both on country roads and on the highway.

Plenty of power for passing.

Interior is comfortable and well laid out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2002

1992 Chevrolet Lumina APV from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Wise Buy

Faults:

I had to repair its transmission, since it was 9 years old.

General Comments:

It is comfortable, reliable, and cost effective. It is a great buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

8th Jul 2004, 08:34

Not enough information

Totally uninformative.

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance200301 miles

Summary:

Overall, great car!

Faults:

Light switch.

Muffler.

Spark plugs.

Spark plug wires.

Running light bulb.

Rear struts replaced at 198,000.

Has surface rust (Live in Michigan where there's a lot of snow)

Exhaust rattles.

EGR valve shot.

The "dog bones" (engine mounts)

General Comments:

Good running and dependable.

The 3.1 is fast when it wants to be.

It burns the tires great on moist pavement, and pretty good on dry.

The car runs like new and it has over 200,000 miles on it.

Nothing major has gone wrong, just the regular maintenance. (Things that would normally go wrong, considering the mileage.)

The car is tough, and it takes a beating.

No cup holders!

Dash is warping from the sunlight.

Has it's ups and downs. There's always something you'll find that you dislike in a car.

I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 FI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired343000 kilometres
Most recent distance567000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A dependable, high-performance miracle!

Faults:

New brakes (front and rear)

Frost plugs replaced

Transmission overhaul

New exhaust system (had the "sport" muffler installed, but later removed because it was too noisy)

Electrical system overhauled

Interior dash lights and other convenience lights all burned out (didn't bother replacing)

Intermittent window "freezing"

Car runs hot in heavy traffic

Undercarriage is immaculate.

General Comments:

If you keep this car in good condition by replacing parts immediately as required, it'll provide many years of dependable service.

The car body is in pretty good shape, with minimal rust. I've only replaced the car hood with one from the wreckers, and I'm pleased that with a little detailing, it's kept its looks.

It still has (even with close to 600,000km on her!) a lot of zip right off the mark. It loses it at the high end, after acceleration. Still, not bad for a 10-year-old car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2002

20th Sep 2004, 22:14

Car sounds like mine.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 57 reviews