1992 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 13 of 13

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Z-34 3.4L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Sporty and Practical

Faults:

The timing belt broke at 100,000 miles. The head gasket blew at about the same time. A rather expensive repair.

An O-Ring in the engine went at 110,000 miles. That was extremely expensive to fix.

General Comments:

This car gives you all the power and handling you could want from a performance sedan. The acceleration and top speed are very impressive considering the weight, and the car just looks great.

However, It get terrible gas mileage for a V-6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

10th May 2003, 13:25

If the shop that you took your car to knew the engine, or anything about the GM 60 degree V6 family of engines, they would have replaced the distributor O ring when they had the heads off doing the head gasket. I would have made them eat the bill for it since they failed to do it while they were in there.

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

An overall good dependable car

Faults:

Brakes! This car eats brakes for breakfast! Within the past year, I've had to put on over 5 sets of brake pads.

The seats have also become very uncomfortable. For some reason, the plushness they used to have is gone and now I end up sitting on the metal support bars. Not good for long trips!

General Comments:

This car has been one heck of a good car. I beat the crap out of it and it just keeps chugging on. I guess I couldn't ask for anything better. It is abused, but usually never requires any repairs. Overall, it's just a good basic every day transportation. The 'good' definitely outweighs the 'bad'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

9th Feb 2002, 12:57

I agree, wonderful car that keep on running. Eats brakes like a mother...

30th Mar 2003, 19:00

Brakes? What brakes? I have to replace them about once every 2 months. Now tell me, anyone else have a problem with never getting the transmission to stay in gear? on my second transmission now. But yes, takes a licking and keeps on ticking.

2nd May 2003, 16:42

This car is a rocket. The 3.1L will never die. The transmission is tough as a nascar. I drive it as if it were a manual tran. I give her a pounding and it'll just keep running.

1992 Chevrolet Lumina APV 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance196348 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A great automobile, destined to be a classic

Faults:

Nothing major has ever gone wrong with the car. All I've ever had to do is give it standard maintenance. A real treat!

The battery is in a bad spot, really hard to get to either to remove or to put jumper cables on, but we haven't had much trouble with this.

General Comments:

This is the sweetest ride I've ever found, smooth, quick, and stable. It handles like a nimble sports car if it's not loaded down, achieving what some have called impossible: the fun-to-drive mini van. Friends have been astonished at the smoothness of the ride and the good acceleration; they can't believe it when I show them the speedometer! Ours has been all over the US and Europe, and hasn't let us down once. I was sad to see the Opel-designed Venture take its place. They're unusual, a little rare now, and a remarkable vehicle all around...I'm keeping mine, because I can't bring myself to part with a classic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119453 miles
Most recent distance234038 miles
Previous carDodge Lancer 1983

Summary:

It's baddd

Faults:

Brakes have been fixed twice.

General Comments:

The Lumina 3.1 Euro is the best car ever. I plan on pimping it out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10 ZR2

Summary:

Fast and fun to drive

Faults:

I had to put a new exhaust gasket on where manifold meets the converter pipe, but that is it.

General Comments:

For as big as the Lumina is, with the 3.4 in it the car is actually pretty fast, the Z34 package gets you the DOHC 3.4, special FE3 suspension and 225/R16 tires. I love driving the car, I only wish I would have gotten the 5 speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2000

12th Apr 2001, 19:10

I would hate to see how these cars would run with a stick, they fly even with an automatic. So far I have beaten a 90 Berreta with a 3.1 V6, a 01 Cavalier Z-24 4 speed, 84 Cutlass, don't know what it had but I crushed it. And finally a 90 Buick LeSabre with a 3.8. My friend says my car can probaly beat a Camaro ranging from 1982-89 with a 6 or a 305. I don't know about beating a 305 but I know the Camaro within that year range had crappy motors, even the 305's were junk. I know that for a fact. Plus his sister in law had a 82 Camaro with a 6 and it ran horrible.

I am not even going to try to race anyway. What I always say to everybody about my Z-34, is it ain't slow and it is not super fast, it is just right.

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL

Summary:

Great get-from-point-A-to-point-B type of car, not much else

Faults:

I need to replace the u-joints and tie rod in the front end.

Dead battery, but that's to be expected sometime.

General Comments:

The car is in good shape. With low miles, I hope to have it for a long time. I haven't had any trouble with the brakes yet, but they need to be checked on soon, so I don't have any major trouble with them.

Although my soul still lies with my Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme (warped pistons), I love this Lumina.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

1992 Chevrolet Lumina MPV 3.1 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Vehicle was imported by cowboys (American Van Centre, Midlands). Once it had been properly attended to by experts it was fine. Minor electrical problems were the only problem after that. Maintenance was surprisingly simple.

General Comments:

Far roomier than European MPVs and with much better performance. MPG between 20 and 25 is perfectly acceptable. Equipment levels excellent and seat comfort first rate. Americans still know how to transport people long distances in comfort far better than European manufacturers. Trim a bit tacky and (in places) fragile, but underlying vehicle very strong. LHD didn't matter as you were high up and could see over cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 1999

1992 Chevrolet Lumina Apv 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 3.4
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10

Faults:

Altenator, fuel pump, normal brake and tire service.

General Comments:

This vehicle has 251,000 miles on it. Incredible durability and reliability. No comparison with my last vehicle (Volvo), which cost me an arm and a leg to keep on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 57 reviews